• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What really happened in KL 45 years ago?

metalslug

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/4016-what-really-happened-in-kl-45-years-ago

What really happened in KL 45 years ago?
Monday, 16 August 2010
Singapore Democrats

tunku.jpg

Now that the festivities for the National Day is over, it may be an appropriate time to re-visit, in a more sober manner, the matter of how Singapore gained its independence four-and-a-half decades ago.

Singaporeans, young and old, have been told that it was Malaysia who had kicked us out of the federation in 1965 after the late Tunku Abdul Rahman, then prime minister of Malaysia, felt it was no longer viable – even dangerous – for Singapore to remain as part of the country.

A young and teary eyed Lee Kuan Yew who was then prime minister of Singapore (his title itself seemed out of place as it was difficult to see how one country could have two prime ministers) mourned the expulsion: "For me it is a moment of anguish. All my life... my whole adult life...I have believed in merger..."

There have been some revelations since that fateful day that raise questions about some long-held notions about the split.

Author T J S George, for example, recounted in his book Lee Kuan Yew's Singapore published in 1974 that the Tunku was more surprised than he was moved when he saw Mr Lee in tears over the break-up. The Tungku said: "I don't know why Mr Lee acted like that...he was quite pleased about [the split]."

Mr George added that Mr Lee had gone to Kuala Lumpur himself to see the Malaysian prime minister about Singapore's stormy relations with its neighbour. A day later, he called some of his cabinet colleagues (the late) S Rajaratnam, then Minister for Culture, and Dr Toh Chin Chye, former deputy prime minister and the founding chairman of the PAP.

Mr Lee had called for them to meet him in Kuala Lumpur. The author writes that Mr Lee arranged it so that his two ministers did not travel together. The question is why. Unless Mr Lee did not want them to anticipate the development and to discuss the matter?

Whatever it was, Dr Toh was, just like the Tungku, befuddled when he saw Mr Lee's anguished TV reaction to the split: "I don't know why he was crying."

Dr Toh, other than Mr Lee, is the sole survivor of the meeting in Kuala Lumpur. He is privy to all the goings-on when the decision was made for Singapore and Malaysia to go separate ways. If anyone knows what's going on, it is him.

But the former deputy prime minister isn't talking and will probably carry the secret to his grave. Dr Toh had a falling out with Mr Lee Kuan Yew in the 1980s and was relegated to to the backbench. In fact Dr Toh had subsequently thrown his support behind Mr Francis Seow when the former solicitor-general contested as an opposition candidate in the 1988 elections.

More recently, The Online Citizen reported that Mr Lee had warned the press http://theonlinecitizen.com/2010/07/do-not-print-pictures-of-me-smiling-lee-kuan-yew/ when he made the announcement of the separation.

That's an odd threat. Why would Mr Lee be afraid of being photographed smiling if he was sorrowful?

Most recently at Dr Goh Keng Swee's funeral, the Minister Mentor revealed that it was Goh who had carried out negotiations with Malaysia and that it was Goh who had made the decision to take Singapore out of the federation.

But Goh was not the prime minister. How is it that he became the one to conduct the negotations leading to the separation? A journalist asked why Mr Lee revealed this piece of information only when Goh was dead (see here).

Clearly the story that Malaysia kicked Singapore out of the union and the role Mr Lee played in it is a lot more complex than what we have been told thus far. Questions abound but, unfortunately, answers are not forthcoming.

Although it makes for some interesting read, is there any reason to even examine this issue?

Moving out of MY is the best thing that ever happened to this red dot, period!!!! The old man may have his own motive, hell, he's a politician, confirm got own motive for the split. Ultimately it worked out to be a good move for us.

To reopen a case like this will just bring attention back to the times the PAP actually did well and pull us from 3rd to 1st world. Instead of doing that SDP should do something more constructive and focus on the real problems of today.

Problems like the floods in SG, questions like where that $180m extra money for the YOG went to. Questions like the influx of foreigners, is there an end in sight. Issues like the income disparity.

Instead of doing this SDP focus on stupid issues like "more rights for FTs" seriously, look at how/why we split from MY, seriously, WTF. Come back to reality and ask valid questions ignore stupid issues which the average Singaporean do not care about

Let the historians worry about history.

Although it makes for some interesting read, is there any reason to even examine this issue?

Moving out of MY is the best thing that ever happened to this red dot, period!!!! The old man may have his own motive, hell, he's a politician, confirm got own motive for the split. Ultimately it worked out to be a good move for us.

