• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What PM Lee DID NOT ADDRESS in NDR Speech

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
The following message has been posted on the internet forum today. This is a common outcry from many people, not only those in their 40s but now, even those in their 20s and 30s.

While Mr. Lee Kuan Yew tried his very best to address this touchy issue of Foreign Talent Policy which drew many sarcastic and even talk back remarks in the internet forums (of course SPH would not report on such responses), his son, Prime Minister Lee, chose to skip this issue altogether.

Religious harmony issue isn't the main key concern of True Blue Singaporeans now as it was 40 years ago. It may still be a sticky issue to those NEW citizens who have yet to get used to the compact multi-racial living environment, but I do not think those who are born in Singapore and live through most of their lives here have any problems with their other race residents at all.

The main key tension in our society now is about losing jobs to CHEAP FOREIGN LABOUR SUBSTITUTES. We will welcome REAL FOREIGN TALENTS who could do jobs that Singaporeans may not have the expertise in, so that we could learn from them. We would not have any problem to even pay them more in terms of salary because they have the skills that we don't have. But there so many thousands, even tens of thousands of Singapore workers who are displaced by CHEAPER FOREIGN LABOUR that it is becoming a very common talking point of the town!

This is the main key point of grievances of Singaporeans nowadays. It is impossible for us to accept that kind of pay that they are paying these foreign workers basically because we have a house mortgage and a family to support in this high cost city!

Ironically, the influx of foreign talents have affected the property prices in Singapore as well. They have even affected the prices of new HDB flats! The HDB's pricing mechanism of "market subsidy" is totally flawed. Foreign workers who have become Permanent Residents increased demand on the HDB resale market. But the supply in HDB resale market is pretty stagnant basically because Singaporeans bought their HDB flats to live, not to invest, speculate or for resale. Thus we have witness the HDB resale price being sticky upwards even during this recession basically because the supply is stagnant while the demand keeps pressure up by NEW Permanent Residents.

In the end, the prices of NEW HDB flats which are basically meant for Singaporeans are kept in high price levels when it is pegged against the resale market prices. With such pricing mechanism, the Foreign Talent Policy has contributed to higher HDB prices, Lower wages and it makes young people to think twice before getting marriage. And when Singaporeans are not getting married earlier and have less babies, PAP insists that we need even more Foreign workers! This will become a big vicious cycle in the end!

Apparently the Prime Minister and his Cabinet do not have a solution to reverse this vicious cycle and thus refrain from mentioning about the SOCIAL and HOUSING problems created by their Foreign Talent policy. But such ostrich attitude will not keep the problems away. It will become more serious in the years to come but no one knows when will be the boiling point.

Goh Meng Seng

----- Original Message -----
Sent: Monday, August 17, 2009 1:03 AM
Subject: RE: Bitter guy blogs about it

I am an engineer. Over the past year, I have been squeezed out of my job by cheaper Chinese, Malaysian and Indian engineers.

To them, $2000 is much when they remit back home.
To me, I can’t even afford a HDB, as frugal as I try to be, because the foreigners keeps driving home prices up on a daily basis.

To add insult to injury, more of the foreign graduates replacing me had their university fees paid by our very own Ministry of Education. These graduates were not only given free college education, they were even given a month allowance of few hundred dollars each. While I had to work part time to support my education in NUS, and I still remain in debt to my student loan. (BITTER LAUGH!!!!).

I spent 2.5 years of my precious youth serving the SAF, during which I lost my first girlfriend during training. These foreigners were given PRs and citizenship in less than 2.5 years and they don’t even need to serve.

If war breaks out, I have to protect 1/3 of the population filled with these people?? (Assuming they dun run away at the 1st sign of trouble??!!) SAF even sent me a letter threatening to fine me for going overseas without telling them…to attend a funeral of my uncle…(BITTER LAUGH!!!!).

Hey, here’s an idea, why don’t I migrate to another country before migrating back. That will save me more time!

I am working in odds jobs now 7 days a week. I am now almost 30 already. Inflation exceed my savings rate, and I find a home, marriage, kids and happy future beyond me. A simple illness or a year of unemployment could wipe me out. Yet the government is wondering why there are less marriages and births….(BITTER LAUGH!!!!)

