• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What Makes A Good MP?

Planning to switch careers!!

Any ideas? :D

A good MP is one who:
- be present around his/ her residences as much as they can
- sit down, talk to the residences, whether its at void decks or coffee shops
- walk around his ward to make sure everything is taken care of
- is always ready to lend a helping hand to solve problems, whether is abt just housing, or even help to solve family disputes.

A good MP is one who:
- is always ready to lend a helping hand to solve problems, whether is abt just housing, or even help to solve family disputes.

all these are external attributes...for show...

what about internal attributes???

dun joke lah!

i am serious!!

do oppositions MP get the same pay as PAP MPs? :D

What makes you think I am kidding.

If you can't survive character assassination bullets how you get elected.

2006 election's target board:
james_3.jpg

1997 election's target board:
tang_and_james.jpg

1988 election's target board:
francis-seow.jpg

2010 election target board:
pic.php

A good MP is one who:

Those were the days before these MPs were paid millions. Today, they are too arrogant & greedy to bother what happend on the ground and called us lesser mortal. Do you still want this kind of MP?

i am in no position to comment but i do hope my MP is more pro-active in helping pple like me. Dun wait for things to happen then come and action.

Empathy.

Goh Meng Seng
Disagree.
Empathy simply means that he understands what you are going through, does not mean that he will do anything about it.
Simply put, a good MP is someone who works hard to make the lives of his residents better.

Disagree.
Empathy simply means that he understands what you are going through, does not mean that he will do anything about it.
Simply put, a good MP is someone who works hard to make the lives of his residents better.

How do you make the residents life better?

By writing to the indifferent government for deliverance on some of their personal issues?

Or asking contractors do service the residents home without any funding from the state coffers even thought they paid taxes too? :D

A good MP, must always remember,

VOTED BY THE PEOPLE TO WORK FOR THE PEOPLE..

But how come our MPs seems to be the other way round??:confused::confused:

MPs have 2 major functions;
1) Represent the needs of his constituents in parliament
2) Work for the good of this country in parliament.

MPs, should
1) should stand for elections as an individuals
2) should not accept appointments in corporate boards unless they were in it prior to becoming an MP.
3) should declare his assets
4) should place his assets in a blind trust if taking up a political office
5) not be running town councils

A good MP is one who:

Which country MPs are you talking about?
Definitely not Sinkie MPs.