• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why do we need so many foreign workers in Singapore?

• Thread starter Thread starter Baluku
  • Start date Start date
B

Baluku

Re examine the need for foreign workers and lifestyle changes could reduce the need for them.

Like clearing your own tables would reduce the need for workers.

Or looking after your own kids or do the household chores by yourself instead of relying on maids.

What do you think? Would Singaporeans make such lifestyle changing in order to reduce the demands for foreign workers?

Last edited by a moderator:
Good post.
Would you pay the same amount of $ for auto car wash instead of handwash?
Would you buy a dishwasher to reduce reliance on labour?
I would.

Those construction jobs, many Singaporeans wont do that because its tiring with low pay, that is fine with me. What I'm upset about is on the hospitality side though, why cant young singaporeans do that? Employers hired foreigners because they are cheaper than the locals.

Re examine the need for foreign workers and lifestyle changes could reduce the need for them.

Or looking after your own kids or do the household chores by yourself instead of relying on maids.

What do you think? Would Singaporeans make such lifestyle changing in order to reduce the demands for foreign workers?

I do clear my tray after eating to throw away my rubbish, but look around the food courts/hawker centres/coffee shops etc. the waste disposal is not easily found & dustbins, dear me!, are well hidden. So, one have no choice but to leave the tray on the table together with the rubbish. It is business, they do not want us to have good clean habits.

As for helpers, M O M make million a month with the levy, why would they want to encourage the average SINgaporean to be self sufficient to look after their own kids...

It is business..MONEY, and greedy for more MONEY...being socially responsible is just talk...utterly RUBBiSH!

Those construction jobs, many Singaporeans wont do that because its tiring with low pay, that is fine with me. What I'm upset about is on the hospitality side though, why cant young singaporeans do that? Employers hired foreigners because they are cheaper than the locals.

Yeah, and some of those construction jobs also contribute to the country's GDP.

Dig up road, fill it up again. Dig up road, fill it up again. Rinse and repeat.

Yeah, and some of those construction jobs also contribute to the country's GDP.

Dig up road, fill it up again. Dig up road, fill it up again. Rinse and repeat.

Dig up basketball court, redo, then repeat...and many others, good for the economy of India, Bangladesh, Thailand, PRC and coming soon Mynamar, help their GDP growth and I forgot, SINgapore too. ha ha ha ha:D

I think the main issue is not these types of foreign workers but those PMETS on employment pass, taking away jobs that Singaporeans can do and depressing the wages. Anyway, maids stay with employers and don't take public transport during peak hours, so they dont cause the housing and transport woes. Hawker centre and foodcourt can easily be redesigned to allow customers easy plate return and invest in industrial dishwasher once they cannot find cheap foreign workers.

Regardless...............got to meet total residence quota of 6==> 6.5==> 7 million. Just reverse engineer a justification.

I think the main issue is not these types of foreign workers but those PMETS on employment pass, taking away jobs that Singaporeans can do and depressing the wages. Anyway, maids stay with employers and don't take public transport during peak hours, so they dont cause the housing and transport woes. Hawker centre and foodcourt can easily be redesigned to allow customers easy plate return and invest in industrial dishwasher once they cannot find cheap foreign workers.

You hit the nail on the head!!!! that is why the MIW's are throwing smoke screen to blind the SINgaporenas on this, with the low income group, improve productvity, upgrading your skills, all these craps, we have been hearing since the 70's.

I have warned my working colleagues eons ago, when they allowed Malaysians to work here, depressing the wages and slowly taking away jobs from us, & I am not talking about the blue collared workers, the PMETS. It was the Malaysians, the Hong Kong people, then the Pinoys/Pinays came in drips & then the Indians ( from India) & later the floodgate was opened it was a deluge, come one come all.

We are talking about the PMETS jobs that these foreign workers had filled, surely you can employ any locals to fill these positions, our education system have churn out more than enough people every year. Is this inadequate?, have we not one of the best trained & educated work force in this world?

We are talking about stealing the PMETS ability to make a living, to raise a family, to have a roof over the head & provide three sqaure meals on the table.

We have allowed ourselves to be controlled by greedy people...:(

We need foreign workers like maids and construction workers. What I cannot tolerate is that they are treating them like slaves. Just look at their wages and the so called dormitories. Some of these are being cheated or not even paid and the garment can't or don't bother to do anything about it. These are the workers which we need and they need our protection as well.

On the other hand, they are letting in FTs to fill up jobs in PMETS (which can and should be filled by locals), pay them obscene wages including housing allowance and give them PR so that they can buy subsidized HDB flats

Blame Singaporean many are not working.
Less than 1 million Singaporean are working.
And Singapore have the most maid in the world ratio over family. About 20% family have maid or 1/5 family.

Every Singaporean dont blame gov bring in construction worker but not too many PMET that compete with local worker.

its all the PAP FAULT. why people still vote them in ... i oso dun understand...

simple lah. i asked taxi uncle the same question.

Answers : my younger people and young graduates all vote

them . they want their pty / hdb to increase

then they all sell and migrate to aust , NZ ,

usa and canada. wait for the outflow lah.

they take all cpf and flat profit and run

Look at the banglas in Japan:

2093537014_7017ed6f26.jpg

construction-workers.jpg

ConstructionWorkersSendaismall.jpg

I do empathise with you Singaporeans on the current state of affairs.

If what is happening here happens in Aust, the govt of the day would be booted out in the next general election.

It is only the PAP that need new citizens to vote for them. Without new citizens the PAP will be voted out. New citizens and FT help to increase demand for propoerty where the PAPpies and their scoundrels have invested in heavily. More FTs mean more money to feed the parasitic PAP.

The young one are having a fun time and getting money from their parents. Why work?

dumbfuck sinkies..

the purpose is not really economic growth, the purpose is the be reelected again for the PAP. it is just that the nature of things by doing this,
the economic focus will be on the FT and not locals.

PAP use your tax money and feed the FT and then get them re-elected again in the coming elections.

That is up your ass to the local kind of thing.. you mean you can't even tell from this?

This forum really filled with dumbfucks. No wonder the whole population of sinkies are screwed.

many people just complain. to parents, they will say cut FT buy not FDW. To a SME boss, they will say cant cut FT as no singaporean want to work. To a customer going to a restaurant , he will ask why the service is so slow, the boss should increase the manpower.