I bear no love to my country now. My country does not need to be attacked, it has already be invaded and taken over.

>>>The main key tension in our society now is about losing jobs to CHEAP FOREIGN LABOUR SUBSTITUTES. <<<

Stop calling the FTrash cheap! Stop this mindset. They are as expensive if not more expensive than Sporns. The fcuking problem has evolved from one of cost to the entire rank and file of local businesses and the GeeAlSees infested with FTrash that they are openly reserving educational and job opportunities to their kakis! While the Familee dogs eager to score points on the FTrash theme makes the whole situation worse. Nothing short of overthrowing the 1-Familee rule will stave off Sporns' extinction!

Ironically, the influx of foreign talents have affected the property prices in Singapore as well. They have even affected the prices of new HDB flats! The HDB's pricing mechanism of "market subsidy" is totally flawed. Foreign workers who have become Permanent Residents increased demand on the HDB resale market. But the supply in HDB resale market is pretty stagnant basically because Singaporeans bought their HDB flats to live, not to invest, speculate or for resale. Thus we have witness the HDB resale price being sticky upwards even during this recession basically because the supply is stagnant while the demand keeps pressure up by NEW Permanent Residents.

In the end, the prices of NEW HDB flats which are basically meant for Singaporeans are kept in high price levels when it is pegged against the resale market prices. With such pricing mechanism, the Foreign Talent Policy has contributed to higher HDB prices, Lower wages and it makes young people to think twice before getting marriage. And when Singaporeans are not getting married earlier and have less babies, PAP insists that we need even more Foreign workers! This will become a big vicious cycle in the end!

Apparently the Prime Minister and his Cabinet do not have a solution to reverse this vicious cycle and thus refrain from mentioning about the SOCIAL and HOUSING problems created by their Foreign Talent policy. But such ostrich attitude will not keep the problems away. It will become more serious in the years to come but no one knows when will be the boiling point.

Goh Meng Seng

GMS,

Actually, FT jacking up the price of HDB flats is a fallacy. The emprical and factual proof are other wise.
1) FTs tend to pack themselves like sardines into HDB rental flats and save money that way by splitting the rent among 6 or more people. That's why they can remit money back to their original countries even on a $2000 salary.
2) By buying a HDB flat and burdening themselves with a large mortgage, they would take away their advantage in the above. They are not stupid, and hence they don't buy flats.
3) All HDB pricing are controlled by the PAP. The PAP can choose to adjust their "market subsidy" and make the flats affordable. To think that the FTs can control this aspect of HDB pricing is ridiculous.
4) The HDB can simply introduce bumi and non bumi pricing, like they have in Malaysia. i.e. one price for FTs, and another lower price for native singaporeans.
5) The huge gluts in new HDB flats in recent years was due to the MOM telling HDB to expect large influx of FTs, and build new flats accordingly. When the influx came, and the FTs did not buy, voila, u have the glut.

Simply put, regardless of the FT policy or the number of Fts in S'pore, HDB pricing can be easily controlled by the govt. They choose not to do it, that's all. Faulting the Fts for this problem is placing the blame in the wrong place.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
GMS,

Actually, FT jacking up the price of HDB flats is a fallacy. The emprical and factual proof are other wise.
1) FTs tend to pack themselves like sardines into HDB rental flats and save money that way by splitting the rent among 6 or more people. That's why they can remit money back to their original countries even on a $2000 salary.
2) By buying a HDB flat and burdening themselves with a large mortgage, they would take away their advantage in the above. They are not stupid, and hence they don't buy flats.
3) All HDB pricing are controlled by the PAP. The PAP can choose to adjust their "market subsidy" and make the flats affordable. To think that the FTs can control this aspect of HDB pricing is ridiculous.
4) The HDB can simply introduce bumi and non bumi pricing, like they have in Malaysia. i.e. one price for FTs, and another lower price for native singaporeans.
5) The huge gluts in new HDB flats in recent years was due to the MOM telling HDB to expect large influx of FTs, and build new flats accordingly. When the influx came, and the FTs did not buy, voila, u have the glut.

Simply put, regardless of the FT policy or the number of Fts in S'pore, HDB pricing can be easily controlled by the govt. They choose not to do it, that's all. Faulting the Fts for this problem is placing the blame in the wrong place.

