• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will Mediacorpse die or go bankrupt if they continue to provide Teletext service?

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2013/09/our-elderly-need-the-teletext-service

[h=2]Our Elderly need the Teletext Service[/h]September 11
15:44 2013

Print This Article Share it With Friends
by Jeraldine Phneah  4 Comments

By: Jeraldine Phneah

I am writing this open letter to urge Mediacorp to reconsider its decision to cease its Teletext service this month.
This service is currently being used by many senior citizens who rely on it to check the daily news, TV programmes schedules and lottery results.
Teletext to them is similar to how our youths depend on social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter.
Although there is an increase in the availability of alternative online sites for information, many elderly do not access to these online outlets.
While some are fortunate enough to learn how to utilize these digital platforms easily, there is a significant proportion who struggle with picking up these new skills
A 2010 survey by the Institute of Policy Studies revealed that one-fifth of the elderly in Singapore does not have enough for daily living. As such, I believe many of them may not be able to afford Internet services or laptops and ipads.
I grew up with my grandparents in an elderly neighbourhood – Bukit Ho Swee. My grandfather and his friends used Teletext to monitor their stocks and shares prices daily.
I have observed that this is a very important source of intellectual and mental stimulation which keeps their brain active, and which also helps them stay involved in society.
In our fast-paced world, our senior citizens are increasingly being isolated from the rest of society. The ban on dialects on local television and radio is one example of how they are being alienated.
I hope that they will not be isolated further through the removal of this critical Teletext service.
I hope that the government will keep this service as a small token of appreciation of those who have helped carry the burden of nation building in our earlier years.
They are what the Prime Minister recently described as the “pioneer generation” when he revealed plans to help elder Singaporeans pay their Medishielf Life premiums. http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/pioneer-generation-get-help-insurance-premiums-pm-lee
Perhaps we could also show our appreciation by retaining this Teletext service for them to enjoy in their silver years.

<tbody>
</tbody>

Might as well resurrect Singapore Telephone Board and ask them to restore the telex service and reintroduce these phones for the sake of the dinosaur generation. :rolleyes:

562658_331410293595589_35571077_n.jpg

As with all pap govt entities....
It's always make money first....profits first and foremost....provide service to sinkies is secondary...

As with all pap govt entities....
It's always make money first....profits first and foremost....provide service to sinkies is secondary...

They provide outstanding service but people have to learn to move with the times.

If you left things to the old farts to decide, sinkies would still be getting around in bullock carts. :rolleyes:

That letter is one of the stupidest I've ever come across. I thought the luddites were dead and gone. It seems they are alive and well in sinkieland.

mediacock wuld whine almost every other day that it is making loss like smrt if they r forced to continue w teletext.

Dreamer1

The killer is CNA which burns lots of money,brain-child of casino G.Yeo,it is a great pity as it has improved under the new mgt,that is why PM Lee and PAP would be gone by 2016,as no more chance would be given by an increasing no of voters,last count 61% and increasing,PM Lee & his stupid cronies are sleeping,a pity too.

heliotrope

Might as well resurrect Singapore Telephone Board and ask them to restore the telex service and reintroduce these phones for the sake of the dinosaur generation. :rolleyes:

View attachment 12241

Haha, how about Laser Disc player, cassette tape, walkman, discman, pager, CRT monitor, dial-up modem, floppy disc...?

My, blast from the past sia.. really miss all these vintage technology. But now.. better to move on with the times lah. :biggrin:

smartieschoco

Waaa still got ppl use teletext ah? eh no the correct qn shud be waaa still got teletext ah? I tot long gone liao! Nowadays everybody online already where got refer to teletext huan...

Maybe should bring back pagers n messaging pagers too. I really hated the pagers. Glad it got consigned to the trashbin of technological history.
Haha, how about Laser Disc player, cassette tape, walkman, discman, pager, CRT monitor, dial-up modem, floppy disc...?

My, blast from the past sia.. really miss all these vintage technology. But now.. better to move on with the times lah. :biggrin:

bryanlim1972

if these old folks could use the web or an android phone, they wouldn't need teletext in the first place.

When one is old it must be daunting to adapt to change especially in Spore.

I still see people going to the post office to pay their bills when there are more convenient ways to do so e.g. using the AXN machines. However to use the AXN machines you need a bank account, an ATM card, & feel comfortable interacting with a machine.

Years from now I wounder how the young of today will cope with change when they are older:confused: I bet there will still be long queues at the post office:wink:

bryanlim1972

Years from now I wounder how the young of today will cope with change when they are older:confused: I bet there will still be long queues at the post office:wink:

they will cope much better than the old today. the old today were born pre-internet. the young today will have to learn to cope with internet2. or 3.

Logisex

Old folks who stay at home will read newspapers and some already using ipads. Those who punt in stocks will sit in the broking firms the whole day staring at the TVs there. For those who loiter in Geylang, their PRC MMs will teach them how to use the smart phone. So is he talking only about his grandparents?

Guerriero

From what I know, the old folks still use the teletext to monitor the shares that they bought with their CPF money lol ... :smile: