• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What other secret jobs have 85 yo Nathan had before?

SneeringTree

That is the question I am most interested in.

=================================
The Straits Times
www.straitstimes.com
Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Apr 28, 2010
Mr Nathan, welfare officer
President's book on his experiences as seamen welfare officer launched
By Nur Dianah Suhaimi
The 120-page book is a personal account of his work and struggles as a welfare officer, and the effort that he and others made to help workers overcome problems, which ran the gamut from dismissals to pay and family issues. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN

BEFORE becoming President, Mr SR Nathan was known for his notable career in the civil service.

Yet, few knew that for six years from 1956, the young Mr Nathan worked as a seamen welfare officer helping trouble-stricken sailors and port workers.

These early experiences as a social worker are documented in his first book, Why Am I Here?, launched yesterday.

The 120-page book is a personal account of his work and struggles as a welfare officer, and the effort that he and others made to help workers overcome problems, which ran the gamut from dismissals to pay and family issues.

Speaking to the media at the Istana last week, ahead of the launch, Mr Nathan, 85, said he was encouraged by friends to record his civil service experiences.

While he had a varied and distinguished career, he chose to focus on this period.

Read the full story in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.

That is the question I am most interested in.

=================================
The Straits Times
www.straitstimes.com
Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Apr 28, 2010
Mr Nathan, welfare officer
President's book on his experiences as seamen welfare officer launched
By Nur Dianah Suhaimi
The 120-page book is a personal account of his work and struggles as a welfare officer, and the effort that he and others made to help workers overcome problems, which ran the gamut from dismissals to pay and family issues. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN

BEFORE becoming President, Mr SR Nathan was known for his notable career in the civil service.

Yet, few knew that for six years from 1956, the young Mr Nathan worked as a seamen welfare officer helping trouble-stricken sailors and port workers.

These early experiences as a social worker are documented in his first book, Why Am I Here?, launched yesterday.

The 120-page book is a personal account of his work and struggles as a welfare officer, and the effort that he and others made to help workers overcome problems, which ran the gamut from dismissals to pay and family issues.

Speaking to the media at the Istana last week, ahead of the launch, Mr Nathan, 85, said he was encouraged by friends to record his civil service experiences.

While he had a varied and distinguished career, he chose to focus on this period.

Read the full story in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.

1. "i really don't know how to make prata one!"
2. i only know how to eat mah.

Don't anyhow say hor...I bet he was in the resistance to fight the Japanese...

Prataman was a double agent like his bro Harry. On paper they were Kempeitai traitors but actually they were spying for the British. They conducted espionage activities against Japanese at night after getting off work.

You mean like mudland cops?
Day time cop
Night time crooks

Prataman was a double agent like his bro Harry. On paper they were Kempeitai traitors but actually they were spying for the British. They conducted espionage activities against Japanese at night after getting off work.

You mean like mudland cops?
Day time cop
Night time crooks

No lah!..day time he work as translation clerk, at night, he sleeps on the manila hemp bed, outside YMCA Orchard Rd ( Japs Hq)...and wonder to himself "why am I here"?:D ( a future book, yet to be written), with an alternative title, " who put me here" and one more, mooted in times of boredom.."My Brother Hairy"...

stay tune for the trilogy....

Nathan asks: "Why am I here?". If he is not here, where can the 3 million plus dollars go every year??

he's trying to be like Mr. Obama? write books and earn money from there? (but Mr. Nathan is already getting big bucks as it is now liao no?)

Tell you what nathan, go back to your shit hole and wait for hairy to tell you what to do. you're good for fund raising.:oIo:

he's trying to be like Mr. Obama? write books and earn money from there? (but Mr. Nathan is already getting big bucks as it is now liao no?)

It's not about money, it's about restoring his shredded reputation. But I am not sure it will work.

singapore_president.jpg

"Before I made prata.... i made soba for my imperial masters"

he look suspiciously like my mama shop keeper.

maybe his part-time work there.

"Why am I here?" The 3 million dollar question. :oIo:

What a pathetic looking man. Just by looking at him and hearing him talk you get a sickening sense of disbelief at the entire political system in Singapore.

And don't let this expensive lump of ghee get away. He promised to learn Mandarin many years ago and till today hasn't done anything to keep is word. And yet he mnaged to learn Japanese quickly and well enough to work for the kempetei.

:oIo: