• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

When i was in HK

Fresh pork prices is now as expensive as beef. Perhaps your party or any opposition party should do a thorough investigation.

I don't think it's a direct result from the restrictions of import from Malaysia as that is already more then 20 years ago. It is what happens after. We really want to know, how many players are there today, and the various reasons that leads to the cost today.

Pork prices has been the main meat source for the Chinese and pretty sure many of our heart-landers are outrage by today's pork price.

Hi Glaringly,

It has something to do with the ban on Malaysian Pork. The ban is totally outdated and unwarranted. The reason for banning has expired long time ago but still in place.

On the other hand, pork import from Indonesia has been in the hands of a handful players. Obviously, these players wouldn't want the ban of Malaysian Pork to be lifted. As the one main source of supply, obviously they could command super normal profits for pork and this is why we are seeing very high prices for pork in Singapore.

There are actually more to that but before I can gather more evidences, I will refrain from commenting for the time being.

Goh Meng Seng

After 50 years China will become a full fledge democracy like USA!

Who knows?

===

won't happen....total democracy will result in chaos. Back to the turbulent warlord times. Already with communism (like now) - its not totally united and controlled.

Hi Glaringly,

It has something to do with the ban on Malaysian Pork. The ban is totally outdated and unwarranted. The reason for banning has expired long time ago but still in place.

On the other hand, pork import from Indonesia has been in the hands of a handful players. Obviously, these players wouldn't want the ban of Malaysian Pork to be lifted. As the one main source of supply, obviously they could command super normal profits for pork and this is why we are seeing very high prices for pork in Singapore.

There are actually more to that but before I can gather more evidences, I will refrain from commenting for the time being.

Goh Meng Seng

Dun talk about pork leh. Talk about Hong Kong. I have good impression of Hong Kong.

In Hk, i watch the world cup live on TV. The commentors are funny and they have a team to talk and discuss about the world cup after and before the matches, very professional and entertaining.

It is free.

In sg, you can only watch in the internet.

I saw the Hong Kong Federation of Trade Union, recruiting people to join them. This is their basic democratic human rghts to do that.

Hk people are nice and helpful for directions, you cen feel the sincerity in their help.

The dress sense of ladies are filled with different styles and colours. very different from the boring look of sg.

I think that is due to the democratic environment of the HK society that allow the citizens there to free their mind for more creativity. Nice!!!!

Hk people walk fast and do things fast. The economy is run more on the monentary side of the economy than the very heavy fiscal SG. The HK people will be able to see the direct result of their laziness if they slack, so their economic GDP is more truthful that the sg ones.

That is my view of HK.

So you shook the hand of Jackie Chan? Go live there then. Nobody's stopping you.

Dun talk about pork leh. Talk about Hong Kong. I have good impression of Hong Kong.

Haha... ok, for Hong Kong, the only BIG problem is the price of a decent flat. As you are not entitled to rental flats there, you may find the private flats very expensive. But this should be compared with the private flats in Singapore, instead of HDB.

Choose some bigger development (10 flats or more in the cluster) so that you can enjoy a clubhouse with swimming pools and gym.

Though expensive in terms of per square feet, you will get convenience in return... from public transport to amenities. most services are within walking distance and they do not need to "BEG" the HK government to build covered walkways. ;)

One consolation is that you can save on owning a car if you live right above a MTR station. Such savings could trade off part of the high housing expenses. Don't try to own a car in Hong Kong else the parking fees will kill you! You will need to BUY a car park space in your housing estate if you own a car! Yes, unlike Singapore's condos, you do not automatically own a car park space even if you buy an apartment there. And parking fees in town can cost you as much as S$8-10 per hour.

There are of course alternative cheaper living space in the New Territories. It depends on your ability to afford.

Winter can be a bit cold for Singaporeans who are not used to low temperatures of less than 15 or even 10 Degree Celsius. The coldest winter I have experienced is about 6-7 degree Celsius.

Avoid living in HK island because it can be very expensive. Electricity can cost more in HK island. Staying in Kowloon could cut cost substantially.

Goh Meng Seng

Even if you don't speak Cantonese that well, I find that HK people still treat you pretty good. I always said, sek ting, kong xiu xiu. My Cantonese isn't that great, but when I use a little once in a while to communicate you can see that they respected you. Good on you for being able to speak Cantonese well and being able to enjoy what HK has to offer. I think a big disservice that the PAP has done is the elimination of the dialects in Singapore. Most kids in Singapore nowadays can't even speak mandarin well, let alone their own native tongue, the dialects. It truly is very sad that knowing a bit of dialects could help you meet more people contacts.

Well, unless you behave well and polite with them. I can speak cantonese well, so that adds up and they were surprise that i can speak cantonese and i am not from HK.

I had a wonderful chat with the taxi driver and many of the HK people i bumed into are really nice to me, maybe it is partly that i know the cantonese dialect and speak it.

Most of the people wish me having a fun time ahead. Really nice.

Goh Meng Seng

Ok, thanks.

About Hong Kong.

I have some very bad experiences, with the many visit there in the 80/90s. The image may improve reading some of the posts here.

