• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why we need a minimum wage policy in SG

pfingo

minimum wage will not balance out the ft. i think if sinkie get paid $10k also not happy lah let's not kid ourselves :rolleyes: pinoy and ah tiongs easily take $1500

Funny thing is the savings of all these jobs you have mentioned are not pass on to you. I wonder why?

Why are we not getting cheap housing with these cheap labour?

cheap labour benefit the rich
so the rich sinkies get richer
and poor sinkies get poorer

kiwibird7

Singaporeans pay their maids slave wages and have the gall to talk about minimum wage. Are you willing to pay your maids $1,600 per month?

Or is minimum wage exclusively for selfish and inconsiderate Singaporeans???

If Singaporeans who employ foreign maids who live (FOC for lodging, food, electricity, water etc) in their employer's homes were to consider the costs of their maid's salary, medical outpatient/pregnancy tests costs, insurance, maid levy etc The total costs of a maid would be quite close to $1600 per month.

hillary888

Business model: Low operational cost, "Exploitation of the less fortunate". China and India businessman does it to be rich. As long as there are people(FT) willing to work with such low salary why increase our business cost.

chupacabra

Business model: Low operational cost, "Exploitation of the less fortunate". China and India businessman does it to be rich. As long as there are people(FT) willing to work with such low salary why increase our business cost.

Why are Scandinavian countries so successful? They do not ALLOW cheap workers in.

High wages, high taxes yet not much bad news coming out of Scandinavia.

Your business model only looks at wages as business cost??

Do you know that all business needs people? You cannot avoid manpower cost.

yellow_people

If Singaporeans who employ foreign maids who live (FOC for lodging, food, electricity, water etc) in their employer's homes were to consider the costs of their maid's salary, medical outpatient/pregnancy tests costs, insurance, maid levy etc The total costs of a maid would be quite close to $1600 per month.

If you apply your warped logic to the Singaporean worker, then the employer has to pay for rental, office furniture CPF contribution, utilities and water and toilet facilities health insurance, etc.; then the Singaporean is grossly overpaid.

Would a Singaporean worker be willing to work from 5:30 am to 10 pm 7 days a week and given 1 day off a month?

kiwibird7

If you apply your warped logic to the Singaporean worker, then the employer has to pay for rental, office furniture CPF contribution, utilities and water and toilet facilities health insurance, etc.; then the Singaporean is grossly overpaid.

Would a Singaporean worker be willing to work from 5:30 am to 10 pm 7 days a week and given 1 day off a month?

Careful about what you call warp logic. Provision of food, lodging and medical cover to a foreign worker are known as intangible benefits that actually carry a $value. Expat workers have accommodation supplements, travel susbsidies medical cover as part of their pay negotiations.

Any accountant will tell you that an employment contract specification of pay includes the intangible benefits of (Food, lodging, transport allowances, medical/dental benefits, medical leave etc)

If your office provides FOC meals or meal coupons to get food at your staff canteen without cash payments, that is considered as one of the intangible benefits of your pay too.

Therefore the total employment package for a foreign maid in terms of $ spent should include in addition to her monthly salary her medical/dental cover, food, lodging, levy, maid agency fees, ticket home and even clothes bought and given by her employer. Add all of the above up for the period of employment is what it will cost you to have a maid working for you for say 3 years.