• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WHy do we have run amok monkeys in our golf courses

If you go to the United States, private property owner or club member are entitled to shoot trespassers if they don't leave on verbal warning. Even a rich Japanese student (innocently and tragically) got shot dead before. I'm not promoting such extreme in property rights (that's a private gunownship country) for Singapore. However, elite or not, we have to respect property rights and exclusivity rights. No rich or elite person should have to apologise for being rich or elite and being able to afford certain rights.

If they committed a crime, they should be dealt with according to the law too, but it's fact in reality that yes, they could afford lawyers to defend or migitate for them. However, that doesn't mean the less privileged should be allowed use violence over them. If the golfer struck the first blow, that'd be another matter altogether.

As for the caning sentence, that has to be meted out according to the law as passed by Parliament. The judge couldn't simply decide to cane anyone just because he's poor.

Bro
I have always considered you one of the most logical and reasonable people in this forum, hence I am rather surprised by your analysis of this case.
If you have been reading my posts, you will also know that I am one of the last to support the elites, the rich and the powerful, which of course includes the majority of people who play golf.
But the way I see it is that the non golfers were lying down in a place they shouldn't have been. They were being pests. I've encountered or heard stories of these type many times before.
Sure, the golfers may have been high handed and told them quite rudely to go away, but I think the reaction from the non golfers was probably execssive and they probably started the violence and continued the violence. The golfers' injuries are testamount to that. It's not a question of who won the fight, it's a question of who instigated it.

1st lanjiao hor li ka :oIo: Would you like the kelings to sleep out on your lawn, bio your sisters, mother and wife? No right? F6cking CB 2 face prick. Do you say please to 'request' them to leave? No right? Tiu lei loh moh fa hai why then is a problem between the elites and chow kelings??? It's private land belonging to all club members right??

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

1st lanjiao hor li ka :oIo: Would you like the kelings to sleep out on your lawn, bio your sisters, mother and wife? No right? F6cking CB 2 face prick. Do you say please to 'request' them to leave? No right? Tiu lei loh moh fa hai why then is a problem between the elites and chow kelings??? It's private land belonging to all club members right??

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

erh soli. this should be directed at johnny333

paiseh

erh soli. this should be directed at johnny333

paiseh

I'm not looking at it from a race point of view, only as a case of elites vs lesser mortals.

What would have happened if the fight had taken place in a food court, or in a park between a group of lesser courts :confused:

I remember the case of someone who was assaulted by a gang & the police treated it as a civil case. In that case the police washed their hands & left it up to the individual to sue the gang :eek: So if this was a simple case of a fight, would anyone would have been jailed/caned :confused:

I remember that case, it was Halloween & the Japanese student didn't understand english very well, so did not heed the warning he was given by the homeowner. The US has its own laws & they do face have armed criminals.

The public in Spore are convinced that they can trust the system to look after them. However is this true? We have seen the courts dealing light sentences where elites/foreigners are involved and severe deterrent sentences to lesser mortals.

Even when death is involved elites/foreigners, we can see many cases of the light hand of the law, while lesser mortals have been dealt with a heavy hand.

My arguement is that there seems to be 2 laws in Spore.

The media is used to manipulate how we perceive these cases. In this case the innocent golfers vs the savage trespassers. Of course we feel sympathy for the innocent. However I don't see it as a simple black & white case

Even a rich Japanese student (innocently and tragically) got shot dead before. I'm not promoting such extreme in property rights (that's a private gunownship country) for Singapore. However, elite or not, we have to respect property rights and exclusivity rights. No rich or elite person should have to apologise for being rich or elite and being able to afford certain rights.

If they committed a crime, they should be dealt with according to the law too, but it's fact in reality that yes, they could afford lawyers to defend or migitate for them. However, that doesn't mean the less privileged should be allowed use violence over them. If the golfer struck the first blow, that'd be another matter altogether.

As for the caning sentence, that has to be meted out according to the law as passed by Parliament. The judge couldn't simply decide to cane anyone just because he's poor.

I'm not looking at it from a race point of view, only as a case of elites vs lesser mortals.

