• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why domestic helpers not given full day rest?

Maids are humans ...they need a break from the hard work. It is surprising that we have not seen more crazy maids killing their employers.

Indeed. Problem with many Singaporean employers of domestic helpers they think of themselves as doing a favor for their helpers in employing them and that the helpers owe them. I think this is not right and in fact cruel. Singaporeans forgot somehow many of them are also employees themselves too.

there still morons who dun understand that FDW are special under Emply Act......... oso if given full day, they hv to pay for foods & resting in bed spreadeagle???

it's opportunity earnings that can be lost with a shorter break. if given the full day off, a whoring maid can rake in more from banglas. :p

or make more money moonlighting as cleaner in another households....!!!

Yes , I hope they are given more rest during off days , I have to rush them off before 2nd and 3rd come . Next day better for me so can come many many times . Thank you for giving them weekly day off , other girls from Geylang more expensive , maids are the best .

move on to dogs......... female kind

It may not be terms you and I will agree to when we seek to get employed, however, I believe these are the "basic" standards for the "servants" in this part of the world, and is a step forward compare to regional countries and even Singapore of the recent past. If you wish to give more "freedoms" and "comfort" to your domestic worker, please feel free to do so.

In 1992, I visited Sri Lanka for my honeymoon and while there, stayed with my wife's business contact there. They are a relatively well-off business family who employed and provided maids. While there, I realized their treatment of their maids (they employ the maid, and her entire family!!) aren't exactly "humane" or "acceptable" by standards practiced (and outline) by the MOM. Upon discussing with their househeads (father, and mother), apparently they felt their maids were given the "best" I talked to one the maid;s husband, who was employed to work in that home as driver, and gardener, and he agreed that working there was very good for him and his family. And if given the opportunity to work in Singapore, he wouldn't hesitate to seize the opportunity, from what he's heard from hid friends. Yes, there are cases if abuse and "overwork" by some employers in Singapore, but these are the minority, and will get shit if the MOM, or police gets new of it.

I noticed that maids in Singapore if given rest days actually get only 6 to 9 hours instead of 24hrs which we call it a day. Sinkies get Saturdays and Sundays off from work why not maids get a full day rest and come back the next day?

As long as you treat the maid decently it is ok. Forget the shit about 24 hours off etc. I never fail to be amused by people who clamour for the "rights" of maids when Sinkies themselves dont even know their own rights. Many would say maids are not supposed to wash cars, suppose to sleep by 9pm, etc. How naive.

When I was working abroad, I once had an hourly domestic help. I offered to double her hourly rates if she would clean the house naked. And she did!

and you would triple her pay if she had sex with you?

Singaporeans have all the rights they need/deserve/ are entitled to, in a modern society. There is no lack of "rights" in Singapore. Those who do not have rights are because they are happy with what they already have. And so they don't clamour for more. I think some maids like to do chores coutside their employer's home (like carwashing, dogwalking) because they get to socialize with other maids/people.

....... when Sinkies themselves dont even know their own rights. Many would say maids are not supposed to wash cars, suppose to sleep by 9pm, etc. How naive.

and you would triple her pay if she had sex with you?

I may pay women to prance around naked or topless, but I never pay for sex. Sex with women has always been free for me.

It may not be terms you and I will agree to when we seek to get employed, however, I believe these are the "basic" standards for the "servants" in this part of the world, and is a step forward compare to regional countries and even Singapore of the recent past. If you wish to give more "freedoms" and "comfort" to your domestic worker, please feel free to do so.

In 1992, I visited Sri Lanka for my honeymoon and while there, stayed with my wife's business contact there. They are a relatively well-off business family who employed and provided maids. While there, I realized their treatment of their maids (they employ the maid, and her entire family!!) aren't exactly "humane" or "acceptable" by standards practiced (and outline) by the MOM. Upon discussing with their househeads (father, and mother), apparently they felt their maids were given the "best" I talked to one the maid;s husband, who was employed to work in that home as driver, and gardener, and he agreed that working there was very good for him and his family. And if given the opportunity to work in Singapore, he wouldn't hesitate to seize the opportunity, from what he's heard from hid friends. Yes, there are cases if abuse and "overwork" by some employers in Singapore, but these are the minority, and will get shit if the MOM, or police gets new of it.

MOM fucked up time n again
years ago when indon maids can be gottten for $150, there was option for payment in lieu of off days... this went on for years & on repetition until today
WTF is this?

In HK, they get Sunday off ...a major street is closed off for them to have their picnics. After Canada, HK is the next best place for pinoy maids.
I wish I could be maid in Canada ....two years of work, can get PR.

It is because of the PAP's rules on maid. Maid get pregnant, employers responsible. If maid get pregnant, she goes home lah on her own expense. Then sinkees can treat maids like humans.

even if maid pregnant employer hv to pay airfare back
oso when contract breached under two yrs
FUCKing MOM bastards.... dun understand contract laws & fairness to contracting parties

Maids are humans ...they need a break from the hard work. It is surprising that we have not seen more crazy maids killing their employers.

nature of housework is easier at relaxed pace esp when empl or chirldren at work or school..............

She is an adult and should have the freedom to make choices.

It is the duty of Singaporeans to inculcate a sense of moral rectitude in the foreign workers who come here for employment. A maid selling her body to a Bangala for a MacDonalds happy meal and a stroll down Lucky Plaza is abhorrent and disgusting. We must educated such women to value themselves higher.