• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Are SGs forced to Downgrade When They are Old?

No it is NOT OK and the behaviour of the GLCs and Temasek is absolutely shocking and unacceptable.

However, whinging and whining about it does nothing for you. The effort you put into complaining should instead be channeled into creating wealth using the finances that you DO have control over.

I too moaned about the behavior of the PAP govt for the first 5 years or so of my working life. I then realised it was pointless so I decided to create my own retirement plan which turned out to be far superior to the one the govt had crafted for me.

you still haven't addressed the last issue: what responsibilities does the State owe to its citizens?

are you saying we should resign ourselves to receiving shockingly little returns on the monies in our Ordinary Accounts?

i didn't realize i was complaining when i thought i was debating the pathetic returns on our CPF vs the Returns on Temasek/GIC

The truth doesn't sit well with you.

Its absolutely rubbish to expect the government to be responsible for your standard of living. You sort that out yourself, The downfall of Stinky sinkies is their sense of entitlement, boastfulness, pride and the constant whining about absolutely FUCKING EVERYTHING.

the state owes nothing to its people, when the people owe nothing to the state.

I too moaned about the behavior of the PAP govt for the first 5 years or so of my working life. I then realised it was pointless so I decided to create my own retirement plan which turned out to be far superior to the one the govt had crafted for me.

very subtle in trying to get people to accept the incompetencies of a government.

i offer an alternative view: Vote for a better government that will create a better retirement plan or abolish CPF.

It doesn't make a scrap of difference who you vote for either in Sinkieland or any other country for that matter. No govt in the world can create a retirement plan that is better than the one you can create for yourself.

Check out the retirement plans in NZ, Australia, Canada, Sweden, Finland or whichever state you feel has the ideal cradle to grave system and prepare yourself for a reality check.

The retirement plan that I created for myself yields $200,000 per year on the average. Find me a govt that can match this amount.

very subtle in trying to get people to accept the incompetencies of a government.

You don't or seem to understand, Sinkie can't 'think' already, they're brain washed zombies who cared only to make more money to feed the demand of the Imperial Court and themselves.

They're not going to care whether their gov is incompetent or is cheating them outright.

All they can think of is to have the same level of making million of dollars, of what their Master have rewarded themselves with out of the peasant's pocket!

You cannot like that say lah because most retirees are hit by the money they have to set aside in Minimum Sum and the high price they paid for their property using CPF.....

Just found out from a friend who just turned 55 that he was only able to withdraw a token sum from CPF because of the MS and the fact that he purchased a resale 5-rm HDB flat for 350K 10 years ago. So you can imagine that if there is no MS and had my friend been able to purchase the same property at a much cheaper price (say 200K) then he would be able to retire comfortably with a significant retirement sum. So for my friend, no choice, if he wants to unlock his cash he may have to downgrade to a 3 or 4 room flat. Many retirees are doing just that .....

Your friend turn 55 buy $350k flat at age 45(should be second flat).
Where the profit from the 1st flat?? Spend all never save it???
He should have profit at least $100k 10 year ago and invest wisely in save fund now should be $200k min cash in bank. If smart investor now will be at least $300k.

It doesn't make a scrap of difference who you vote for either in Sinkieland or any other country for that matter. No govt in the world can create a retirement plan that is better than the one you can create for yourself.

Check out the retirement plans in NZ, Australia, Canada, Sweden, Finland or whichever state you feel has the ideal cradle to grave system and prepare yourself for a reality check.

The retirement plan that I created for myself yields $200,000 per year on the average. Find me a govt that can match this amount.

if that's the case, then we might as well be voting for the cheapest monkeys who will work for us since its all the same. Why pay for a $20M cabinet when a $1M cabinet would do just as fine?

the reality check is simple: retirement plans work in egalitarian societies with high tax rates and highly democratic societies where the government recognizes its role as SERVANT rather than MASTER of its citizens. http://www.mercer.com/articles/1359260

and until you do like mitt and release your income tax returns, no one is going take your $200k/yr retirement plan seriously. you wanna see my 16" long circumcised man bits?

if that's the case, then we might as well be voting for the cheapest monkeys who will work for us since its all the same. Why pay for a $20M cabinet when a $1M cabinet would do just as fine?

the reality check is simple: retirement plans work in egalitarian societies with high tax rates and highly democratic societies where the government recognizes its role as SERVANT rather than MASTER of its citizens. http://www.mercer.com/articles/1359260

and until you do like mitt and release your income tax returns, no one is going take your $200k/yr retirement plan seriously. you wanna see my 16" long circumcised man bits?

Yes it is . and the citizen got to come together to throw the motherfucking sinkie regime out of the Parliament. If you just type in the forum and do nothing, that isn't gonna change a thing. Knowing it in the mind and doing it is diff.

Typing in the internet is about knowing it in the mind, But can the ball-less sinkies do it? till now, only CSJ dare to challenge it. The country is yours to direct and protect it.

