• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Why is govt so lenient on groups of cyclists?

Cycing in groups, having a gathering when we are supposed to be home.
Cycling together too closely. That is the issue lah.

It's not just weak vs strong in the end it boils down to money.

Before I left Singapore I was in friend's Mazda 323 one day and he was held up by a cyclist along a rather narrow street. "Fuck these cyclists!" he exclaimed.

When I pointed out that cyclists are allowed to ride on the road (he didn't know I was an ardent cyclist) the next retort came.."Fuckers never pay road tax they should not be on the road!".

Since I was in his car hitching a ride I didn't want to start an argument so I held my tongue.

A short while later along the same narrow street (cars parked illegally on both sides) we met a Merc coming in the opposite direction.

"You should give way to him" I said. "Why should I?" was the expected response.

"Because he pays more road tax than you" I said.

He did not offer me a lift ever again.
so much for holding your tongue! :laugh::laugh::laugh:

:thumbsup:

Personally I dotn trust. I guess it is the sinkie upbringing in me. If i see the reverse lights i stop and I tell the car to go. Sometimes someone else is walking next to me and the dont stop. They look at me like WTF just go. So I quickly make a dash past.

It is counterintuitive this "trust".

Attitudes are not the same everywhere.

It is in this part, that I disagree. Ever heard of entitlement? I'm walking here and it's my right and you should stop is just that. dumb entitlement. What happens if the driver has an off day? or gets distracted for a split second? Lawsuits, emergency rooms and shite. Hence dumb entitlement. :thumbsdown: If the car's backing out, you should stop and watch out until and unless the driver waves you by. Anything else is a self-entitled assumption deserving of a Darwin award.

Ever notice how well you did when you migrated to Canada? It's because you had your head screwed on right.

It's not just weak vs strong in the end it boils down to money.

Before I left Singapore I was in friend's Mazda 323 one day and he was held up by a cyclist along a rather narrow street. "Fuck these cyclists!" he exclaimed.

When I pointed out that cyclists are allowed to ride on the road (he didn't know I was an ardent cyclist) the next retort came.."Fuckers never pay road tax they should not be on the road!".

Since I was in his car hitching a ride I didn't want to start an argument so I held my tongue.

A short while later along the same narrow street (cars parked illegally on both sides) we met a Merc coming in the opposite direction.

"You should give way to him" I said. "Why should I?" was the expected response.

"Because he pays more road tax than you" I said.

Lol!

This can be a good joke cum social message!

If I was driving you I would have retorted there is a difference between paying MORE road tax and NOT PAYING any road tax at all!

I have always said that in space scarce Singapore all road users should pay road tax. Including cyclists. Otherwise they are free loaders. What is the rationale for paying road tax? So why would certain users of the road be exempt?

I dont see pedestrians insisting they should be able to walk on the road and have a land made for them? Or that cars should watch out for them since they are on the road. Police will come and take the pedestrian away.

So why are cyclists treated so special? No road tax. And we should all give way to them all the time?

I am not saying that drivers should not give way. They should! Basic safety and courtesy.

But the other narrative where cyclists demand and expect as a right.....it is a privilege. Especially when you dont pay anything at all.

in a country with a well-balanced, well-mannered and well-educated population you get that stuff in bold. rare and hard to find though. most swing too far one way or the other.

Last edited by a moderator:
[/QUOTE]

so from that day onwards, you have to cycle to everywhere....lol :biggrin:

In the best of times, the bunching of cyclists along the roads was already a safety hazard for themselves and
others. Now, during these Covid-19 times, the press has reported that groups of them are still roaming together
in groups of ten or more.

It is time that the govt gets serious - and it is not very difficult to nab them. The extensive range of CCTV cameras
on the roads should make it relatively easy to find/fine them.

Many ang moh cyclists, and many of them are 'full kit wankers' wearing the full Tour De France attire. :biggrin:

You don't really need to buy a expensive exclusively designed and hand crafted bike to start cycling.
Just a descent one with not too many speed and light in weight will do.
In sinkie, cyclist and motorcyclist are considered as pest by motorist and some purposely try to just skim them as they pass.

Many ang moh cyclists, and many of them are 'full kit wankers' wearing the full Tour De France attire. :biggrin:

When one cannot perform in bed, one needs to show the world that one can indeed perform.
Really good cyclists do not go round parading.

In the best of times, the bunching of cyclists along the roads was already a safety hazard for themselves and
others. Now, during these Covid-19 times, the press has reported that groups of them are still roaming together
in groups of ten or more.

It is time that the govt gets serious - and it is not very difficult to nab them. The extensive range of CCTV cameras
on the roads should make it relatively easy to find/fine them.
Yes, I have been seeing them too. Although I did observe they spaced themselves further. But still, we should only be mixing with people of the same household during this time. Some people are really plain stubborn.

Lenient on them cos they are pillars of our economy.
If u notice, all those cyclists are well off and their bicycle took at least 5k and above, even more
PAPies won't dare to touch them

Yes, I have been seeing them too. Although I did observe they spaced themselves further. But still, we should only be mixing with people of the same household during this time. Some people are really plain stubborn.

There is a very fine line between stubborn and being a stupid, selfish pig.

You don't really need to buy a expensive exclusively designed and hand crafted bike to start cycling.
Just a descent one with not too many speed and light in weight will do.
In sinkie, cyclist and motorcyclist are considered as pest by motorist and some purposely try to just skim them as they pass.

Likely that these are just bunch of overly paid for their competence and need to demonstrate that "I may be riding a bicyle,
but hey, mine is expensive, you know" which is reflective of their insecurity too. There will be quite a few of these for sale
at 70% discount on Carousell in a couple of months.

There were still a group of idiots cycling along Fort Road this morning.
Most probably they feel that they can afford to be caught twice, with
the $600 they have just received.

There were still a group of idiots cycling along Fort Road this morning.
Most probably they feel that they can afford to be caught twice, with
the $600 they have just received.
Those assholes give us cyclists a bad reputation. I am thinking of giving up the sport because of them. NB!