• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why No Apple Store In SINGAPORE?

I have just received an email from Apple Store, the contents was, they announced the opening of their Hong Kong Store , with beautiful photos of the store.

Why no APPLE STORE in SINgapore?, Why?

cos they license out to a few local companies...dunno if the licensing agreement allow them to set up indepedent stores...

Buy from Apple store the thing can run faster is it? No? then what's the point of having one?

I doubt it's going to be any cheaper. I once work for a HDD distributor so I'm speaking from experience. They also have their own shop in Sim Lim but their price is more exp or the same as the other shops coz they supply the other shops with their products. If they sell cheaper it undercuts the profit of their sales partners.

What big companies like Apple do is they basically have "official" pricing for their goods so no matter who U buy from, be it direct from supplier or from a reseller, the price will be the same. If the official store gives a discount or have whatever promotion, they will give the same promotion to it's resellers. If the resellers have their own sale which cuts into their own profit margin then that's their own biz. So chances that the reseller actually have cheaper pricing then the supplier is actually higher then the other way round.

I doubt things have changed too much since then

I doubt it's going to be any cheaper. I once work for a HDD distributor so I'm speaking from experience. They also have their own shop in Sim Lim but their price is more exp or the same as the other shops coz they supply the other shops with their products. If they sell cheaper it undercuts the profit of their sales partners.

What big companies like Apple do is they basically have "official" pricing for their goods so no matter who U buy from, be it direct from supplier or from a reseller, the price will be the same. If the official store gives a discount or have whatever promotion, the will give the same promotion to it's resellers. If the resellers have their own sale which cuts their own profit margin then that's their own biz. So chances that the reseller actually have cheaper pricing then the supplier is actually higher then the other way round.

I doubt things have changed too much since then

not direct discounts in terms of dollars n cents...indirect ones...

I belive HK have many APPPLE PRODUCTS resellers etc...The question is, "WHY NO APPLE STORE" , SINgapore not prestigious enough? for HK is the gateway to China ( PRC), New York City is the Big Apple, the gateway to the States.

Was that why SINgapore was overlooked in opening an APPLE STORE?, not prestigious enough?

It's the same lah. If Apple for example is offering freebees for IPad, the resellers will get the same freebees. When they are not doing similar promotion, you are more likely to get a discount/freebee from the reseller then from official store. Unless of coz Apple wants to piss off it's resellers, it's not a good idea to piss them off coz a lot of them help bring in sales. If they open a store, it adds to their operating overheads so unless U really have a high volume of pple(which already that tells U it doesn't apply to SG), then setting up a store does not make any economic sense to them.

The only thing I can think of that an Apple store will benefit is that it probably offers a one stop service centre as well for consumers to go fix their faulty product. Otherwise there is no real benefit for Apple or any manufacturer for that matter to open a store here.

Singapore is not that a big mkt per say....HK has 9m vs Singapore 5m...

In terms of SEA, yes, Singapore maybe the first mkt to penetrate but in Asia, no...

Thats also why H&M, Abercombie and all the big brands will go HK first before coming south to Singapore...

Indon has the potential as well ...but of course, at the moment, they lack the spending power.

Singapore is not that a big mkt per say....HK has 9m vs Singapore 5m...

In terms of SEA, yes, Singapore maybe the first mkt to penetrate but in Asia, no...

Thats also why H&M, Abercombie and all the big brands will go HK first before coming south to Singapore...

Indon has the potential as well ...but of course, at the moment, they lack the spending power.

HK have the added benefit of the Chinaman market. Tons of Chinaman visit Hong Kong every day. Before 97 handover they still look down on them, U can really see a change in their mentality. Right now to them Chinaman = $$$$.

SEA region totally chui, we can only depend on the leftover Chinaman market and compete with Dubai for the Ah Neh market. And like you said Indon market is there but too small. We really need to see Indon start realizing it's own potential before we see a big change in the region

There is a online sg apple store, I like to buy apple products online. Abt 10% cheaper than the retail shop and free delivery to ur home.

HK have the added benefit of the Chinaman market. Tons of Chinaman visit Hong Kong every day. Before 97 handover they still look down on them, U can really see a change in their mentality. Right now to them Chinaman = $$$$.

SEA region totally chui, we can only depend on the leftover Chinaman market and compete with Dubai for the Ah Neh market. And like you said Indon market is there but too small. We really need to see Indon start realizing it's own potential before we see a big change in the region

Indon = double edged sword...

on one hand, i like indon to grow...on the other, it will impact Singapore...

I have just received an email from Apple Store, the contents was, they announced the opening of their Hong Kong Store , with beautiful photos of the store.

Because steve jobs see singapore no UP. he show singapore the middle finger, despite the fact that everywhere you go, you see iphone.

dun have meh? i gt 5 for $2 depending on the promotion.:D:D
red_apples.jpg

There is a online sg apple store, I like to buy apple products online. Abt 10% cheaper than the retail shop and free delivery to ur home.

APPLE store is not online sg apple store. Please do not mix things up.

I belive HK have many APPPLE PRODUCTS resellers etc...The question is, "WHY NO APPLE STORE" , SINgapore not prestigious enough? for HK is the gateway to China ( PRC), New York City is the Big Apple, the gateway to the States.

Was that why SINgapore was overlooked in opening an APPLE STORE?, not prestigious enough?

Recently an apple store was opened in Hongkong. So steve jons thumbs up for Hong kong and thumbs down for singapore.

Singapore is a country of no consequence on the world stage. I've just come back from London which is home to the largest Apple Store in the world (Covent Garden).

Very Impressive.images.jpegUnknown-1.jpegUnknown.jpeg

Price of Apple products are fixed at cost price, any distributors selling below at cost price will not be authorised to sell Apple products again.

I saw a price list or distributors and retalier price before, for an iMac, the distributors only earn $200 profit, meaning if cost price is $1.6k, retailer price is $1.8k.

very simple. apple is selective and can't be operating retail stores everywhere or every freaking city. singaporlumpar just does not cut it as among the top twenty cities in the world. deal with it.