Voting is useless. If you want change immediately and want to make your stand, go to the street to demonstrate. This is the only way to tell them what you are not happy about.

Sending a letter and posting the forum constantly isn't going to make any difference.

Read my signature....

I had coffee with an old retiree friend the other day. We get by with our small monthly annuity and ang pows from the children, getting on okay with our simple lifestyle. So far we have been lucky, we are in good health.

My friend’s HDB property is worth about about half a million, my small landed property about a million plus. The common observation is that we should consider ourselves fortunate. Our main asset, our homes have grown in value many times over.

The common talk is if you need money, you can always downgrade. But my friend remarked why should we downgrade? Why must we give up our familiar home and surroundings and downgrade? What about our feelings, our attachments and sentiments. Why must people downgrade at the tail end of their lives? It is stressful.

Our homes have therefore become a commodity retirement instrument. What causes all this? The answer is things are expensive and keep going up. Why wasn’t there any control right from the beginning? Why nobody thought of a retirement package for us?

Then my friend said something that struck me. He said people selfishly voted for the PAP hoping to keep the high prices for their houses. Worried for his children and grandchildren, he is more than ready to sacrifice if the government takes drastic measures to reduce the housing costs for the sake of our future generation. It doesn’t matter if the value of his home drops by half. Can’t we pull the brakes and wipe up the spirit of sacrifice.
Sacrifice and reduce costs
* Comment first appeared on: Did you make the right choice?

Beggars can't be choosers and if you are not capable of living in a private housing arrangement you can always choose a flat. Ha feelings, attachments and sentiments. Pfft. Singapore is always changing and it doesn't wait for an old displaced economic unit like you.

do remember this statement of yours, when you become an old displaced economic unit in time to come. youth gives an illusion of invincibility that only age can dispel.

[h=2]Why should we downgrade from our homes?[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
September 26th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

HDB_DSC_0007-300x200.jpg

I had coffee with an old retiree friend the other day. We get by with our small monthly annuity and ang pows from the children, getting on okay with our simple lifestyle. So far we have been lucky, we are in good health.

My friend’s HDB property is worth about about half a million, my small landed property about a million plus. The common observation is that we should consider ourselves fortunate. Our main asset, our homes have grown in value many times over.

The common talk is if you need money, you can always downgrade. But my friend remarked why should we downgrade? Why must we give up our familiar home and surroundings and downgrade? What about our feelings, our attachments and sentiments. Why must people downgrade at the tail end of their lives? It is stressful.

Our homes have therefore become a commodity retirement instrument. What causes all this? The answer is things are expensive and keep going up. Why wasn’t there any control right from the beginning? Why nobody thought of a retirement package for us?

Then my friend said something that struck me. He said people selfishly voted for the PAP hoping to keep the high prices for their houses. Worried for his children and grandchildren, he is more than ready to sacrifice if the government takes drastic measures to reduce the housing costs for the sake of our future generation. It doesn’t matter if the value of his home drops by half. Can’t we pull the brakes and wipe up the spirit of sacrifice.
Sacrifice and reduce costs
* Comment first appeared on: Did you make the right choice?

thank god someone else got the balls to say it

on a separate note, does anyone hear know that if you wish to withdraw your CPF to buy your first property, you MUST have a loan?, if not you are UNABLE to touch your CPF.
unless my house lawyer totally got it round, this was how it was explained to me.
so when you do not have to go into debt to buy your property, i HAD TO get a loan (minimum amount) to get access to my cpf, all $16000 of it

on a separate note, does anyone hear know that if you wish to withdraw your CPF to buy your first property, you MUST have a loan?, if not you are UNABLE to touch your CPF.
unless my house lawyer totally got it round, this was how it was explained to me.
so when you do not have to go into debt to buy your property, i HAD TO get a loan (minimum amount) to get access to my cpf, all $16000 of it

U CPF account $16k only????

This is to make sure you get into debt and you got to pay interest for it. That is your PAP govt. wanna protest against it?

Typing in the internet is about knowing it in the mind, But can the ball-less sinkies do it? till now, only CSJ dare to challenge it. The country is yours to direct and protect it.

Voting is useless. If you want change immediately and want to make your stand, go to the street to demonstrate. This is the only way to tell them what you are not happy about.

Sending a letter and posting the forum constantly isn't going to make any difference.

Read my signature....

CSJ and others dared to come forward. but sinkisees dared not , don't want to vote for them because
sinkies have the misconception and afraid that their hdb will be worthless , they will be out of jobs , cuntry will falls.
sinkies mind set is fixed when it come to who should be the government , so they perfered to be shafted in the ass
and a slave to the system.
sinkies not only no balls , they lack dignity and righteousness of a human.

Old man love to gamble on horse, love batam.
Left with little saving...so downgrade.
No choice.

人不为己天诛地灭.
All Sinkies are self fish individuals, think about the benefit for me first before other things.