• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What is the 1st thing you do when you become "unsinkified"?

I guess you are still very much Singaporean at heart because if you aren't, the word "sinkified" don't exist in your vocabulary :D

I am disappointed too. My recommendation too cheapie for our latest unSinkied Aussie.

no recommendation from me as i dont have any notion to change, just my perception toward surrounding issues.

no xxxx beer, no sports (except strongman), no oi,oi,oi, no ozzie slang, no bbq etc..

coz no matter what we do, we are still black hair.

pommies will say; "u asians blah blah...".. and they will get my very quick response.

Congrats mate. Once you've passed the test and met your minimum stay requirement, you'll most definetely be approved. The ceremony is more of a formality. Have attended the ceremony in Sydney last month when I was there. I'm now an Ozzie. Intend to go back to Sydney when my contract in Singapore finishes late this year and surrender my Sinkee passport and withdraw my CPF.

no recommendation from me as i dont have any notion to change, just my perception toward surrounding issues.

no xxxx beer, no sports (except strongman), no oi,oi,oi, no ozzie slang, no bbq etc..

pommies will say; "u asians blah blah...".. and they will get my very quick response.

Usu you will see asians guys with the wogs, anyway, the italian moms are more open to us as well. When they are schoolkids, the Poms call their pasta lunch, worms.

Thanks to them, Brit celebrity chefs have jobs. Otherwise, they will be serving cold chicken sandwiches on TV.

Usu you will see asians guys with the wogs, anyway, the italian moms are more open to us as well. When they are schoolkids, the Poms call their pasta lunch, worms.

Thanks to them, Brit celebrity chefs have jobs. Otherwise, they will be serving cold chicken sandwiches on TV.

damn hated the aussie accent and slangs...its very annoying...their dinkie di aussie accent is lighter in the cities but once u head up the country...damn

I am disappointed too. My recommendation too cheapie for our latest unSinkied Aussie.

Kekekeek no worries mate, its all good. Buying a Rolex and passing it down to your children is actually a pretty pommy thing to do. I think its just that most Singaporean don't know how to appreciate the "finer" things in life that makes them think owning a Rolex is being "sinkie". If you look at Antique Roadshow on channel 9, you'll see that part of the pommy culture is collecting fine arts/antiques etc. A couple of Aussies I know are actually into that, collecting fine watch pieces, clocks, jewellery etc. Its probably a "tradition" that is pretty dated nowadays.

wow, most would have thought that finer things in life would probably involve a bottle of grange or even a shed to store your beach gear, instead of a label worn by every man and his dog...

I think its just that most Singaporean don't know how to appreciate the "finer" things in life that makes them think owning a Rolex is being "sinkie".

damn hated the aussie accent and slangs...its very annoying...their dinkie di aussie accent is lighter in the cities but once u head up the country...damn

speaking of aussie slang, i used to hear a lot of 'ta' (thank you) but it is a lot lesser now.
Aussie slang is neat if you do not want to be treated like a tourist. Americans love the slang.

but the older folk do wonder what happened to proper English. And Aussie are politely reminded in travel information packs to speak English when overseas. :D :D :D

If you look at Antique Roadshow on channel 9, you'll see that part of the pommy culture is collecting fine arts/antiques etc. A couple of Aussies I know are actually into that, collecting fine watch pieces, clocks, jewellery etc. Its probably a "tradition" that is pretty dated nowadays.

Your daughter may think that Rolexes are Ah Pek watches.
Already, people are calling me Old Ah Beng because of my Merc Benz. So, should I get an AMG?

I wear a Parmigiani Fleurier watch.

Swiss watches are cheaper to get from Luzern, Switzerland.
I think you can ask the Europe-bound Singapore tour agents to get them for you.

Already, people are calling me Old Ah Beng because of my Merc Benz. So, should I get an AMG?

AMG? Why not? But the pain in the butt part is not about the fuel consumption but rather having to go to the petrol kiosk every 3 days...:D

No mate, citizenship ceremony are not just held during Australia day, they are held at the local council whenever there is enough new citizens. OZ day can be selected on your application that you want it to be held then, the normal process would be as soon as available when they have the numbers to hold one.

How long before you qualify? They have changed it to 4 years now versus the 2 before.

Cheers.

You belong to the 2 yr category?

Unfortunately i'm after 2007, so will need 4 yrs instead. :mad:

Eh, 1st of all I'm still single. No daughter or son yet, hopefully that would change soon after I get the cert and china trip. ;) 2nd I drive a BMW mini cooper S. Try it, its fun to drive and I get like 600km on a full tank of "hard" driving.

As for the watch, yes, thats the reaction I have when someone told me I should get a Rolex if I want a good watch. My exact thoughts was that its "too expensive" and "Ah pek". But my friend explained why I should get one. A guy only has two types of "jewelery" he can wear, watches and cufflinks. Unlike girls, which ranges from Tiaras, earring, necklace, rings. A good watch can last for a long time. For Rolexes its up to 10 years and more. Look at the one I'm thinking of getting, its the stainless steel version, not even the gold and diamond studded 1s. Its actually considered a "work" watch. It would be around $10K, thats $1K a year, $3 a day, a cup of coffee at the cafe. Whether its Parmigiani Fleurier, Partek Phillipe, I agree they are "upper" tiers then Rolex, but not many people actually knows about them. I want a watch I can wear daily. Maybe I should tour Europe once I get my new passport then?

You belong to the 2 yr category?

Unfortunately i'm after 2007, so will need 4 yrs instead. :mad:

Yup, they changing the rules again by June/July this year. If you don't convert by then you would have to wait for the 4 years. :) The way I see it, Australia eventually would tighten their citizenship process as well. Just look at the rules changes to PR and visa, the trend is definitely getting harder. I think you have to be in Australia 1 or 2 years before being a citizen. Good luck with that.

Eh, 1st of all I'm still single. No daughter or son yet, hopefully that would change soon after I get the cert and china trip. ;) 2nd I drive a BMW mini cooper S. Try it, its fun to drive and I get like 600km on a full tank of "hard" driving.

As for the watch, yes, thats the reaction I have when someone told me I should get a Rolex if I want a good watch. My exact thoughts was that its "too expensive" and "Ah pek". But my friend explained why I should get one. A guy only has two types of "jewelery" he can wear, watches and cufflinks. Unlike girls, which ranges from Tiaras, earring, necklace, rings. A good watch can last for a long time. For Rolexes its up to 10 years and more. Look at the one I'm thinking of getting, its the stainless steel version, not even the gold and diamond studded 1s. Its actually considered a "work" watch. It would be around $10K, thats $1K a year, $3 a day, a cup of coffee at the cafe. Whether its Parmigiani Fleurier, Partek Phillipe, I agree they are "upper" tiers then Rolex, but not many people actually knows about them. I want a watch I can wear daily. Maybe I should tour Europe once I get my new passport then?

Once there was a business man in SG asked me a question.. "How much do you think your TagHeuer would cost after 10-20yrs".. my ans : I dunno.. maybe $50-100 dollars?... he then asked "how much would a Rolex cost in 10-20 yrs?" my ans : I dunno.. He said it may worth the same or higher.. he added he would buy value-for-money item bcoz it will get a good market re-sale value, if he decides to sell.. not simply "cheap" stuff.. ;) SG govt likes cheap labour... Aussie Prick likes for cheap US hses... hmmmm....

Indeed I've been told the same thing about Rolexes, its value do hold. There are shops in the city that sells 2nd hand Rolexes and depending on the year some are actually higher then when it was bought. Tag Heuers are actually crap, I have known of owners that swears it breaks down after one year. For the price you are paying its just not worth the effort wearing them. Good things are not cheap, Cheap things are not good. ;)

Once there was a business man in SG asked me a question.. "How much do you think your TagHeuer would cost after 10-20yrs".. my ans : I dunno.. maybe $50-100 dollars?... he then asked "how much would a Rolex cost in 10-20 yrs?" my ans : I dunno.. He said it may worth the same or higher.. he added he would buy value-for-money item bcoz it will get a good market re-sale value, if he decides to sell.. not simply "cheap" stuff.. ;) SG govt likes cheap labour... Aussie Prick likes for cheap US hses... hmmmm....

Haha, actually u should take advantage of the world class sports system here and Aussies produced some of the best coaches in the world, might be good to send your kid for golf or Tennis lessons. I take up golf lessons and must say the professional coaches here know their stuff inside out and style of teaching is miles ahead of sg(army style).

As for Aussie slang, don't even bother as there's so many versions and varied accents unlike the American slang which more unified and easier to understand. There's many Irish-ish and scottish slang here as well , the Scottish accent is the worse. There's too many Asians in workplace sydney so anyone dares to pass racism remarks would probably get slaugthered and their heads hang in Chinatown :-)

I guess you are still very much Singaporean at heart because if you aren't, the word "sinkified" don't exist in your vocabulary :D

We are all immersed in the Singapore culture, right. Otherwise, we will not be in this forum.