• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why charge poly students adult rates?

MarrickG

I AM going to a polytechnic this year and am waiting for school to start.

My secondary school ez-link card expired on 31 Jan and from 1 Feb, I have been charged adult fares.

I don't understand why the bus companies and SMRT are slapping students like me with adult prices.

It is not fair that we are still students but are being charged higher prices.

I understand this has been a common complaint over the years.

Polytechnic students have constantly questioned why they pay more than their same-age peers in junior colleges and institutes of technical education, who enjoy student fares.

I understand that there are some adults who attend polytechnics, but I'm sure this is no reason to slap all polytechnic students with adult fares, especially since the majority of us are below 21.

Can't the bus companies and SMRT charge those above 21 adult fares while the rest of us student fares?

With the fare hikes introduced late last year, students will need all the help we can get.

I really hope something can be worked out for polytechnic students soon.

Sofia Aini

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Story/A1Story20100210-197862.html

The PAP objective is to squeeze peasants as much as possible. Generate profits for their GIC companies while heartache and misery for sinkies!

Young poly students should stand up and agitate. But are they willing?

No balls, no concessions!

... Generate profits for their GIC companies while ...

Didn't some PAP MP proudly proclaim that Spore is run like Spore Inc. The purpose of all companies is to make profits lah.

What amazes me is that there are people who vote for a company :eek: Why would anyone vote to be exploited :confused: Just have to look at the crowded trains, expensive utilies, super high pay,....

Its a bloody disgrace. Student concessions apply across the board in first world countries and many parts of the world. Students don't draw an income and they are investment for the future.

Singapore is really stepmothering the poor, the young and the old and the in between and pampering all the newcomers. If the populace is too stupid to see through all these, they probably deserved this government. Should make a list of all the grievances and play them over and over like a broken record player and ultimately the people will realise what they are led into. 33% is a big minority in any count.

My secondary school ez-link card expired on 31 Jan and from 1 Feb, I have been charged adult fares.

I don't understand why the bus companies and SMRT are slapping students like me with adult prices.

Polytechnic students have constantly questioned why they pay more than their same-age peers in junior colleges and institutes of technical education, who enjoy student fares.

I understand that there are some adults who attend polytechnics, but I'm sure this is no reason to slap all polytechnic students with adult fares, especially since the majority of us are below 21.

Can't the bus companies and SMRT charge those above 21 adult fares while the rest of us student fares?

With the fare hikes introduced late last year, students will need all the help we can get.

Sofia Aini

Because Poly students in their street-roaming casual wear are more mature and responsible whereas JC students in their school uniform are still kids with rigid schedules and exercise books. Right guys?

a perfect match will be poly girl in jc uniform....drool

Its a bloody disgrace. Student concessions apply across the board in first world countries and many parts of the world. Students don't draw an income and they are investment for the future.

Hotel 81 don't offer concession rates for two hour jaunts, do they? I think mine is a fair comment.

Didn't some PAP MP proudly proclaim that Spore is run like Spore Inc. The purpose of all companies is to make profits lah.

What amazes me is that there are people who vote for a company :eek: Why would anyone vote to be exploited :confused: Just have to look at the crowded trains, expensive utilies, super high pay,....

Amazing right? No right thinking First World society would allow themselves to be bullied and exploited! Only in sinkieland. Amazing!

No right thinking First World society would allow themselves to be bullied and exploited!

No matter what the statistics say Spore is still in the 3rd world with its own dictator, corrupted system & officials.

Something fishy when you only have 2 opposition members. Just have to look at the screw ups made by the PAP.

I know many who have left but not everyone can leave & I don't think those still in Spore are that dumb.

Those wear uniform, concession applies . Those not in uniform no concession .

how come FTs factory workers with uniform don't have concessions? :D

Yeah screw them .

villagepeoplemachoman_2.jpg

other then concession, they do not enjoy "student price" for bus fare or mrt like those in jc or sec school. but their concession is way cheaper than poly students.

Singapore is really stepmothering the poor, the young and the old and the in between and pampering all the newcomers. If the populace is too stupid to see through all these, they probably deserved this government. Should make a list of all the grievances and play them over and over like a broken record player and ultimately the people will realise what they are led into. 33% is a big minority in any count.

This being the Tiger year, yes let's make a list of all the grievances. The pappies will tak boleh tahan in the coming elections!

Just show the pappies the list of all the grievances during GE and see how they will answer. Tak boleh tahan!

You want concession fares? wear uniform lor, kaope simi?

Sofia Aini

thats why i always say,

PAP mother fuckers!! see you in hell!