• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why RSAF buy expensive Gulfstream private jet for early warning radar?

04-13-2012 09:24 PM #1
DreamyTheDinosaur
  • profile.png
    View Profile
  • forum.png
    View Forum Posts
  • message.png
    Private Message
user-offline.png

<DL class=userinfo_extra><DT>Join Date <DD>Apr 2012 </DD><DT>Location <DD>Up in the Clouds and Everybody's Mind </DD><DT>Posts <DD>47 </DD></DL>

[h=2]Why RSAF buy expensive Gulfstream private jet for early warning radar?[/h]
ONE BILLION DOLLARS

SINGAPORE: Singapore's newly acquired Gulfstream 550 Airborne Early Warning (G550-AEW) aircraft became fully operational on Friday.

The first of the four new aircraft arrived as early as 2009, and the last was delivered just six months ago.

The aircraft uses one of the world's most advanced radar and communications systems to detect aerial threats. It has a detection range of more than 200 nautical miles.

Defence Minister Dr Ng Eng Hen, who officiated the ceremony, commended the work of the squadron - also known as the "jaegers" - on reaching operational status.

"It is a positive statement to the adaptability and professionalism of our people to master sophisticated systems systematically within a short span of time," said Dr Ng.

"Threats are multifaceted - it can be a live aircraft, it can be a hijacked aircraft. Our ability to see this earlier means that we have more time for response, we have more time for decisions," said LTC Leong Chun Siu, Commanding Officer, 111 Squadron.

- CNA/cc​

This is to justify the sky high salaries of the ministerS and their underlings. They are 'managing' billions of dollars to 'assets', hence the need for 'compatiible' pay packages, which even if they are in the millions, are only 'a fraction' of the asset value. By the way, the middleman company which brokered the deal would also be laughing to the bank as the 60% dafties cheer their FAP masters on.

The jets would surely make the escape by the FAP a comfortable one when they decide to run road.

DreamyTheDinosaur
user-offline.png
<DL class=userinfo_extra><DT>Join Date <DD>Apr 2012 </DD><DT>Location <DD>Up in the Clouds and Everybody's Mind </DD><DT>Posts <DD>47 </DD></DL>
G550 Overview

The Gulfstream G550® large-cabin, ultra-long range business jet turned heads right from the start. Less than two weeks after it entered service, a G550 flew nonstop from Seoul, South Korea, to Orlando, Fla., covering the 7,301 nautical mile (13,521 km) distance in 14.5 hours and setting a city pair record. In fact, it would go on to establish 40 city-pair records in its first five years of service.

This is a brawny aircraft with an international reach. Powered by enhanced Rolls-Royce BR710 turbofan engines, the G550 has a range of 6,750 nm (12,501 km) at Mach 0.80 and a high-speed cruise capability of Mach 0.87. With its long legs, the G550 easily links Washington, D.C., with Dubai, London with Singapore and Tokyo with Paris.

As you might expect, the G550 is equipped with the Gulfstream PlaneView® cockpit, the most advanced flight deck in business aviation. Based on the Honeywell Primus Epic® architecture and display system, the PlaneView cockpit presents critical flight information on 14-inch (36 cm) liquid crystal displays arranged for easy interpretation.

The PlaneView cockpit is brimming with Gulfstream's latest avionics achievements: the first fully synchronous triple Flight Management System (FMS), the Gulfstream Signature Cursor Control Device (CCD), which improves the way that pilots interact with the PlaneView avionics; then there's the latest in Head-Up Display technology integrated with the next-generation Gulfstream Enhanced Vision System (EVS) II™, which captures pictures of the environment and presents the pilot with a clear picture of runway markings, taxiways and surrounding terrain at night or in the worst weather conditions. Gulfstream was the first business jet manufacturer to certify an optional synthetic vision system on the G550. The optional Synthetic Vision - Primary Flight Display (SV-PFD) adds to the enhanced situational awareness even in zero visibility conditions.

