• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will property prices plunge soon?

Please note that even if those who bought property before SARs etc will still benefit in todays market. One just does not buy property today and when prices plunge they sell. If u have 1 property and you are living in it. U stay in the house. U sell when u retire etc. SARs etc was also when the flood gates were open. so rental property already had potential during that time. the rule of thumb is property goes up over a 5 year cycle. All these SARs and 911 where just bumps in the property cycle.

FOr the Singapore market. Prices will go down when the foreigners stop coming in. And that population growth is stagnant. Maybe that is why Pappies keep asking locals to breed as everyone needs a place to stay.

For the USA and Europe scenario since 2008. The reason why the effects are still there is cause the gahmens are controlled by the Jewish bankers and the real changes were never made. The banks were not reformed and the gahmens just printed money to mitigate the effects. Look at Europe today, instead of coming up with growth policies they are doing the old play book shit of cutting spending (in the wrong sectors) and taxing the middle class. Which in turn reduces spending and hence the economy shrinks. Why do u think the Krauts etc are insisting on cutting spending etc? Cos they want the PIIGs countries to pay them back the money and not to help those countries grow and be economically and financially viable. Now this contagion has spread to Frogland and Cyprus.

USA is crawling out of the recession,,however if the Fed did not keep printing money and came up with real banking reforms,,,the USA would be out of recession a long time ago,,,,,

bullsh!t. thats what they said in 1996, then property plunges in 1997 onwards.
same for 2001. then came 911 and SARS and prices plunged by 50%-60%. I know of alot of people who went bankrupt and became taxidrivers playing the property market. all these false hype is done by the property agents who have no morals. they would even sell thehir mother if the price is right .
this time another SARs like virus hit, it would plunge >50% as inflation would make a recession worse. any economist know that. furthermore too many FT to kick sinkies butts and cannot be choosy about pay anymore. the prefeect storm is coming. higher interest, low growth, excess stocks and a virus or some terror attack. the sigsn are there. in europe, the euro crises have been there since 2008 and they cannot solve it even after 5 years!!!! effect is coming soon

Definitely NOT. The PAP will be gone if property prices plunge or even merely correct. That's why another 1 million foreigners will be in the country by 2015.

Yes. And the main reasons for the 6.9 million grand plan.
Short of a major world war or global crisis, dun expect prices to drop.
Even then vile pappies got many tricks to mitigate.....remove the so called cooling measures/restrictions.......put in incentives........zero downpayment.....control supply........another way is to openly let foreigners buy landed (this should be the trump card)......sinkieland is so small they control everything.....not hard to manipulate.

i only state facts and the only fact is sinkies are low life ball-less shit. This is a pure fact. i dun go around the fact by getting attention. just straight forward fact.

Well well look who is talking. Only know how to KPKB behind a PC in Singapore against his 48% majority government!

5-room resale HDB breaking the 900K mark already... HUAT AH!
many 5-rooms in locations like tiong bahru, bishan, marine parade 1970's 5 rooms already transacted above $900K........1 million is a matter of time. 3 rooms in tiong bahru already going for $600K......
DO YOU FEEL RICH?

One point I want to add,,,600K or 1 million at singapore interest rate of 3 % is better than Oz land 350K house at 5.5%. In oz earn more,,but after paying tax and 5.5% interest rate,,,dont really see oneself being better off. Guess the whole world has gone to shits,,,

many 5-rooms in locations like tiong bahru, bishan, marine parade 1970's 5 rooms already transacted above $900K........1 million is a matter of time. 3 rooms in tiong bahru already going for $600K......
DO YOU FEEL RICH?

One point I want to add,,,600K or 1 million at singapore interest rate of 3 % is better than Oz land 350K house at 5.5%. In oz earn more,,but after paying tax and 5.5% interest rate,,,dont really see oneself being better off. Guess the whole world has gone to shits,,,

350K Oz land house how big?
Marine Parade's almost 40 year old (99 year lease) 5 room flat transacted at over $900K.....the size is 120sqm

300sqm land. House maybe 200sqm. N got to compare living std w living std. In spore.hdb flats r standard. In certain spots in aust. Houses n std. But houses near cbd is like tiong bahru flats. Cost the same. 350k houses in perth r far from cbd n have to put up w congestion n bad public tpt. Cost of living will increase if u stay far away from town.

Oz land house how big?
Marine Parade's almost 40 year old (99 year lease) 5 room flat transacted at over $900K.....the size is 120sqm

I_Hate_Pappies

With so many measures in place, i doubt the property prices in SG will plunge. The market will still be moving if the gabernment remove a couple of the measures when the times are bad.

theone

same for 2001. then came 911 and SARS and prices plunged by 50%-60%. I know of alot of people who went bankrupt and became taxidrivers playing the property market. all these false hype is done by the property agents who have no morals. they would even sell thehir mother if the price is right .
this time another SARs like virus hit, it would plunge >50% as inflation would make a recession worse. any economist know that. furthermore too many FT to kick sinkies butts and cannot be choosy about pay anymore. the prefeect storm is coming. higher interest, low growth, excess stocks and a virus or some terror attack. the sigsn are there. in europe, the euro crises have been there since 2008 and they cannot solve it even after 5 years!!!! effect is coming soon

You're spot on.

I'm always amazed at how some people seem to believe property prices here are somehow invincible, and that pappies wouldn't allow a collapse because too many people are tied-in!

Well, of course pappies wouldn't want to see prices plunge, but since when has any government anywhere managed to prevent property bubbles from bursting?

