• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why does MOE hire teachers from Australia when so many local PMETsjobless?

u mean there is a great conspiracy going on for bringing FT teachers in? why cant it be just bacause there arent sufficient pmet who are qualified for these positions or that many locals arent interested to be teachers, that's why there is a need to bring in these FT teachers from australia?

Because you have a limitless supply of fresh graduates jumping on the MOE bandwagon to be trained as teachers over at NIE. If people who have no experience in teaching can be trained to take on the profession, why bring in the FTs? Clearly debate is not your forte, and you should stick to posting news with your other clones.

Wahahaha...nice one.

I wonder if they will employ a pervert like me in schools.
Surely there must be some kind of test to deny perverts from getting this job.

I've come across private tuition teachers in Sg who are graduates. Their standard of English is so crappy I feel sorry for those who engage them and pay them to tutor their kids. Imagine hiring them as fully fledged teachers! They are going to be standing in front of impressionable aged kids and imparting their skills!!!

I have come across many teachers who have terrible grammar and diction. They were great at giving exam tips, even for the humanities like history.

Why are you fellas so afraid of competition from Aussies? Kampung girl also can become CEO. If you are better than them, there is no need to worry.

u mean there is a great conspiracy going on for bringing FT teachers in? why cant it be just bacause there arent sufficient pmet who are qualified for these positions or that many locals arent interested to be teachers, that's why there is a need to bring in these FT teachers from australia?
This is one area of our foreign immigration policy that has misfired. Normally you bring in FTs because they are cheaper and can give you the competitive edge.

In this case they are probably paid higher than our local teachers and treated as expats, not having to follow the scheme meant for local teachers.

The main problem here is that, for decades, the teaching profession has been underpaid and as a result nobody wanted to be teachers. Those who do are passionate about their jobs. With this thinking to save cost, the supply, over time, has dwindled to such low levels that we have to import teachers, even at high cost, ironically contravening the policy of cost saving.

true but your logic can also apply to many occupations then... e,g waiter, therapist, construction worker, nurse, bus drivers....

u mean there is a great conspiracy going on for bringing FT teachers in? why cant it be just bacause there arent sufficient pmet who are qualified for these positions or that many locals arent interested to be teachers, that's why there is a need to bring in these FT teachers from australia?[/QUOTE]

During the financial slowdown of 2008, the MOE set a target of recruiting 33,000 new teachers by 2015. (This was the chenghu's way of making sure the unemployment stats didn't get too ugly.) MOE itself had announced earlier this year that the target of 33,000 new teachers had already been hit early this year, ie. 3 years ahead of schedule. So where is the logic in your assertion of "many locals aren't interested to be teachers"? Of course whether they make good teachers or not is another issue altogether!

MOE has tried hiring English teachers from UK before...it was a complete failure.

MOE has resorted to hiring PRC teachers to teach 2nd language..but the scheme has caused a lot of problems because these PRC teachers can be effective in any school com and the burden falls heavily on SG teachers.

I foresee this plan to recruit Aus teachers, in the long run, will fali also

The MOE has been recruiting ang mo teachers for Humanities for some time already with the excuse that most local NIE applicants don't want to teach Humanities. However, many of these chaps don't stay long as they find great difficulty adjusting to the MOE policies for schools and the local school leaders' management styles. You may find the a handful who stay beyond one contract but most don't. So the sad situation is you often find students being taught by foreign teachers who are not very motivated nor dedicated in the first place.

Having said that, the quality of the local teachers recruited in recent years also leaves much to be desired. And for those who still use the tired excuse that teachers are underpaid, please get updated. New NIE grads now start at $3,600 minimum and let's just say that many of them are not of the quality that would have gotten them a higher paying first job elsewhere anyway.

There are many reasons why they don't stay longer. Part of the reason, from what I hear, is that they never expects to be housed in the pidgeon hole with 2-3 other foreign teachers. To most of them, that is akin to fraud. Most just finish their contract and leave.

The MOE has been recruiting ang mo teachers for Humanities for some time already with the excuse that most local NIE applicants don't want to teach Humanities. However, many of these chaps don't stay long as they find great difficulty adjusting to the MOE policies for schools and the local school leaders' management styles. You may find the a handful who stay beyond one contract but most don't. So the sad situation is you often find students being taught by foreign teachers who are not very motivated nor dedicated in the first place.

Having said that, the quality of the local teachers recruited in recent years also leaves much to be desired. And for those who still use the tired excuse that teachers are underpaid, please get updated. New NIE grads now start at $3,600 minimum and let's just say that many of them are not of the quality that would have gotten them a higher paying first job elsewhere anyway.

The salary increase was as what you have said to bring in new teachers to make the unemployment figures look not too bad during the 2008 recession. The growth prospects still look miserable with limited scope for promotion to HOD and to principals. This perception has persisted for a very long time.

like that good. bring more angmoh teachers. they will teach our young generation tat PAP doggies r not the overlords!!!!!! :mad::mad::mad::mad: these angmoh teachers r not meek like the local teachers!!!!

WE ARE NOT RULED BY THE DOGGIES!!!

I remember last year there was a report in the Shit Times that the MOE was planning to import Ah Neh teachers to teach our students..

For me that's even worse than bringing in these Ozzie teachers...

U think MOE dare to employ PMEs into education?
They scared the PMEs teach the students to be wary of foreigners.. since it is the FTs who got the PMEs out of the emloyment loop.
Let's face it, MOE probably wouldn't want a middle-aged person to go into schools, with a mind full of anti-FT thinking, and then passing it on to the local SG students.

Get foreigners to continue to "brainwash" the young ones la.
I think MOE probably also dun wan PMEs to recount their stories of being side-lined by cheap FTs.. maybe cos they fear that the younger ones might get impulsive and "rise up against " pappies.