• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What does this sort of news say about India?

820x.jpg

Security personnel and volunteers sit in the stands, surrounded by empty seats, during the athletics events in the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium during the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi October 7, 2010. Commonwealth Games organisers are banking on an Indian medal surge to fill empty seats at venues in Delhi which have struggled to attract the paying public.​

820x.jpg

Security personnel and volunteers sit in the stands, surrounded by empty seats, during the athletics events in the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium during the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi October 7, 2010. Commonwealth Games organisers are banking on an Indian medal surge to fill empty seats at venues in Delhi which have struggled to attract the paying public.​

Definitely looks like its better then the Beijing Olympics. No crowd = the competitors can concentrate better :p

Such sporting event can only work in USA,Canada, EU, Australia

Sport are only for people who are well fed and have time to scratch backside and take leave to go and see a sport.

USA sport is greater than life, so that will work there too.

I suggest in future, stick the big games to develop world.

The people who vote to bring the games to India should be hang by piano wire.

820x.jpg

The S. P. Mukherjee Aquatics Complex is pictured during a break in swimming competition at the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi October 7, 2010. The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) has promised an immediate investigation into the water quality at the Delhi Games swimming venue following reports of swimmers falling sick.​

The game is virtually dead, Just go through the motion

Just go through the motion and in a week time, no one will remember the delhi commonwealth games.

it is harder to get good photos now on the web, either the photographer have food poisoning, stay in bed, or no one care, either way, the game is dead.

Re: Such sporting event can only work in USA,Canada, EU, Australia

Sport are only for people who are well fed and have time to scratch backside and take leave to go and see a sport.

USA sport is greater than life, so that will work there too.

I suggest in future, stick the big games to develop world.

The people who vote to bring the games to India should be hang by piano wire.

Haven't U read the news after opening night? They kept boosting about how they are now "Ready" to host the Olympics

790x.jpg

Riders compete in the Womens Scratch race at the IG Sports Complex during day four of the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games on October 7, 2010 in Delhi, India.​

x640.jpg

770x.jpg

Athletes from Scotland and Australia sit in the near-empty stands during track cycling events at the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi October 7, 2010.

650x.jpg

shame games now dead games

Haven't U read the news after opening night? They kept boosting about how they are now "Ready" to host the Olympics

Delhi commonwealth games 2010 have just sucessfully coin the word, dead games.

India the next super power?

Based on the commonwealth games, India has exposed itself that all the hot air about them being the next superpower is greatly exaggerated. They are unable to organise, to plan, to execute any meaningful things. They cannot even fill seats.

India should be call the next fail state.

I hope singapore will not invest too much of all cpf money in India, i see it will all go into lokang.

Teen wins first Aussie shooting gold Drew Cratchley
October 7, 2010
AAP

Sixteen-year-old Alethea Sedgman didn't realised she'd broken Australia's shooting gold medal drought until her friends starting screaming.

610x.jpg

The Victorian year 11 student showed steely focus to snatch victory in the women's 50m rifle three positions event, landing her team's first gold on the third day of Commonwealth Games shooting competition.

"I didn't know unit the girls screamed out," Sedgman said.

"I was like 'oh, really? Cool."

Sedgman scored 676.0 to win from Singaporean duo Xiang Ser (672.6) and Aqilah Sudhir (671.3).

610x.jpg

Australia's Alethea Sedgman (R) celebrates with Singapore's Aqilah Sudhir after winning the women's single 50 m rifle 3 positions shooting final at the XIX Commonwealth Games 2010 in New Delhi on October 7, 2010. Sedgman won the gold medal, and Sudhir won bronze.

She only took up the sport four years ago after visiting the range with her father, a recreational shooter.

She has toured the world this year on the World Cup circuit after joining the senior shooting ranks in late 2009, but this ranks as her first major victory in the sport.

Sedgman entered the final in second place after the qualification rounds, two points behind Sudhir.

She quickly took the lead in the final and maintained that position throughout.

"I didn't think I was going very well until I heard eights (out of ten) in other people's scores, which made me happy," Sedgman said.

"But I didn't want to thing about the eights because then I would shoot an eight, so I was just focusing on my work."

The teenager's family is back home in Natimuk, and with a cheeky grin said she may wait some time before phoning her parents.

"I think I'll let them wait it out a bit."

© 2010 AAP

Dozen Australian swimmers take ill at Commonwealth Games

Melbourne, Oct 7 (IANS) Over a dozen Australian swimmers have fallen sick, and two of them have pulled out of their events Thursday. An official said the illness 'seems quite isolated to the swim team at the moment'.

Three Australians, including Andrew Lauterstein and Hayden Stoeckel who pulled out Thursday, are suffering from gastroenteritis. At least 10 other swimmers are down with a milder form of Delhi belly, AAP reported.

Commonwealth Games Federation president Mike Fennell said: 'If there is something unsafe, then you can't swim in that water.'

