• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will Singapore Hawkers lower food prices?

For HDB Hawker Centres, the rents are cheaper. I believe some rents out at less than $500 a month. For these stalls that serve small portion or charge high prices, they are the culprits and are profitering since their rents are cheaper compared to those in kopi tiam or private food courts.

** the $6000 and $500 are just estimates

The time of cheap rent are gone. Only those first generation hawkers enjoy cheap rent from HDB. In fact most of these stall owners sublet their stalls out at $2-3k. This is easy money, profit of $2k without lifting a finger.

Being a hawker is not easy, no cpf, no bonus, long hours and no holidays. margin after COGS is high, but after high overhead (rent & utilities etc) take out a huge portion. What remain are just enough to live comfortablely.

The time of cheap rent are gone. Only those first generation hawkers enjoy cheap rent from HDB. In fact most of these stall owners sublet their stalls out at $2-3k. This is easy money, profit of $2k without lifting a finger.

Being a hawker is not easy, no cpf, no bonus, long hours and no holidays. margin after COGS is high, but after high overhead (rent & utilities etc) take out a huge portion. What remain are just enough to live comfortablely.

does the gov still offer out the stalls to the owner? i heard in the past quite a number of them actually ran into problems paying off the load which they took to buy over the stalls from the gov...

Dont think so, when the scheme just start, there was a big hooha for it. ppl start bidding stupid price for them. It when they want to resell them that they encounter problems. No big property company interested, only left those small fry who cannot afford. when no demand, all die fast fast.

Tis should be done so long time ago, nowadays so x but the food so little eat also cannot full.

Well to put it simply,

What the cheng hu can do, so can you.

We have a great moralistic government who are ripping us off on a daily basis. They are the shinning examples of the highest ethical behaviour and have always been role great role models for us.

Try asking the Cheng Hu to screw up less and charge less for a change.

Dan

Easy money is highly addictive. We need anti-trust laws to deal with unscrupulous monopoly landlords.