There are a few dimension to the FT policy.

There are a few segments of FT we are talking about. For those who are on work permits or S pass, they normally rent rooms. But for those who are PRs and wanting to migrate to somewhere else when the time is right, they will purchase HDB flats basically because it is just a investment strategy to them. They are hoping to reap profits from such purchase.

HDB does not sell flats directly to PRs as they cannot buy first hand. Only new citizens are eligible. The problems lie in the optimism in new migrants taking up citizenship. HDB now practices order to build policy. Meaning, there is no excess building at all.

Goh Meng Seng

There are a few dimension to the FT policy.

There are a few segments of FT we are talking about. For those who are on work permits or S pass, they normally rent rooms. But for those who are PRs and wanting to migrate to somewhere else when the time is right, they will purchase HDB flats basically because it is just a investment strategy to them. They are hoping to reap profits from such purchase.

HDB does not sell flats directly to PRs as they cannot buy first hand. Only new citizens are eligible. The problems lie in the optimism in new migrants taking up citizenship. HDB now practices order to build policy. Meaning, there is no excess building at all.

Goh Meng Seng

The trouble is that there are no stats on what percentage of FTs/PRs actually purchase flats in S'pore. Don't forget too, that many native S'poreans leave the country for good every year, hence selling their flats on the open market. My take is that price control is entirely in the hands of the HDB. What u see as price increases caused by FTs, I see as HDB trying to fatten its wallet and disguising it as FT driven.

Man in the streets

Singapore already kenna a mutated Leprosy, the Papee baboons have no cure but to let it rot.....

Tai Ko chun nua liao !

Ground issues dont address and they are playing racial cards to win votes, and threaten voters they are the ones who can maintain order.

who is stoking race problems ? The people ?

who is reminding people about the skin color ?

Pledge what we mean but HDB quota still want few malays at one block , what a PAP joke !

Nice-Gook

The trouble is that there are no stats on what percentage of FTs/PRs actually purchase flats in S'pore. Don't forget too, that many native S'poreans leave the country for good every year, hence selling their flats on the open market. My take is that price control is entirely in the hands of the HDB. What u see as price increases caused by FTs, I see as HDB trying to fatten its wallet and disguising it as FT driven.

There is a hidden hand here in the price mechanism of HDB resale flats.It is called valuation....Private valuers are beholden to HDB to toe its line.Or no business...

lockeliberal

Dear GMS

You have to differentiate betwen the S Passes and the W P holders, One depresses the wages of diploma holders, the other the wages of low wage income earners. Permanent Residents tend to be skilled workers with at least a diploma, and again their numbers are all out of proportion with the residency schemes in other countries.

Locke

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Dear GMS

You have to differentiate betwen the S Passes and the W P holders, One depresses the wages of diploma holders, the other the wages of low wage income earners. Permanent Residents tend to be skilled workers with at least a diploma, and again their numbers are all out of proportion with the residency schemes in other countries.

Locke

Dear Locke,

If these PR could only afford HDB flats, then I think most probably they don't hold key skills that our Singaporeans don't have. :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

coolguy

Lee_hsien_loong.jpg

Don't you know I purposely do that to divert the attention of sinkies?
Maybe I should just replace all of them with my FTs. How can I entrust spore future to these morons? Whahahahha.

Porfirio Rubirosa

perhaps...but what do you think the Singgies who have already bought their HDB falts would say and do if the PAPs suddenly brought the price of new direct sale HDB flats way down below the current HDB resale market rate?...no doubt the PAPs have mainly created this mess...but who is now going to bear the pain?...present generation of HDB buyers or past generations of HDB buyers?...or should PAPs pay the difference 'lost' by past generation HDB buyers...but then it would be the Singgie taxpayer who would ultimately be picking up the tab...so how?...a real conundrum

Porfirio Rubirosa

unfortunately the reality seems to be the PAPs have flooded this tiny island with this precise group of Foreign Trash...PAPs try to justify such flawed implementation of their FT policy by pointing at the low birth rates and extrapolating what may happen 20-30 years down the road...

Dear Locke,

If these PR could only afford HDB flats, then I think most probably they don't hold key skills that our Singaporeans don't have. :wink:

Goh Meng Seng