• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why family of David Widjaja still cont. to fight the case?

saratogas

I read the news about David and his confirmed suicide case, why this family still insist on fighting? To prove their son is being victimized, his death is an accident? For Insurance $$$? Just let him Rest in piece lah. :confused:

CNA - Day four of the coroner’s inquiry into the death of Indonesian student David Hartono Widjaja saw 10 witnesses taking the stand on Monday.

One of them was Widjaja’s so—called ’online wife’, 18—year—old Singapore Polytechnic student, Chua Jia Yu. (PRC girl?)

They had met in cyberspace last November.

Ms Chua told the court about Widjaja’s penchant for online games, often playing them till 3am.

Another person who testified was senior forensic scientist, Dr Christopher Sin from the Health Sciences Authority.

In his report, Dr Sin concluded that the blade of the knife used to attack Widjaja’s lecturer, Associate Professor Chan Kap Luk, had traces of both his and Professor Chan’s blood.

One key witness who saw Widjaja falling to his death at the Nanyang Technological University campus was fellow student, Lin Zhengxing.

Mr Lin was waiting for the lift on the fourth floor of a nearby building when he saw Widjaja standing on top of a bridge linking the building where he was to the School of Electrical and Electonic Engineering.

A video he shot on his mobile phone showing a man on the link bridge was played in court.

He stopped recording after eight seconds to call campus security during which he said Widjaja pushed himself off the bridge.

Widjaja’s family is disputing the footage.(still want to bring in video experts to fight on...)

newyorker88

It is hard to accept the facts.

David is gone, just like that.

I felt sorry for the family, but life has to go on.

So many witness and there is even a video taken.

cheekenpie

It is hard to accept the facts.

David is gone, just like that.

I felt sorry for the family, but life has to go on.

So many witness and there is even a video taken.

Its because they know something we dont. Once they get sufficient evidence they will spring out the truth that David was ..................

newyorker88

Its because they know something we dont. Once they get sufficient evidence they will spring out the truth that David was ..................

In Indo here, they are painting a very different story on how David died. I was sceptical at first, but with the video presented, it becomes more interesting.

Also, I fidn it difficult to believe 10 witness would lie together.

Question boils down to what happened BEFORE he jumped.

denzuko1

This is because the family refused to recognize their son as an aggressor and even willing to attempt to murder his lecturer.

The simple fact that he is an Asean Scholar tells a lot on their impression on him. He is a hardworking boy with good grades all the while. They cannot accept that he has become a computer game junkie with no interest in his study.

If I look at his behaviours before the incident, it is quite clear that he is already having much problem catching up with his work. The computer game is only a displacement activity for him to escape from reality. It is unfortunate and sad that the virtual world has become his reality. Certainly his lecturers have not help much.

newyorker88

If I look at his behaviours before the incident, it is quite clear that he is already having much problem catching up with his work. The computer game is only a displacement activity for him to escape from reality. It is unfortunate and sad that the virtual world has become his reality. Certainly his lecturers have not help much.

Too much stress for him liao. Sad. He should have gotten help from his home, or friends. It is obvious that he is under a lot of pressure to perform. And when he did not make the mark, he cannot face reality.

From a rich family in Indonesia, he can go easy on tuition fees, not necessary a scholarship.

Sad.

I was stationed in Indo for 1 month, and read some of the Indo news regarding this case. These are some of the news.

1) His family is not rich compared to those tai tais
2) His final project is quite interesting, using Bluetooth to recharge phone battery. I dunno how, i think is possible, and you will earn a lot of $$$$ if successful.

Due to this project, it was said the lecturer was trying to take the credit all by himself, thus making Widjaja's life miserable in the campus.

This was said by Widjaja's brother, who is very close to him.

Plus the multiple wounds, this case is not just simple suicide lor.

Cthulhu

What a lot of parents don't understand is that the angelic little boy or girl they think they know is a very different character in reality.

When studying overseas, a young person is suddenly free from all parental supervision. It is not uncommon to see so-called "good students" suddenly go bonkers when they discover the fun of unsupervised night life, rubba rubba, gambling or in this case online games.

I would really appreciate it if the Widjayas didn't try to seek closure using foreign taxpayers' money.

Cthulhu

I was stationed in Indo for 1 month, and read some of the Indo news regarding this case. These are some of the news.

2) His final project is quite interesting, using Bluetooth to recharge phone battery. I dunno how, i think is impossible, and you will earn a lot of $$$$ if successful.

Due to this project, it was said the lecturer was trying to take the credit all by himself, thus making Widjaja's life miserable in the campus.

Can anyone provide more info? If a student invents something marketable during FYP, who does the patent belong to? The student, the prof, the uni or the company sponsoring?

Sorry, what i meant his idea of using Bluetooth to charge phone battery IS possible. In terms of patent, i think should be Widjaja if he can convince tele companies to invest in his project. But it will be much easier if his lecturer give him a hand....

Cthulhu

Sorry, what i meant his idea of using Bluetooth to charge phone battery IS possible. In terms of patent, i think should be Widjaja if he can convince tele companies to invest in his project. But it will be much easier if his lecturer give him a hand....

From what I understand, the patents to inventions people make at work belongs to their company. That's why I am asking who owns the patents to inventions FYP students make. If it is the Uni, then there is no point for the prof to tekan David because he gains no benefits from it.

Anyway the idea of of a Prof bullying his student to steal his invention sounds rather Hollywood-ish to me. If true, I am very glad David never do NS otherwise there will be another shooting incident if someone ask him to touch lamp posts.

Porfirio Rubirosa

it still does not explain why he jumped to his death...i mean the family are disputing the authenticity of a student's vid clip but on what basis??...sounds too bizarre...

anyways to me the more interesting case making waves in Indo is the one of the young indo-french model Manohara who married a kelantan prince and now her mum is claiming that her daughter has been abducted and abused by the prince and is not allowed to see her family

2) His final project is quite interesting, using Bluetooth to recharge phone battery. I dunno how, i think is possible, and you will earn a lot of $$$$ if successful.

kulgai

Too much stress for him liao. Sad. He should have gotten help from his home, or friends. It is obvious that he is under a lot of pressure to perform. And when he did not make the mark, he cannot face reality.

From a rich family in Indonesia, he can go easy on tuition fees, not necessary a scholarship.

Sad.

This is stereotyping. I know for a fact that not every Indo here is rich. Most are average working ppl. The only reason for sending their kids here is for a better future.

newyorker88

This is stereotyping. I know for a fact that not every Indo here is rich. Most are average working ppl. The only reason for sending their kids here is for a better future.

It is a fact that his family is well off. Yes, it is true not all indo chinese are rich.

Better future? That is true to a certain extend, if you are working class in indonesia.

It is a fact that his family is well off. Yes, it is true not all indo chinese are rich.

Better future? That is true to a certain extend, if you are working class in indonesia.

His family is a middle class category to Singapore standard, not well off.

SamuelStalin

His family is a middle class category to Singapore standard, not well off.

That's why. At least you have some brains you see. All these Sporn fucks ALWAYS believe that if a student here is Indonesian the parents must be damn rich.

Very stereotypical thinking.