• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What should the upcoming Budget comprise of?

silverfox@

The upcoming budget is on Thursday if I am not mistaken.
How the economy kickstarts depends on the budget package.

1) I would think a reduction in Employer CPF which can keep many people's jobs, instead of them being retrenched. However the reduction must be reviewed yearly and restored when economy is better.

2) To encourage spending, there is a need to encourage lending. Banks are depleted from the financial crisis, that is why loans are reduced. Because of this, there are rumours in banking industry that retrenchment which may not happen to them may eventually happen.

3) Helping SMEs will help reduce their burden as I think many of them are contemplating retrenchment after chinese new year

Please, no suggestions of increasing handouts like a couple of few hundreds as that cannot kickstart anything and only deem as a short term solution.

congo9

1) I would think a reduction in Employer CPF which can keep many people's jobs, instead of them being retrenched. However the reduction must be reviewed yearly and restored when economy is better.

2) To encourage spending, there is a need to encourage lending. Banks are depleted from the financial crisis, that is why loans are reduced. Because of this, there are rumours in banking industry that retrenchment which may not happen to them may eventually happen.

3) Helping SMEs will help reduce their burden as I think many of them are contemplating retrenchment after chinese new year

Please, no suggestions of increasing handouts like a couple of few hundreds as that cannot kickstart anything and only deem as a short term solution.
Here in Singapore , everything is so interlink ! U ask them to cut the rental for all the offices and businesses. But all these companies are govt backed. How to cut rental ? If they cut rental , that means all the major property player like capital mall , will have a cut in profit. U ask them to cut utilities , but SIng power is own by Temesak Holding. so .....

Cut the crap short , in one full circle , it all back to the govt. They are the biggest land lord in Singapore.

congo9

answer is NO.

Just cut the pay for the TOP civil servant and political office holder by another 40% and stop giving obscene amt of budget to mindef ! That will solve a lot of problem !

lolabunny

answer is NO.

Just cut the pay for the TOP civil servant and political office holder by another 40% and stop giving obscene amt of budget to mindef ! That will solve a lot of problem !

So we don't need to see needless intellectual banter about the budget on this thread anymore?

Because i'm frankly very sick of low grade analysis in sinkieland.

However, if it serves to keep people ignorant and "lesser mortal", then ... :cool:

silverfox@

Here in Singapore , everything is so interlink ! U ask them to cut the rental for all the offices and businesses. But all these companies are govt backed. How to cut rental ? If they cut rental , that means all the major property player like capital mall , will have a cut in profit. U ask them to cut utilities , but SIng power is own by Temesak Holding. so .....

Cut the crap short , in one full circle , it all back to the govt. They are the biggest land lord in Singapore.

Seriously I haven't seen any country in this world where the govt administers rentals cuts across the board or maybe I do not know of any.

But I was thinking hard as to what can actually kickstart the economy when tourism is not a viable option due to the fact that many countries such as Japan, America, European countries themselves are having in the red too.
Tourists are cutting back on travels.

And in any case, it's never wrong to go with spending in the country to boost its economy, just a matter of what alternatives can we see that can kickstart such a move.

lolabunny

Seriously I haven't seen any country in this world where the govt administers rentals cuts across the board or maybe I do not know of any.

But I was thinking hard as to what can actually kickstart the economy when tourism is not a viable option due to the fact that many countries such as Japan, America, European countries themselves are having in the red too.
Tourists are cutting back on travels.

And in any case, it's never wrong to go with spending in the country to boost its economy, just a matter of what alternatives can we see that can kickstart such a move.

The answer is nothing can kickstart the economy for the lesser mortals. This is an economic deadlock. :biggrin:

However, for institutions, the influx of "pte banking" money will help. We may see more shops selling trinkets with no business but still being able to operate in the future. These types of shops will help the economy, the corporate landlords and the country. Use your imagination. :smile:

Btw if you say tourism is not an option, does it mean that the casino is not going to bring in tourists? Don't geddit.

silverfox@

The answer is nothing can kickstart the economy for the lesser mortals. This is an economic deadlock. :biggrin:

However, for institutions, the influx of "pte banking" money will help. We may see more shops selling trinkets with no business but still being able to operate in the future. These types of shops will help the economy, the corporate landlords and the country. Use your imagination. :smile:
There will be something. Thinking that there is no answer is tantamount to waiting for death or God to help.

Btw if you say tourism is not an option, does it mean that the casino is not going to bring in tourists? Don't geddit.

We are talking about the immediate NOW. Not wait till the IR comes up. :p

Congo, ahhh, You beginning to see the truth.

The only way to invest in such a market is to know the sinkie Lord personally and have good connection with him. Then no matter how the economy goes, you will always profit from any transaction.

No need to understand market and the pricing, all these are bullshit. These market and pricing are only for real and truthful economies that are free from such disturbance.

lolabunny

There will be something. Thinking that there is no answer is tantamount to waiting for death or God to help.

We are talking about the immediate NOW. Not wait till the IR comes up. :p

There is nothing lah. You must understand that there are people waiting for death in this world.

1. Heartache type -- lost the love of his life and pining away till he dies

2. Poor type -- too poor to seek treatment for illness, so lan lan waiting to die

3. Bored retiree type -- waiting to die but pretending that it's called Golden Years! *yeah right* :wink:

4. Bored teenage type -- not waiting to die but wasting time studying, just to be the masses of over-educated but unemployed people in future. See China and Korea for PHD people applying to be road sweeper

5. Bored married type --
a. scared woman's charter but no balls run road with foreign girls, like some guys (got balls type) w/o divorcing.
b. Meanwhile happy happy go GL to find chickens or online to find FLs.
c. Some end up falling in love with FL/WL, so go to "matters of the heart" to seek solace with other bros in the same boat.
d. Find FB (FOC sex) or cheong KTV
e. Pick up hobbies or play with kids by bringing them to shopping centres or the swimming pool (actually to oggle babes)

Ok smart guys of the forum, what is that something? If you say it here first, you can always say the greater mortals copy you later on. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

chewed

People are not spending cos they are not sure if they will be retrenched.

Bloody banks need to wake up their ideas and start lending $$$ to SMEs again, else after CNY, you can see many SMEs close shop.

lolabunny

People are not spending cos they are not sure if they will be retrenched.

Bloody banks need to wake up their ideas and start lending $$$ to SMEs again, else after CNY, you can see many SMEs close shop.

If banks lend to companies which fold then how? :cool: