• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Work till you die in the world's most expensive city

SadPlumpGal

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/government-looking-into/1024330.html

The government is looking into further raising the re-employment age from 65 years old to 67, said Senior Minister of State for Manpower Amy Khor during the debate on the Manpower Ministry's budget.

PHOTOSVIDEOS
File photo of office workers at a lunch break at a financial district in Singapore. (AFP/ROSLAN RAHMAN)
ENLARGECAPTION
SINGAPORE: The government is looking into further raising the re-employment age from 65 years old to 67, said Senior Minister of State for Manpower Amy Khor during the debate on the Manpower Ministry's budget.

The proposals, including the appropriate time-frame for raising the re-employment age, will be announced when ready.

Since the re-employment legislation was introduced in 2012, a government survey has shown that 99 per cent of private sector local employees who turned 62 in June 2013 were offered re-employment, including 67 per cent of retiring employees who were offered re-employment on existing contracts, with no change to their employment terms.

Among those re-employed in the same job in the private sector, 96 per cent did not experience a basic wage cut.

And to enhance lifelong learning, the government is reviewing its Continuing Education and Training Masterplan, which is expected to give greater emphasis to self-initiated upgrading.

Dr Khor said: "As a government, we want to empower all Singaporeans to create value for themselves throughout their lives. This culture of constant and continuous improvement will help us be more responsive, relevant, and resilient. It will enable us to weather future storms and seize the opportunities that come our way, to earn a better wage, in a better job, for a better life."

In addition, the government will review the issue of legislated parent or eldercare leave as part of broader efforts to address the challenges of an ageing society, said Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Manpower Hawazi Daipi on Friday.

The Work-Life Grant, set up in April 2013 to encourage the adoption of flexible work arrangements by firms, is also being reviewed to see how it can be improved.

The review is expected to be completed and enhancements implemented by mid-2014.

Since introduction, 84 companies and more than 8,000 employees in these organisations have benefited from the Work-Life Grant.

A "Tripartite Advisory on Flexible Work Arrangements" is slated for release in the second half of 2014 to guide employers and employees on how to implement and utilise flexible work arrangements.

Mr Hawazi said: "We encourage employers to offer their employees the necessary benefits and flexibilities, which will enable them to fulfil their family's commitments. And we believe that in the process, employees will be more engaged, may even be more loyal, and will stay long in the organisation."

- CNA/de

it will most likely be raised again as the sinkie benchmark reaches 90 with the founding father of sg paving the way. :p

CPF is in trouble ...raise the retirement age.

If it is government dishing out money like it in the West, it is perhaps acceptable. But this is our money and the government doesn't want us to access it.

Life is definitely 'good' in sinkapore. Pressure to excel in academics from a young age to mid twenties. Then slave as a new employee. Reach early forties, job insecurity sets in as boss replaces locals with foreigners. If you can hang on to your job, you can look forward to retire at 67. After retirement, you find that you are penniless as the bulk of your retirement savings have been consumed by the 'subsidized' flat. What a great life!

this guy is so insolent... pls instruct that prata foreign law minister to tell him off. we will kick out his entire naval fleet if he dont apologize.

air pollution like a third world country but with the most expensive price tag. this is singapore.

Its the people tat r to blame for this. They keep living longer n longer n voting pap. If they had a life expectancy of the past we can all get our cpf back at 55.

songsongjurong

More slogging away your life due to ever increasing high living cost..whereas goVt. Official can cream off another two years of plentiful bounties !

To be honest,,if cannot afford to retire in singkieland, than retire somewhere else lah,,,heaps of ang mors in thailand and philippines. Can also retire to indon,,,stay batam or maybe abit futher away,,batam ex now lah,,,y keep complaining spore is high? if spore ex use the power of the dollar and go somewhere else,,most of the ang mors in thailand etc get gals 1/2 their age,,got good root, good makan etc,,but have to be careful with the spending,,but even few hundred K cash can last damn long if spending is careful,,thanks to pappie asset enhancement,,,surely after liquidation of pigeonhole got 200k right?

SgGoneWrong

To be honest,,if cannot afford to retire in singkieland, than retire somewhere else lah,,,heaps of ang mors in thailand and philippines. Can also retire to indon,,,stay batam or maybe abit futher away,,batam ex now lah,,,y keep complaining spore is high? if spore ex use the power of the dollar and go somewhere else,,most of the ang mors in thailand etc get gals 1/2 their age,,got good root, good makan etc,,but have to be careful with the spending,,but even few hundred K cash can last damn long if spending is careful,,thanks to pappie asset enhancement,,,surely after liquidation of pigeonhole got 200k right?