The cabin aboard the G550 combines productivity with exceptional comfort. It features up to four distinct living areas, three temperature zones, and a choice of 12 floor plan configurations with seating for up to 18 passengers. Maintaining contact with the home office is easy thanks to a host of standard communication features: A fax machine, a printer, a wireless local area network and satellite communications. As an option, consider Gulfstream's Broad Band Multi Link (BBML), which combines fast Internet connection speeds with low operating costs.

The value of this world-class airplane is readily apparent in its 6,750 nm (12,501 km) range, its best-in-class cockpit, its advanced technology, its superb warranty, and Gulfstream's top-rated customer support network that stands ready to render assistance on six continents.

And, finally, the team that developed the G550 was honored for its work with the Robert J. Collier Trophy, the most prestigious award in aviation today. We're as proud of the honor as we are of the G550.
Contact Us​

i only thought of one reason ...is to "wash " their dirty money ;)

The Israelis started this first, we merely follow

eitam.jpg

04-13-2012 09:24 PM #1
DreamyTheDinosaur
user-offline.png

[h=2]Why RSAF buy expensive Gulfstream private jet for early warning radar?[/h]
ONE BILLION DOLLARS

SINGAPORE: Singapore's newly acquired Gulfstream 550 Airborne Early Warning (G550-AEW) aircraft became fully operational on Friday.

The first of the four new aircraft arrived as early as 2009, and the last was delivered just six months ago.

The aircraft uses one of the world's most advanced radar and communications systems to detect aerial threats. It has a detection range of more than 200 nautical miles.

Defence Minister Dr Ng Eng Hen, who officiated the ceremony, commended the work of the squadron - also known as the "jaegers" - on reaching operational status.

"It is a positive statement to the adaptability and professionalism of our people to master sophisticated systems systematically within a short span of time," said Dr Ng.

"Threats are multifaceted - it can be a live aircraft, it can be a hijacked aircraft. Our ability to see this earlier means that we have more time for response, we have more time for decisions," said LTC Leong Chun Siu, Commanding Officer, 111 Squadron.

- CNA/cc​

One can see the type of spin that the PAP puts on these types of purchases. Sinkies are so gullible if they believe this drivel from LTC Leong. What this fucker is saying is that the PAP will spend USD$375 million on each of these 4 planes on the off chance that it can track a hijacked plane, and give more response time to the decision makers. Did anyone ask this idiot that since 2011, how many planes in the world have been hijacked, what with the increase in airport security, pilots with bulletproof cockpit doors, etc? And off all the planes that were hijacked, how many were flown in the vicinity of Singapore?

The fact is that Singapore DOES NOT need this plane at USD$375 million each. If they have the E-2 Hawkeye, its more than enough and more than anyone in the region has. Imagine a country like Israel, who has been in so many wars and surrounded by a sea of real not imagined enemies only has 5 of these planes, and Singapore with no track record of war or armed conflict has 4!! These 2 countries are the only operators of this plane.

Lets face it. The Jews spend alot of money developing the system for their G550. The economies of scale says that the more machines u build, the lower your per unit cost because your overall development cost is spread over more units. Gay Loong did them al favour by ordering 4 of these that he did not need, so that the Jews can lower their per average costs. just like he paid the Jews to develop the Tavor so that it can used in S'pore as the SAR-21. Hence, enabling the Jews to develop their next generation infantry weapon at the Singapore taxpayer expense.

This is the best platform for the purpose.
You don't need a huge jet, you can't use a small aircarft, this is teh best solution and value for money for the AWACS we are getting.

200 nautical mile = how much time for enemy inbound to reach bombing range?

Not really, wrong calculation. Firstly, I do not believe that the range is only 200 NM. I believe that it has over the horizon capabilities. I would think that they have deliberately understated the range. My basis for this is that the Boeing AWACS with an older technology doppler radar system already has a range of 400 miles. This G550 with the AESA array should be even longer range. Also, don't forget that the plane has a patrol area. So, lets say its, patrol area is 450 miles outbound of Singapore, coupled with the radar's range or lets say 300 miles, u have a total range of 750 miles with which to detect incoming.

This is the best platform for the purpose.
You don't need a huge jet, you can't use a small aircarft, this is teh best solution and value for money for the AWACS we are getting.

Why do we need AWACS, dumbshit?

Not really, wrong calculation. Firstly, I do not believe that the range is only 200 NM. I believe that it has over the horizon capabilities. I would think that they have deliberately understated the range. My basis for this is that the Boeing AWACS with an older technology doppler radar system already has a range of 400 miles. This G550 with the AESA array should be even longer range. Also, don't forget that the plane has a patrol area. So, lets say its, patrol area is 450 miles outbound of Singapore, coupled with the radar's range or lets say 300 miles, u have a total range of 750 miles with which to detect incoming.

Totally agree. 200nm is intentionally tell everyone "I LIED".

When LTC Leong mentioned the 200nm, u know its bullshit. This plane is so top secret in Israel, that even RSAF personnel trained by the Nachshon squadron at their Nevatim Airbase in Israel, will never tell you they were in Israel, much less at the base. The Israelis closely guard the operationally capabilities for this plane, and for this LTC to shoot his mouth off and disclose the range is 200nm is very unlikely.

He mentioned the 200nm range so as to smoke the neighbours and also not to panic them. If they knew the real range, they will be much more nervous.

When LTC Leong mentioned the 200nm, u know its bullshit. This plane is so top secret in Israel, that even RSAF personnel trained by the Nachshon squadron at their Nevatim Airbase in Israel, will never tell you they were in Israel, much less at the base. The Israelis closely guard the operationally capabilities for this plane, and for this LTC to shoot his mouth off and disclose the range is 200nm is very unlikely.

He mentioned the 200nm range so as to smoke the neighbours and also not to panic them. If they knew the real range, they will be much more nervous.

Its not a secret anyway that our buffer zone is 200NM to our neighbours. I always get the impression that if we can do first strike on our neighbours, our neighbours can do the same against us. I can even take this a bit further, bring their entire artillery and ADA 10km in JB and we're 50% fucked. Our abangs can just bring their birds up to deny us air superiority (Air supremacy is for those who dream...hard)

I assure you that the SAF with the help of US satellites and their own satellites have every inch of Malaysia covered. ANy heavy buildup or activity in any penisula airbase will be noted even if the Gulfstream is sitting on the tarmac. As well, our UAVs will detect any armour, artillery, AA brought up to within range of SIngapore.

Then we have another possibility - Their uses in the South China Sea. You should have figured out by now these planes are proxies for who and against who.

Yes, I figured it out the day they bougth it. What is not mentioned is that the planes have a maritime surveillance capability in addition to AEW. I can tell u exactly how it went:

US Navy: Boss, u know the Chinese are scaring us with their aircraft carriers, ballistice missile submarines, and what not in the Pacific. Can we please order 4 top of the line maritime surveillance and AEW planes? Cheap cheap, only $375 million each.
Obama: Wah, steady lah. U think I print money izzit? I got trillion $ budget deficit on my hands, and Congress will never approve money for these planes.
US NAvy: Boss, serious lah. We need it. Than how?
Obama: I have an idea. Gay Loong in Singapore is my little bitch, he does everything i ask him to do. Let me call him.
Obama: gay loong, its me, bug daddy 'bama.
gay Loong: Yes, my nubian prince, what can I do for you?
Obama: I have asked the Jews to build some planes for me, you go and buy them for me as a present, can or not?
Gay Loong: How much are they?
Obama: $375 million each. Is that too much?
Gay Loong: No problem lah, sup sup. My wife oready lose more than that in one month at Temasek. When u come and visit me, I bring u out for a drive in the new planes, ok?