What would have happened if the fight had taken place in a food court, or in a park between a group of lesser courts :confused:

I remember the case of someone who was assaulted by a gang & the police treated it as a civil case. In that case the police washed their hands & left it up to the individual to sue the gang :eek: So if this was a simple case of a fight, would anyone would have been jailed/caned :confused:
A few years ago, there was an incident that occured at a hdb void deck in the early hours of the morning.
3 young men were sitting at the void deck making a ruckus.
One man came over and asked them to lower their voices.
I don't know the details of what transpired between them, perhaps the solo man was rude, perhaps he was polite.
But he was beaten up by the 3 young men and he ended up dead.
If I recall correctly, the 3 young men were sentenced to 3 years or less in prision. They are probably out by now.
Who were the instigators? Was the punishment befitting of the crime? Why did the man have to die?
You tell me.

Who were the instigators? Was the punishment befitting of the crime? Why did the man have to die?
You tell me.

My argument is that the golf case is an example of the class disparity that exists today. The authorities acted quickly because the elites were involved.

I also suspect that a deterrent sentencs was given because an elite was hurt.

As for the case you brought up. Do you know if any of the 3 men were caned:confused:
More importantly since no elites were involved, the 3 men are probably free today.

My argument is that the golf case is an example of the class disparity that exists today. The authorities acted quickly because the elites were involved.

I also suspect that a deterrent sentencs was given because an elite was hurt.

As for the case you brought up. Do you know if any of the 3 men were caned:confused:
I don't know if they were caned.
But in my opinion, a 3 year sentence for killing a person is very light.
The man who died was certainly not an elite.

I don't know if they were caned.
But in my opinion, a 3 year sentence for killing a person is very light.
The man who died was certainly not an elite.

Have to agree that 3 years for manslaughter is kinda light. When you compare to the golfing case the lesser mortal got 15 months & caned 3 times. In that case no one was killed, but then an elite was injured:rolleyes:

There have been so many cases of foreign motorists causing deaths & only fined. Such as the german guy who ran over & killed some pedestrian along Orchard Rd, The Brit driver who killed a korean mother....

How about the driver of the Ferrari that crashed did they ever go after him? Didn't the Breadtalk owner escape lightly for drunk driving?

All these cases show that the system in Spore is biased against lesser mortals

Have to agree that 3 years for manslaughter is kinda light. When you compare to the golfing case the lesser mortal got 15 months & caned 3 times. In that case no one was killed, but then an elite was injured:rolleyes:

There have been so many cases of foreign motorists causing deaths & only fined. Such as the german guy who ran over & killed some pedestrian along Orchard Rd, The Brit driver who killed a korean mother....

How about the driver of the Ferrari that crashed did they ever go after him? Didn't the Breadtalk owner escape lightly for drunk driving?

All these cases show that the system in Spore is biased against lesser mortals
I don't think the system is biased as such.
It's more what I call a "It could happen to me" theory.
If a foreigner or a member of the elite were to murder someone or traffic drugs, I have no doubt that they would be punished to the full extent of the law, i.e. the death penalty.
But have you noticed that those cases you mentioned not only involved foreigners, but also car accidents? Those who drive recklessly and kill someone seem to get off rather lightly.
Because they are thinking "It could happen to me". They are not going to be involved in murders or drug trafficking. But knocking down someone in a car accident is possible. Being hurt by trespassers on a golf course is also possible.

I don't think the system is biased as such.
It's more what I call a "It could happen to me" theory.
If a foreigner or a member of the elite were to murder someone or traffic drugs, I have no doubt that they would be punished to the full extent of the law, i.e. the death penalty....

I don't share your view that the System treats everyone equally. I don't have any hard stats but get this impression by reading between the lines of whats going on in Spore.

With so many foreigners in Spore I find it surprising that there haven't been many cases of angmos brought to trial & jailed . When you compare Spore to LOS/ Jakarta there are many more angmos in jail compared to Spore.

I have my suspicions that the authorities chose to overlook many crimes committed by foreigners, especially the favoured angmos. The PAP wants to avoid friction with the gov'ts of those countries.