• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious When is CPF going to do this?

Hold talk to answer questions from public about their investments.

Screenshot_2016-05-31-05-24-52_com.facebook.katana_1464643519093.jpg

PETALING JAYA: He came to the venue of a talk on the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) unannounced, and without any fanfare – he drove his own car to the car park and walked up to the hall without an entourage of escorts or officials to accompany him.

However, after a good 90 minutes, of which more than half the time was spent on answering questions from mostly retirees, the audience left feeling assured that their money was in safe hands.

The overwhelming factor in tilting the confidence of the audience towards Malaysia’s largest retirement fund manager is the way its chief executive Datuk Shahril Ridza Ridzuan handled the questions easily without a pause or hesitation.

Even the most sensitive of questions – which is whether the EPF has been told to do things by the Government was handled with ease.

Shahril, a 45-year-old Oxford-trained lawyer, said there was a dual-way check and balance mechanism between the Government and EPF.

“The Government cannot tell us what to invest in; the EPF decides for itself what to invest in. But we have to ask permission from the Government for any particular investment or asset class that we want to invest in, and the Government can say no to us.

“It works both ways. They cannot tell us what to do but they can say ‘no’ to any proposal that we put forth. It reflects the supervisory role of the Government, which takes the view that it still has the final say to ensure that the EPF doesn’t take too much risk,” he told the audience in reply to a question at the Star Media Group’s PowerTalk: Business Series on Saturday.

Answering a question on 1Malaysia Development Bhd (1MDB), Shahril said the EPF’s exposure was RM200mil in the form of Islamic bonds issued in 2009, when 1MDB was then still known as the Terengganu Investment Authority (TIA).

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10153237677667255&id=11450527254

Hold talk to answer questions from public about their investments.

View attachment 26874

PETALING JAYA: He came to the venue of a talk on the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) unannounced, and without any fanfare – he drove his own car to the car park and walked up to the hall without an entourage of escorts or officials to accompany him.

However, after a good 90 minutes, of which more than half the time was spent on answering questions from mostly retirees, the audience left feeling assured that their money was in safe hands.

The overwhelming factor in tilting the confidence of the audience towards Malaysia’s largest retirement fund manager is the way its chief executive Datuk Shahril Ridza Ridzuan handled the questions easily without a pause or hesitation.

Even the most sensitive of questions – which is whether the EPF has been told to do things by the Government was handled with ease.

Shahril, a 45-year-old Oxford-trained lawyer, said there was a dual-way check and balance mechanism between the Government and EPF.

“The Government cannot tell us what to invest in; the EPF decides for itself what to invest in. But we have to ask permission from the Government for any particular investment or asset class that we want to invest in, and the Government can say no to us.

“It works both ways. They cannot tell us what to do but they can say ‘no’ to any proposal that we put forth. It reflects the supervisory role of the Government, which takes the view that it still has the final say to ensure that the EPF doesn’t take too much risk,” he told the audience in reply to a question at the Star Media Group’s PowerTalk: Business Series on Saturday.

Answering a question on 1Malaysia Development Bhd (1MDB), Shahril said the EPF’s exposure was RM200mil in the form of Islamic bonds issued in 2009, when 1MDB was then still known as the Terengganu Investment Authority (TIA).

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10153237677667255&id=11450527254

While I am not sure if Singapore cpf board will hold any q and a. But I do know that the sing dollars against ringgit in the last five years has gone from 2.4 to 2.97. That's almost a depreciation of more than 20%. No amount of q and a would suffice.

Actually the difference is not that bad for EPF as their dividend rates declared for last 5 years are pretty high from 6% to 6.75%. So the compounded return over five years is 35.9%. After offset by 19. 2% exchange rate decline (based on your above rates) still got 9.8% nett return. Versus Spore CPF 2.5% compounded over five years return of 13.1% only difference by 3.3% lesser . But more importantly is the transparency offered by EPF and their attempt to benchmark dividend rate at 2% above inflation rate.

http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/about-epf/investment-highlights/dividend-rates/dividend-rates

"Now, at the current market condition, whereby interest rates around the world have collapsed, and uncertainties and volatilities make it is hard to earn decent returns from any form of investments, Shahril’s assertion that the EPF would strive to maintain its target of generating a dividend rate of 2% above inflation, was certainly comforting to many."

don't trust any bs from malaise-a. it's full of malaise and hogwash. the cuntry has not progressed one iota for the last 50 years.

Actually the difference is not that bad for EPF as their dividend rates declared for last 5 years are pretty high from 6% to 6.75%. So the compounded return over five years is 35.9%. After offset by 19. 2% exchange rate decline (based on your above rates) still got 9.8% nett return. Versus Spore CPF 2.5% compounded over five years return of 13.1% only difference by 3.3% lesser . But more importantly is the transparency offered by EPF and their attempt to benchmark dividend rate at 2% above inflation rate.

http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/about-epf/investment-highlights/dividend-rates/dividend-rates

U also have to factor in the difference in inflation rates. On average from 2011 to 2014, the average inflation rate for malaysia for these 4 years was 2.525%. For Singapore, it was 3.3% (officially. Unofficially maybe 6%). So actually, the Singapore CPF is in negative return for the last 4 years, which makes the EPF even better performing versus the CPF.

don't trust any bs from malaise-a. it's full of malaise and hogwash. the cuntry has not progressed one iota for the last 50 years.