In 2011 n 2012 i keep hearing prices will dropped. N been hearing that for God knows how long. But prices have been increasing. With the additional FTs coming in n low interest rates. I dont see how prices will drop unless fts dont come in. Interest rate goes up. Fdi does not come in. Singapore is a small place n everyone needs a roof over their heads. Land is finite. Dont think pap will allow it to happen.

You're spot on.

I'm always amazed at how some people seem to believe property prices here are somehow invincible, and that pappies wouldn't allow a collapse because too many people are tied-in!

Well, of course pappies wouldn't want to see prices plunge, but since when has any government anywhere managed to prevent property bubbles from bursting?

You don't go to Australia to be rich. Sinkapore is the place to be!

yes governments cannot prevent property bubbles from bursting but pappies got advantage as sinkieland being so small and they control everything makes for easier manipulation........prices going up and up and current high prices also due to their manipulation.......from property GLCs, to the local banks, your CPF, land supply....they control it all.....change the law at their whim......any slight drop can be well mitigated.....no major drop plunge.

100% with you. Will remember your well argued points.

Frankly those who are considering emigrating should start planning now. Liquidate your local property, keep cash, invest in a reasonable property overseas as a starter and when the market dips, buy a bigger property.

By now you should know that many people have financed their journey selling their HDB flats when the prices hit high.

The issue is not how expensive your flat is but how can you leverage it to fund your kids overseas, your move and to achieve a balanced life style - house, garden, roses, nice suburb, away from grassroots arseholes. Etc.

zeebjii

.....no major drop plunge.

is 50% considered plunge? That happened in 1997/98.

But of course it will go up again. the question is wait how long. And do you have the holding power, like 10-15 years or even longer? If you are an flipper or speculator or over-levearged investor/owner, don't be the suay one when the music stops playing.

numero uno

Please note that even if those who bought property before SARs etc will still benefit in todays market. One just does not buy property today and when prices plunge they sell. If u have 1 property and you are living in it. U stay in the house. U sell when u retire etc. SARs etc was also when the flood gates were open. so rental property already had potential during that time. the rule of thumb is property goes up over a 5 year cycle. All these SARs and 911 where just bumps in the property cycle.

FOr the Singapore market. Prices will go down when the foreigners stop coming in. And that population growth is stagnant. Maybe that is why Pappies keep asking locals to breed as everyone needs a place to stay.

For the USA and Europe scenario since 2008. The reason why the effects are still there is cause the gahmens are controlled by the Jewish bankers and the real changes were never made. The banks were not reformed and the gahmens just printed money to mitigate the effects. Look at Europe today, instead of coming up with growth policies they are doing the old play book shit of cutting spending (in the wrong sectors) and taxing the middle class. Which in turn reduces spending and hence the economy shrinks. Why do u think the Krauts etc are insisting on cutting spending etc? Cos they want the PIIGs countries to pay them back the money and not to help those countries grow and be economically and financially viable. Now this contagion has spread to Frogland and Cyprus.

USA is crawling out of the recession,,however if the Fed did not keep printing money and came up with real banking reforms,,,the USA would be out of recession a long time ago,,,,,
Bull sh!t logic. if it so predictable, everybody no need to work. just put your money in the property market and flip.
talk is cheap. why don't you put your money at where your mouth is?
that what alot of people did in 1997, 2001-2003 and got burnt. alot of my friends who flip the n got burnt and some went bankrrupt, not to mention suicide. now with the cooling measures alot of people are quetly cursing the garmen and counting their loss. all the talk about price per sq foot index going up applies only to the studio apt which are a dime a dozen . go to each developers and the inside story is that they have a hugh stockpile unsold. when an advert says 70% sold usually means <50% taken.
and yet you all arm chair economists sure know how to tak c@ck. even US fed and Europena banks have difficulty preventing their property bubble from bursting. house in spain , ireland and USA are one third their value today compared to 2008. yes 70 to 80% drop. go to china and you see alot of ghost apartment buldings. even China is slowing down fast and President Xi says the era of fast growth is over.
http://www.chinaeconomicreview.com/xi-era-fast-growth-china-over
even singapore is going to slow down fast
http://www.cnbc.com/id/100760154

interests rates are going to rise,w ith Japan prinitng more money and USA stopping all the stimulus and going to incraese the rates which has been manipulated by the bankers to be artificially low(read BBC) and now the garmen are going after these bankers crook and let the interest rates go up.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-18671255
Spain and portugal just increased inetrest rates. even cyprus banks impose penalty on savings and increase interest rates. rates in singapore are artificially suppresed low but once funds flow out and goes into Japan and back to USA, you can expect housing interest rates to go up rapidly and alot of people are going to jump.
already CAR loans interests are quietly increased by all banks in last few eeks and alot of people are unhappy cow beh cow bu. it was in the news and for such a tiny loan, sure it creates alotof unhappiness. for housing loans which is 10-20 times large , just imagine what a 0.1 % increase would do to their 30 yaer loans nightmare and you gonna seee alot of foreclosure.
the thing is when the crash comes it is going to come very fast like 1996 financial crises or 2003 in SARS when then property market crashed in 3 months. all this talk about importing more people are just crap. the politicians knwo they cannot imprt anyore and HDB prices must come down or they lsoe the next election when the young epoeple would get angry. that's why the Cow is panicking and coming with all sort of cooling mesures, and now talking about abolishing EC. you knwo the game is up when ministars tell people to become hawkers ie the crash is coming( even uni degree would end up as taxidrvers or labourers or hawkers).