Agreed and unless come one day when we are able to witness poverty and widespread unemployment, PAP will not be toppled at the polls. Voters who are gainfully employed invariably will support the ruling party. Public sector employees generally are also beholden to vote for PAP and the government here happen to be the biggest employer. So PAP just have to ensure that unemployment rate remains low and those from the very low wage earners group continue to receive financial support through Workfare.
I once asked my wife exasperatedly what would make Sinkies wake up and vote for the opposition. She said exactly the same thing you said: when significantly large numbers of the
middle class are truly suffering – widespread poverty, unemployment, indebted to the hilt. Until then, you can assume that the PAP will be returned comfortably every election.
It all boils down to three attributes peculiar to Sinkies:
1. Sinkies are largely conservative.
2. The use of CPF as an escrow account for financing our sole property and healthcare means that there's precious little left for retirement. Coupled with the lack of social safety nets and low wages and the Govt's monopoly on the economy (civil service, stat boards & GLCs), the risks of changing the status quo are
perceived to be intolerably high, thus reinforcing the conservatism.
3. Ignorance – of our rights, of the requisites for good govt, of alternative modes of organizing society, of the ongoing positive transformations even in the most progressive societies like the Nordic nations ...
The above are the result of 50+ years of molly-coddling as well as the repression of fundamental rights and ham-fisted control of information by the PAP govt. The concentration of state power and finances in one man and his family facilitated this repression.
Even the so-called 'enlightened' bunch who post here regularly can't see beyond strait-jacketed tropes like having more opposition in Parliament or getting better returns on our CPF or ending the Lee dynasty. Their idea of political emancipation is plumbing for greater WP representation in Parliament, never mind that WP is as conservative as the PAP, if not even more so. Not that I have anything personal against WP – more oppo is always good in a dictatorship – but their ineffectuality must already be obvious even to their most diehard supporters.
Kiasu, kiasi, kpkb, frogs in a well. We'll never be like the Taiwanese or the South Koreans or even the Hong-Kongers. We truly deserve the govt we get.