But the official PAP govt figures for the last 4 years for inflation averaged 3.3% per annum. SInce you are only getting 2.5% return, you have been losing money every year. This part is not BS from malaysia. Just this fact alone makes the CPF look like shit compared to EPF.

Cannot follow EPF because pap needs the money for the Temasek and GIC.

But the official PAP govt figures for the last 4 years for inflation averaged 3.3% per annum. SInce you are only getting 2.5% return, you have been losing money every year. This part is not BS from malaysia. Just this fact alone makes the CPF look like shit compared to EPF.

if you have your money stuck in ringgit denomination and cannot be converted to other currencies in the epf the past 5 years you stand to lose substantially more than the difference in inflation rates.

What shit are you talking about? U mean sinkies looking to convert their CPF money to foreign currencies when they get it? Bullshit. they are spending it in their own country. No need for conversion.

fortunately i stash some cash in sgd in sg and not ringgit in ml, and it acts as a diverse part of my overall cash strategy, which only constitutes 1/5 of total global assets. otherwise it's too risky to keep all the cash in usd as lately it took a tumble while sgd and yen gained strength. since i travel frequently to asia, it's prudent to have ready cash in each cuntry (except loser malaise-a) instead of losing some every time currency is exchanged. with sgd, i hardly suffer any losses.

69.9 kunt kount but never mind. u noe the saddest part? they try to act smart ... roflmao

Wat we want is transparency!

How can CPF hold our money (RA) until age 65?

How come we are not allow to withdraw our money totally at age 65?

Its our money...we can decide...we have spine!

fortunately i stash some cash in sgd in sg and not ringgit in ml, and it acts as a diverse part of my overall cash strategy, which only constitutes 1/5 of total global assets. otherwise it's too risky to keep all the cash in usd as lately it took a tumble while sgd and yen gained strength. since i travel frequently to asia, it's prudent to have ready cash in each cuntry (except loser malaise-a) instead of losing some every time currency is exchanged. with sgd, i hardly suffer any losses.

No one gives a shit what u stash and what your investment strategy is. foreign currency conversion is not an issue to sinkies and their CPF money, ok? Unless they are taking in one lump sum after renounce.

epf denominated in ringgit depreciates in value over the long term relative to other currencies, especially the sgd, so the longer a malaise-an's money is stuck there for decades, the final value upon withdrawal may not compensate for the difference in inflation rates used between the cpf and epf. that is if one compares a sinkie spending his cpf savings with a malaise-an spending his epf savings in malaise-a. there's no fight over the long term as the ringgit will continue to lose its value.

Based on my experience, I rather trust the Msia govt any time compared to trusting mudlanders who did wrong to others by building illegal extension and keeping 5 dogs barking non-stop and yet did harm to others by all sorts of dirty tricks. No conscience no repentance and shameless to boast about BBQ and winning others via dirty tricks. In comparison, the Msia govt consumer court has helped me to seek justice against one mudlander Chinese conman who wanted to cheat me by non delivery of hob that is part of package deal when I paid for full package. And you are wrong , the country infrastructure has progressed for the last 50 years. What has not progressed is the people who are litter bugs littering everywhere as long as outside their house, barbarians who cut queue at custom or hog emergency lane as normal lane to cut queue, tell lies and half truths of others to paint horrible picture of others whom they dislike but did not harm them and the list goes on and on.

U also have to factor in the difference in inflation rates. On average from 2011 to 2014, the average inflation rate for malaysia for these 4 years was 2.525%. For Singapore, it was 3.3% (officially. Unofficially maybe 6%). So actually, the Singapore CPF is in negative return for the last 4 years, which makes the EPF even better performing versus the CPF.

So their inflation rate only 2.5% and their EPF return have been above 6% for last 4 years. That means their EPF return has doubled target investment return of 2% above inflation. Superb performance.

Based on my experience, I rather trust the Msia govt any time compared to trusting mudlanders who did wrong to others by building illegal extension and keeping 5 dogs barking non-stop and yet did harm to others by all sorts of dirty tricks. No conscience no repentance to boast about BBQ and winning others via dirty tricks. In comparison, the Msia govt consumer court has helped me to seek justice against one mudlander Chinese conman who wanted to cheat me by non delivery of hob that is part of package deal when I paid for full package. And you are wrong , the country infrastructure has progressed for the last 50 years. What has not progressed is the people who are litter bugs littering everywhere as long as outside their house, barbarians who cut queue at custom or hog emergency lane as normal lane to cut queue, tell lies of others whom they dislike but did not harm them and the list goes on and on.

the ringgit will take a severe beating over the next few decades. no matter what malaise-ans do, their retirement funds denominated in ringgit will never see light of day at the time of lump sum cash out. it's a currency you wish to not hold right now before it loses more value.

Wat we want is transparency!

How can CPF hold our money (RA) until age 65?

How come we are not allow to withdraw our money totally at age 65?

Its our money...we can decide...we have spine!

Look at how graceful Msia govt is to raise retirement age to 60 and yet still allows the option of full withdrawal at age 55.

"In conjunction with the new retirement age of 60, from Jan 1, 2017, the EPF would introduce the Age-60 withdrawal, while the option for full-withdrawal at 55 would remain."

So their inflation rate only 2.5% and their EPF return have been above 6% for last 4 years. That means their EPF return has doubled target investment return of 2% above inflation. Superb performance.

all the paper differences mean shit if the ringgit collapses, and it will.