• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What is the point of having 2 Mass Transport Operators? SMRT and SBS Transit.

Can some one from the PAP kindly explain to me why there are 2 operators of the MRT system? You have SBS Transit operating the NEL, Sengkang and Punggol LRT, and you have SMRT operating everything else. WTF? SUch a small geographic area and need 2 operators? Why, SMRT cannot operate all the lines by themselves, must give some to ComfortDelgro? In cannot be in the interest of fostering competition, after all SMRT and ComfortDelgro are all GLCs. One brother against another brother is not competition but collusion.

Is MOT trying to smoke peasants into thinking there is real competition in the mass transport business? SInce SBS Transit is a newcomer to the rail business, it means they have to set up their own maintenance facility, own admin office, support staff, separate building, etc. How inefficient is that when SMRT already have all this in place? Just because Kua Hong Pak got big ego and want to muscle in on rail business does not mean that his company should have been awarded any rail lines to operate.

We all know the real reason. These GLCS are just for the PAP to park their cronies, Comfortdelgro is a prime example. So, I guess the PAP has to give Comfort a piece of the mass rail business, so they can place an ex civil serpent or general in to run this department. As usual tax payer and train commuters pay for it. How can there be cost savings and efficiencies from this arrangement.

Same as why is there an SCDF when there's a police and fire brigade in Singapore. Or why there's a People's Defence Force when the Army is made out of people already. Or why there are so many Ministers in the PMO or why there was (or still is) a SM and MM and soon to be EM (Eternal Minister).

They will say competition is good, it will benefits the consumers in the papers, but truthfully.......

In left pocket right pocket accounting, very helpful to have before have a dumping ground overseas to even out the numbers. No brainer. BTW, this is a global trick.

This is because if my right hand does not fight with my left hand, i cannot perform a wayang kulit show.

If only 1, ppl will tulan. So need 2 to stop us from tulan. reason being 2 competitors will induce pricing & competition diff rather than solely 1 commanding a fixed price under economy theory.
End of the day, still under ONE umbrella la hor. You know I know la.

One peanut minister claimed it was good for competition.
How they compete with each other only the elite could work it out.

One peanut minister claimed it was good for competition.
How they compete with each other only the elite could work it out.

They "compete" with each other by not servicing the same routes.

Same as why is there an SCDF when there's a police and fire brigade in Singapore. Or why there's a People's Defence Force when the Army is made out of people already. Or why there are so many Ministers in the PMO or why there was (or still is) a SM and MM and soon to be EM (Eternal Minister).

NTUC Labour Untion is a subsidiary of employer union. This one headed by LIM CB SWAY took the cake.

I am not in favour of GLCS have such monopolistic control but I have seen the fire that come out when 2 entites from the same family fight tooth and nail to get leadership. Monopoly is by nature and experience does not serve the common man.

These guys will even appeal to Ministers, begging for fair play etc. its quite laugable. Look at the ex-MP Goh Chee Wee of NTUC Comfort. He abused the system, gave himself a million dollar salary and even banned Journalist at his press conference for asking pertinent questions. they finally had to remove him and open up the taxi industry.

There is also the issue of concentration risk.

My only conclusion is it was a result of some petty internal rivalry. Someone at Comfortdelgro saw the obscene profits that were being made by SMRT, and not happy, when to his godfather in the PAP and asked for a piece of the pie by running the NEL and LRT lines. The godfather also not happy with lesbo Saw Phaik Huat at SMRT, want to tekan her and so award the new line to Comfort. Couldn't be for competition, as they are both owned by the same master.

I am not in favour of GLCS have such monopolistic control but I have seen the fire that come out when 2 entites from the same family fight tooth and nail to get leadership. Monopoly is by nature and experience does not serve the common man.

These guys will even appeal to Ministers, begging for fair play etc. its quite laugable. Look at the ex-MP Goh Chee Wee of NTUC Comfort. He abused the system, gave himself a million dollar salary and even banned Journalist at his press conference for asking pertinent questions. they finally had to remove him and open up the taxi industry.

There is also the issue of concentration risk.

i enjoyed indonesia wayang kulit very much. didn't know they have it performed here too.

they even have to cheek to broadcast that it is for the benefit of the sinkies.
each company is given its own sector to run , and they called it competition.
these guy must be thinking sinkies are real dumb.