PAP should allow dual citizenship.

To be honest,,if cannot afford to retire in singkieland, than retire somewhere else lah,,,

Many people have very little "real" savings. They believed that the CPF was all about saving for their old age. Now they are told that they can't touch it.

The next GE will be interesting because many baby boomers which belong to the 60% are affected. We will see if they will still remain the 60%:biggrin:

Many people have very little "real" savings. They believed that the CPF was all about saving for their old age. Now they are told that they can't touch it.

The next GE will be interesting because many baby boomers which belong to the 60% are affected. We will see if they will still remain the 60%:biggrin:

It is simply not true that CPF cannot be touched.

All the government has done is change from a lump sum payout which many could squander to an installment payout scheme is is far more suitable for the majority of Singaporeans.

There are also many schemes which enable you to stretch your dollar even further.

There is a lot of useful information at https://www.silverpages.sg

I recommend the site for all those who are interested in retirement planning.

Even if they take out a portion of the CPF,,can live well overseas,,,I heard now Batam has potential for retirement...I think Tanjung Pinang also can,,

than everymonth makan a bit,,,not bad also wat,,or u know what? rent out yr hdb and stay batam,,sure can get 2K per month right? In batam can live like minor nobility...complain what???

Even if they take out a portion of the CPF,,can live well overseas,,,I heard now Batam has potential for retirement...I think Tanjung Pinang also can,,

than everymonth makan a bit,,,not bad also wat,,or u know what? rent out yr hdb and stay batam,,sure can get 2K per month right? In batam can live like minor nobility...complain what???

Heard about Batam but I suspect majority still prefer JB.

SgGoneWrong

Agree. They will die-die hang on to our money as if it is theirs. Nothing wrong with dual citizenship except CPF issue.

It's clear cut. Unless u give up citizenship, no cpf can be withdrawn. If u give up citizenship and wants it back later, pay back cpf money plus interest. Nothing to do with dual citizenship. Take a leaf from Taiwan, its citizens are free to acquire as many citizenships as possible. Such only benefits it's citizens instead of depriving them from more opportunities.

palden

Just raise it to 100 la. KNN. CPF money gone liao right?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/government-looking-into/1024330.html

The government is looking into further raising the re-employment age from 65 years old to 67, said Senior Minister of State for Manpower Amy Khor during the debate on the Manpower Ministry's budget.

PHOTOSVIDEOS
File photo of office workers at a lunch break at a financial district in Singapore. (AFP/ROSLAN RAHMAN)
ENLARGECAPTION
SINGAPORE: The government is looking into further raising the re-employment age from 65 years old to 67, said Senior Minister of State for Manpower Amy Khor during the debate on the Manpower Ministry's budget.

The proposals, including the appropriate time-frame for raising the re-employment age, will be announced when ready.

Since the re-employment legislation was introduced in 2012, a government survey has shown that 99 per cent of private sector local employees who turned 62 in June 2013 were offered re-employment, including 67 per cent of retiring employees who were offered re-employment on existing contracts, with no change to their employment terms.

Among those re-employed in the same job in the private sector, 96 per cent did not experience a basic wage cut.

And to enhance lifelong learning, the government is reviewing its Continuing Education and Training Masterplan, which is expected to give greater emphasis to self-initiated upgrading.

Dr Khor said: "As a government, we want to empower all Singaporeans to create value for themselves throughout their lives. This culture of constant and continuous improvement will help us be more responsive, relevant, and resilient. It will enable us to weather future storms and seize the opportunities that come our way, to earn a better wage, in a better job, for a better life."

In addition, the government will review the issue of legislated parent or eldercare leave as part of broader efforts to address the challenges of an ageing society, said Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Manpower Hawazi Daipi on Friday.

The Work-Life Grant, set up in April 2013 to encourage the adoption of flexible work arrangements by firms, is also being reviewed to see how it can be improved.

The review is expected to be completed and enhancements implemented by mid-2014.

Since introduction, 84 companies and more than 8,000 employees in these organisations have benefited from the Work-Life Grant.

A "Tripartite Advisory on Flexible Work Arrangements" is slated for release in the second half of 2014 to guide employers and employees on how to implement and utilise flexible work arrangements.

Mr Hawazi said: "We encourage employers to offer their employees the necessary benefits and flexibilities, which will enable them to fulfil their family's commitments. And we believe that in the process, employees will be more engaged, may even be more loyal, and will stay long in the organisation."

- CNA/de