• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why must I pay $60 to change my ID card?

Damn Nric card issued to me in 1993. It's now going to be 2019. Some 26 years have passed and it's broken and scotch taped.

Checked ICA website and I have to pay $60 to get it replaced ...WTF!

Money making PAP, as usual...

Don't need to change lah ...as long as you have your IC (even broken) and you can be identified, no law broken. If SPF wants you to change, ask then to pay for it lor.

Frankly speaking, I don't understand the rationale for charging so much for replacing a piece of plastic; not as if it's made of titanium or gold!
the cost of plastic is 0.0000069 cents. it’s the cost of labor, snail mail, and admin time plus other overheads such as electricity, space, desk, chair, computer, paper (including toilet rolls), etc., that is $69. that’s the amount required per card holder to keep a minah or abang employed for at least 6.9 years. need to increase population to increase the number of years these children of the (night) soil are gainfully employed.

Will they give Dr. Ah Meng a discount if they use your name? Instead of paying $60, he pays $6.90.

I was overseas one day and I found that my IC has a crack so I called ICA and the conversation was something like this:

Me: Hello ICA, I wish to check about replacing my IC because have crack.

ICA: May I have your IC number please.

Me: S1xxxxxxX

ICA: Since you are overseas you can go online to apply and when you come back can collect.

Me (feeling happy because it is so convenient, Singapore really 1st world): Oh that's great its so convenient.

ICA: You have to pay $XX for the replacement

Me: What? I good citizen call to enquire to replace a crack IC and I have to pay? IC very old already you know?
ICA: Yes you have to keep it properly so now crack you have to replace.

Me: Ok ok I think I will replace it when broken next time, now still can use.

ICA: No its illegal to carry a damaged IC you have to replace it now.

Me: Never mind la I replace it next time when its more cracked.

ICA: No you cannot. You have to do it immediately.

Me: Its ok next time la.

ICA: No now. You already made a report that you car carrying a damaged IC

Me: No. Since when did I make any report?

ICA: You just did, you called and you gave me your IC number already and I already reported your IC is damaged.

IMG_2014.jpeg

$60 divided by 26 years = $0.0063 cents per day. Cheap!

The point is that we didn't ask to have an IC. The PAP forced it on us and then give us such inferior product that can't last for 99 years. Since IC is broken, the PAP should replace it for free or accept our damaged IC as is.

I was overseas one day and I found that my IC has a crack so I called ICA and the conversation was something like this:

Me: Hello ICA, I wish to check about replacing my IC because have crack.

ICA: May I have your IC number please.

Me: S1xxxxxxX

ICA: Since you are overseas you can go online to apply and when you come back can collect.

Me (feeling happy because it is so convenient, Singapore really 1st world): Oh that's great its so convenient.

ICA: You have to pay $XX for the replacement

Me: What? I good citizen call to enquire to replace a crack IC and I have to pay? IC very old already you know?
ICA: Yes you have to keep it properly so now crack you have to replace.

Me: Ok ok I think I will replace it when broken next time, now still can use.

ICA: No its illegal to carry a damaged IC you have to replace it now.

Me: Never mind la I replace it next time when its more cracked.

ICA: No you cannot. You have to do it immediately.

Me: Its ok next time la.

ICA: No now. You already made a report that you car carrying a damaged IC

Me: No. Since when did I make any report?

ICA: You just did, you called and you gave me your IC number already and I already reported your IC is damaged.

when you call, conversation may be recorded. thus cannot escape already. cost of $69 may include recording system, data storage, and i.t. admin (ceca nehs) to maintain it.

The increase in votes for PAP also coincided with the biggest increase in cost of living, so scholar maths very simple,
increase in prices=increase in votes for PAP
Therefore more increase in prices=more votes for PAP
The 70% sending this message to the scholars, so what do you expect?

Born and bred here! you still dare to ask why must pay, huh. I once asked hdb why they hve licence to charge for late payment? I tot only Banks allowered to charge, their answer simple, write in to complain.

Frankly speaking, I don't understand the rationale for charging so much for replacing a piece of plastic; not as if it's made of titanium or gold!
I don't understand either. It's just pure greed. If it is not free, at least charge a nominal fee $10-20. I think the US charges US$15.

btw, fyi, I do not carry my polycarbonate pink Nric. I kept them at home.
I carried a photocopy Nric. So far, No issues even when spot check by Mata.

_