To reopen a case like this will just bring attention back to the times the PAP actually did well and pull us from 3rd to 1st world. Instead of doing that SDP should do something more constructive and focus on the real problems of today.

Problems like the floods in SG, questions like where that $180m extra money for the YOG went to. Questions like the influx of foreigners, is there an end in sight. Issues like the income disparity.

Instead of doing this SDP focus on stupid issues like "more rights for FTs" seriously, look at how/why we split from MY, seriously, WTF. Come back to reality and ask valid questions ignore stupid issues which the average Singaporean do not care about

Let the historians worry about history.

IT is of the utmost importance to show that LKY and his fascist PAP always found it hard to tell the truth.

The populace by large today know this. The more we know about LKY and his dastardly ways, including enriching his wife's law firm and family members, the better it is for Singapore in the long run.

Who are you to decide that Singapore is better off without Malaysia. Your own GCT said many years ago that a re-merger with Malaysia is the future for Singapore.

Actually the reason for this re-examination is contained in the book by Poh Soo Kai and others - the Fajar generation - based on his interpretation of British documents from Selkirk and others, Dr Poh argued that the only reason that the merger occured was to quash all opposition to LKY and his buddies. Once Operation Coldstore had been put into place, then there was no reason to continue in Malaysia and this is evidenced by all the back-tracking on the contributions to Sabah and Sarawak etc.

The Barisan had pointed out that taking Singapore into Malaysia on the terms that were negotiated was a recipe for racial riots and disasters and they were right.

The reason this is still relevant is that it suggests a terrible thought - that some people are so intent on hanging on to power that they risk the wellbeing of the people, racial riots, economic dislocation etc. That they are willing to bring in a host of new citizens just to ensure their continued electoral dominance despite the near-universal concerns of the citizenry.

This cannot be true and we can only hope that it is not....

Actually the reason for this re-examination is contained in the book by Poh Soo Kai and others - the Fajar generation - based on his interpretation of British documents from Selkirk and others, Dr Poh argued that the only reason that the merger occured was to quash all opposition to LKY and his buddies. Once Operation Coldstore had been put into place, then there was no reason to continue in Malaysia and this is evidenced by all the back-tracking on the contributions to Sabah and Sarawak etc.

The Barisan had pointed out that taking Singapore into Malaysia on the terms that were negotiated was a recipe for racial riots and disasters and they were right.

The reason this is still relevant is that it suggests a terrible thought - that some people are so intent on hanging on to power that they risk the wellbeing of the people, racial riots, economic dislocation etc. That they are willing to bring in a host of new citizens just to ensure their continued electoral dominance despite the near-universal concerns of the citizenry.

This cannot be true and we can only hope that it is not....

The recent unveiling of state documents in UK show alot of what happened during the 50s and 60s and how dastardly LKY was.

LKY has already said many times that his goal is to make every Singapore work very hard throughout their lives and only think about work nd paying off their bills. He has said this on countless occasions and people still question why Singaporeans do not have enough CPF. Why housing is so expensive. Why we have so many FTs.

The PAP is a fascist political party. They are a very dangerous type of political party. Like all fascists, the PAP are opportunistic, calculative and are willing to do almost anything to stay in power.

Which is why I keep writing that we have to know that the PAP are a fascist political party. They are not a political party that believes in democracy. They are not communists even though they believe in single party rule and to have a state controlled media. The PAP are worse than communists because they are fascists.

Please read on fascism online and you will find a lot of similarities between the PAP system and a typical fascist state.

IT is of the utmost importance to show that LKY and his fascist PAP always found it hard to tell the truth.

How important can bringing back such past be? would this bring down prices? would such discussion control inflation?

best part is: does the public in general wnat to know abt it?

If the answer for all thesen is a huge NO, then all this is nothing but empty talk and a waste of time.

Pls do something productive, or else dun do anything at all if whatever u r doing does not produce actual results.

Imagine you grew up thinking that your father had walked out on the family because that was what your mother told you. You hate your father and anything associated with him. You have talents which relatives tell you are like those your father had, and you suppress these talents in anger.

You grow up frustrated because of this negativity surrounding you, even though you do well in a field your mother has pushed you into.

One day, you dig up your back garden to find a human skeleton which the police later identify to be your father's, and further investigations show that your mother had killed him in a fit of anger over money.