But I like to question why on earth do you want to make HK your home, unless you have relatives there? Besides the weather which is nice comparing to Singapore, everything else is pretty much the same, save the political culture.

And also the uncertainty when China takes over, and why not go to one of the Chinese province like one had suggested, if you are not concern about China rule.

Ok, thanks.

About Hong Kong.

I have some very bad experiences, with the many visit there in the 80/90s. The image may improve reading some of the posts here.

But I like to question why on earth do you want to make HK your home, unless you have relatives there? Besides the weather which is nice comparing to Singapore, everything else is pretty much the same, save the political culture.

And also the uncertainty when China takes over, and why not go to one of the Chinese province like one had suggested, if you are not concern about China rule.

i was born in a cantonese-speaking family in sg. the only time i speak cantonese is with my family. When in hk, everyone speaks cantonese, i feel that everyone is my family over there. i love it there and the family feeling i have there.

Plus the real democratic culture,the girls and everything cantonese. I like the way they behave, talk and act. And you know why they work so hard and do things fast, and talk so loud, that is the cantonese chinese way.

Ever since that economic crisis of 1997/98, HK people changed their attitude. The service sector improved tremendously. This you have to give it to the HK people for being so adaptive and their strong survival drive.

everything else is pretty much the same, save the political culture.

Not just. Public transport wise, HK is many times better than Sg. Beside the efficient MTR, there are many buses and mini-buses to many places. You have options. Also, taxis are plentiful and there is no surcharge after midnight (or CBD or peak hour). No minister will come out and say must cut long-haul route for buses or tell its people that walking 400m to the bus stop is "near".

At any time of the day or even after midnight, you can always find hot food (not just 24 hours McDonald's) within walking distance.

If you are a pop concert buff, tickets in HK are almost half price as that in Sg.:)

i was born in a cantonese-speaking family in sg. the only time i speak cantonese is with my family. When in hk, everyone speaks cantonese, i feel that everyone is my family over there. i love it there and the family feeling i have there.

You speak good English too, very much all English country can be your family too.;)

You might want to think long and hard, not just language.

Not just. Public transport wise, HK is many times better than Sg. Beside the efficient MTR, there are many buses and mini-buses to many places. You have options. Also, taxis are plentiful and there is no surcharge after midnight (or CBD or peak hour). No minister will come out and say must cut long-haul route for buses or tell its people that walking 400m to the bus stop is "near".

At any time of the day or even after midnight, you can always find hot food (not just 24 hours McDonald's) within walking distance.:)

Agreed on the mini-bus, one of my good impression and not forgetting the cat III show was on my mind all the time while in Hong Kong during the 80s.;)

Food wise, not too sure though, Singapore has lots of 24 hours coffeeshops swaping flies. May be because of the late night culture over there.

Well, unless you behave well and polite with them. I can speak cantonese well, so that adds up and they were surprise that i can speak cantonese and i am not from HK.

I had a wonderful chat with the taxi driver and many of the HK people i bumed into are really nice to me, maybe it is partly that i know the cantonese dialect and speak it.

Most of the people wish me having a fun time ahead. Really nice.

1. you seems to have some impression on hk.
2. yes, many of your observations are pretty sharp and accurate.
3. however, did you have a chance to look at hk apartment?
4. you could be in for a shock as compared to those in sheepishland.
5. yes, of course, hk is 200% more vibrant than here.
6. you must not only speak canto but you need to be witty and swift, to
survive in hk.

a large part is due to the entrepreneur spirit inherent in the Hong Kong people. Rather than sitting around and complain about things, they actually do take it upon themselves to do something. Not that they won't complain or protest, they actually do.

Like they always say - Hong Kong will survive, they survived japanese occupation, they survived HK handover, they survived SARS - the government played a lesser role in all the above scenerios than Singapore.

Thats why comparatively, HK gives a more creative buzz and live. Hell, their Causeway Bay is anytime more happening than Orchard Road.

International Agencies have affirmed HK's efficiency yet you see randomness around - little cafes popped up here and there, you see roadside stalls, flea markets...you cannot find that in Singapore.

They don't have as many taxis in HK than Singapore, yet its not difficult to get a cab. Taxi fares are not expensive and it is not as complex as Singapore. In fact, taxi licenses are strictly controlled and its not easy to get one and mostly don't give up.

All their buses are air-con and they are efficient - and given the high prices, you can still afford to take a tram (2 HKD). Their cross-harbour ferry is cheap - a scenic and affordable alternative - also i think HKD2.

When I was there last weekend , i even commented to my counterpart, the Octopus card is so prevalent, you can pay almost everything with it. Unlike Singapore, where paying carpark alone, some cashcards cannot be used.

All the above are facts - none of which are untrue. And these are the things that Singapore ought to learn, since our leaders like to compare ourselves so much against them.

a large part is due to the entrepreneur spirit inherent in the Hong Kong people. Rather than sitting around and complain about things, they actually do take it upon themselves to do something. Not that they won't complain or protest, they actually do.

This is largely due to Singapore scene is dominated by GLC group of companies. And too many dos and don't.

:rolleyes: