• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Potong Pasir & Hougang should reject Upgrades

If those fellow want to reject everything, then those fellow who advocate such a notion should not stay in any HDB flat, should not take any form of public transport, should not walk into any public building. Heck, that fellow should not even be in Singapore.

U don't get it at all. If u have an older car, a car that has been reliable, and u have learn to live with it, and someone offers to upgrade your car with new parts for a subsidized amount of money, why would u do it? Why would u spend the money when there is nothing wrong with your original car?

People like u don't understand that upgrades are one big con to get money out of the HDB flat dweller. Now if they want to give it to u for free, that is another matter.

the residents of Potong Pasir and Hougang,should welcome it.
they also paid taxes.
they can still continue to vote for the opposition in the next election.

Is it free? Do they own the flats? No. People like u don't understand that upgrades are one big con to get money out of the HDB flat dweller. Now if they want to give it to u for free, that is another matter. There are 4-5000 flats in PP. If they levy $5000 each for the upgrade, u are looking at $25 million out of the residents pockets for some upgrade on a building that does not belong to them. Wake up.

I think that asking people to co-pay for lift-upgrading is unfair. It was an architectural embarrassment not the people's fault to start with. Where else in the world can you can lifts that require you to climb half-a-storey flight of stairs?

In other countries, I've seen odd-storey openings and even-storey openings in case of multiple lifts, but never seen 1-6-11 lift openings in a 12-storey building.

Upgrading lifts is not really upgrading, it's really belated correction and compensation. HDB owns the lifts and the buildings and is driven by government policies. If the government and HDB have any decency and remorse about the ridiculous lifts built in the 70s and 80s, they should do the right thing and pay for it's correction.

borom

not really upgrading, it's really belated correction and compensation. HDB owns the lifts and the buildings..........government..should do the right thing and pay for it's correction.

Right on.
Why should the tenant (HDB resident) pay the landlord (HDB) to renovate the landlord's house?
Many HDB residents are still blissfully unaware that they are not the owners of their HDB flats.
Besides the lift upgrading results in poor ventilation and lighting and removes the view of many residents.
:eek:

cleareyes

U don't get it at all. If u have an older car, a car that has been reliable, and u have learn to live with it, and someone offers to upgrade your car with new parts for a subsidized amount of money, why would u do it? Why would u spend the money when there is nothing wrong with your original car?

People like u don't understand that upgrades are one big con to get money out of the HDB flat dweller. Now if they want to give it to u for free, that is another matter.

Wrong comparison between car and housing, as in this case, public housing. A car is your choice, upgrade or not no one can forced upon you and if you dun want to upgrade, it would not create any discomfort to others because...that is your and your little world.

But publ;ic housing is a totally different thing. Its true that everyone stay in their own individual flat, but the common corridor and stairwell and lifts are used by everyone. Just because you are comfortable walking the stairs doesnt mean you should deny others the right to have lifts if the situation allows it.

Now after years of rejecting lift and estate upgrade for both potong Pasir as well as hougang in order to blackmail the voters to vote for PAP, which we all know it was a failure, PAP finally relented and realised its a case of either they do it or else, the PAP goverment could be seen by the rest of the world as outright bias. so why noty take it? Anyway the people of both wards deserved the upgrades as they do pay taxes just like anyone else and because of that, what rule do you have to deny it? Just because of your dislike of PAP meaning you suffer others must suffer with you?

Then i suggest, please just leave Singapore, in fact, go to any country that has no diplomatic or economic relations with Singapore either in the direct or indirect sense and you will be forever be away from anything even remotely remind you of the existence of PAP.

Better still....just go kill yourself.....and make sure your coffin is not from NTUC.

Cool it cool it, Cleareyes...don't get overwrought. It's just a little forum discussion.

mscitw

Divide and Conquer tactic.

First tactic is to prise some money from stingy peasants via co-payment for tenancy lots.

Not all peasants will get the upgrading, there will be disgruntled peasants giving hell to the oppo MPs.

A typical regime 'divide and conquer trick'

rainnix

Election will be held amidst the upgrading works to confuse the residents to vote for PAP. Using sneaky underhand methods.

coolguy

Frankly speaking, sg is just a fake democratic(communist) cuntry. The flat that you live in does not belong to you, but the country. You alone don't even have the rights to say no to upgrading. The money you earn, a part of it goes to the CPF, also not your money, When you dead, your body also not yours, as they can take whatever is useful in your body. You don't have to vote, as your ward always walkover due to no opposition. Even if you have a chance to vote, vote or no vote also the same, cos' it's always the same winner. Your vote is just to telll the whole world that there is an election here, just like the yearly NDP, to remind sgreans that it is national day.