Would the truth not be important in this case?

How important can bringing back such past be? would this bring down prices? would such discussion control inflation?

If the answer for all thesen is a huge NO, then all this is nothing but empty talk and a waste of time.

Pls do something productive, or else dun do anything at all if whatever u r doing does not produce actual results.

I know your friend Ng Eng Hen can bring down the price of oil. I can only promise a better life and a future that you and your children will look forward to.

Does the general public want to know?
What kind of a cock PAPy question is that? All your questions are cock typical PAPy irrelevant questions.

What the APs and their supporters need to do is to disprove the fallacy that the PAPies are working for the good of the people. For the past 20+ years, the population has been unhappy with the PAP ministers. But come erection time, they still get voted in.

One major reason is that there is still a large percentage of Singaporeans who foolishly thought that the PAPies may be arseholes but they were still in it for the good of Singapore.

Fast forward to today and a large number of Singaporeans know better and they know that the PAPies are a bunch of mercenaries with little care for the country other than themselves and their lackeys.

I hope we can educate and enlighten the truth about LKY and the PAPies and how they are a bunch of fascists who cannot be trusted for the better of the masses.

I hope that Singaporeans know what motivates LKY and his party members. Every little thing to build a divide between the people's ambitions as individuals and as a country and the morals and ambitions of the PAPies is a move in the right direction.

We can win the next GE. The PAPies must not be allowed to continue destroying the country and the people that helped build it.

Hey ISD dog,

Why is it important to know the past? To know the past is to know the future.

The liar LKY has been trumpeting his achievements, omnipotence, omniscience, truthfulness, fight and care for the ppl, etc to foolish sinkies... who took everything in, his lies, hooks, and stinkers.

If only sinkies had been more discerning. He wasn't really fighting for the ppl. He wasn't really caring for them. He wasn't answerable to the ppl. He was not and is still not accountable for his actions. He has been lying all the while.

Instead he let the prices of most things to go up. He caused the cost of living to rise for most sinkies. He instituted and was the instrumental in making sinkies poor and indebt till their dying days. All sinkies have high mortgages to settle, unending bills to pay, children's medicals to attend to, unsecured jobs to worry, uncertain futures to ponder, etc...

Literally inflation is running out of control! Our salaries have not been able to keep up with the cost of living. Prices spiralling out of control is his doing!

Can we continue to believe this LIAR?

The answer is a huge NO! All his claims are lies and empty talk and a waste of time!

Hey ISD dog,

Why is it important to know the past? To know the past is to know the future.

Instead he let the prices of most things to go up. He caused the cost of living to rise for most sinkies. He instituted and was the instrumental in making sinkies poor and indebt till their dying days. All sinkies have high mortgages to settle, unending bills to pay, children's medicals to attend to, unsecured jobs to worry, uncertain futures to ponder, etc...

Literally inflation is running out of control! Our salaries have not been able to keep up with the cost of living. Prices spiralling out of control is his doing!

Can we continue to believe this LIAR?

The answer is a huge NO! All his claims are lies and empty talk and a waste of time!

LKY has said on many occasions that he wants Singaporeans to work and work and only think of paying their bills. To him, the majority of Singaporeans are only good as long as they can work and help the economy. Even old people in their 70s are told to work.

The population has to now the truth about not just LKY but the PAP. Everyone should know what fascism is and why the PAP is a fascist political party and why we should be wary of them.

The PAP puts itself first and the country second. The people must know this and then have an option to remove the PAP from power at the next GE.

We can win the next GE. Tpublic of the PAPies must not be allowed to continue destroying the country and the people that helped build it.

People like us, who had gone through refrerendum, confrontation, Indepedence, May 13, built what is now known as the Republic of SINgapore, with our blood, sweat & tears.

Shame, that many are still blind to see, what they had worked for, & is still working for...is slipping away or already gone from their grasp...

instead of Republic of SINgapore...we have the People' Republic of China, Republic of India, Islamic Republic of Bangladesh, Republic of the Union of Mynamar (Burma) etc..

instead of Republic of SINgapore...we once work for, serve for & live for, DIE FOR....:eek:

Harry had an insatiable appetite for power. if sinkieland remained in the merger, there'd be no place for a 2nd PM. he wouldve been relegated to just a minor position in the cabinet, while a mutt wouldve been put in place to govern sinkieland.

in order for Harry to have power, sinkieland had to split from the federation. #period