'It's a matter we have to deal with, with a great deal of urgency,' the Australian Associated Press quoted him as saying.

Australian chef de mission Steve Moneghetti was concerned by the number of swimmers falling sick.

One other Australian athlete has been hit by gastroenteritis, and at least five team members from other sports were ill, he said.

'There seems to be a larger number of swimmers. It seems quite isolated to the swim team at the moment.

'The doctor doesn't think it's food related because it's more confined to one particular sport. We're all eating in the dining hall, we're all eating the same food and there's very few cases across the board, it seems like there's more cases in the one sport,' Moneghetti said.

He said it was possible the pool or its facilities could be making the swimmers sick.

'I would only be speculating but at this point in time it's where the swimmers have come from or what the swimmers are doing.

'I don't want to jump to conclusions because we have no medical evidence as to why this is happening,' Moneghetti said.

He said the water quality at the Dr.S.P. Mukerjhee Aquatics Complex has been tested.

'They've done tests ... and our swimmers wouldn't go into the water without the tests coming through.'

England team's spokesperson said over 30 members of their team have been hit by a stomach bug but didn't say whether it was across a range of sports or isolated to one.

'Around six percent of our team has been hit. It's a lot lower than expected for this kind of country.

'But we haven't lost any competition sessions. It's one of those viral thing that arrives and goes in 24 hours,' the spokesperson told AAP.

-----------------------------------------
Yeah ah neh test the water, like ah neh audit ah neh, sure pass one, money under table, settle. they should put the water in bottle, send to London for testing.

No wonder when i call my company it hotline to india, i cannot get them to fix my pc

Commonwealth Games info system to be restored 'immediately': Lalit Bhanot

Commonwealth Games organising committee said today they were looking into the glitches relating to the Games Information System (GIS), which has left the scribes in the lurch, and assured the matter will be resolved "immediately".

"We have noticed the matter and informed the people concerned. They are looking into it. The problem will be sorted out immediately," OC secretary-general Lalit Bhanot told a press conference today.

The system has been malfunctioning from the first day of competitions and problems increased on October 5 when the GIS crashed and the journalists at the Main Press Centre of the Games could not get any information related to the sporting events.

The GIS provides journalists with results, schedule, medals tally and several other pieces of information, including short biographies of the athletes and their flash quotes.

Commonwealth Games Federation chief Mike Fennell did not put the blame on anyone but assured that the problem was being taken care of.

"I don't want to blame anyone for the incident," he said.

"We are now concentrating on correcting the problem and it will be done today," he added.

The timing and data-handling is being provided by Swiss watches company Tissot.

Thousands of media are dependent on the dedicated Games wire service that provides information on 17 disciplines of the mega-event.

Re: India the next super power?

China host the last Olympic in 2008 have change all the level/put the bar too high. Next 2012 Olympic in England will not be succes as the Beijing.
Look like Mat land host the Commanwealth game in 1998 better than the India. That 12 year ago with lower technology and IT.

China host the last Olympic in 2008 have change all the level/put the bar too high. Next 2012 Olympic in England will not be succes as the Beijing.
Look like Mat land host the Commanwealth game in 1998 better than the India. That 12 year ago with lower technology and IT.

according to ang moh, beijing was not the best games, due to the problem with the air quality and other problem. Sydney is still number 1.

This is according to ang moh, dun shoot me, i think beijing olympic is very well executed. But what do i know about sport. I barely watch it on tv.

US in 2nd place in gold medal tally 2008 of course said sydney best. But compare to facility and all the new build that only China/Beijing can. All are new Olympic village/stadium/bus..............and also ticket sale.
Air quality of course cannot compare with Sydney.

Shooters Gurpreet Singh, Vijay Kumar bag 12th Gold for India
Agencies
New Delhi, October 07, 2010

Indian shooters Vijay Kumar and Gurpreet Singh bagged the first gold medal of the day on Thursday after winning the 25m Rapid Fire Pistol (pairs) event. This is India's 12th gold medal of the Commonwealth Games.
610x.jpg

Vijay Kumar and Gurpreet Singh of India pose with their gold medals won in the pairs 25m rapid fire pistol at the Dr Karni Singh Shooting Range during day four of the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games on October 7, 2010 in Delhi, India.

740x.jpg

Malayasia's Adzh Hafiz (L), Amir Hasan Hasi Izwan (2L), Gurpreet Singh (3L), India's Vijay Kumar (3R), Australia's Quick Bruce (2R) and David Chapman pose with their medals for the men's pairs 25 m rapid fire pistol shooting event during the medals ceremony at the XIX Commonwealth Games 2010 in New Delhi on October 7, 2010. Indian won gold, Malaysia won silver and Australia won Bbronze.​

Air quality of course cannot compare with Sydney.

so because of air quality, you cannot say that beijing is best olympic ever right ?
the best have to be perfect in every single detail, also traffic jam, getting them to right place in right time is a problem.