• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

what cause the great fire of kampong bt ho swee?

Who else? I tell you retards like kukubird will tell you it was not mentioned in history text books that they were torched by the PAP, so it cant be true.

After that he spent five decades , "liberating" our wallets, that now, it is truly empty & FREE!

Those days kampong spirit was very much alive!! But when PAP took over they
saw Kampong as a sore thumb!! so they hire gangster to go around to burn down kampong!

We happened to stay at a kampong junction of Plymouth Avenue and Trevose Crescent, we lived in fear
so kampong folks took turn to do night watch! sure enough one evening gangsters came and try to burn
down our home, those folks shouted the gangsters ran for their life, if they were caught, its finished!!

what i find weird is, if its an "open secret" that government/local SS involved in the kampong fires, yet the people gave overwhelming support to the government in the early days.

so what gives?

Those days kampong spirit was very much alive!! But when PAP took over they
saw Kampong as a sore thumb!! so they hire gangster to go around to burn down kampong!

We happened to stay at a kampong junction of Plymouth Avenue and Trevose Crescent, we lived in fear
so kampong folks took turn to do night watch! sure enough one evening gangsters came and try to burn
down our home, those folks shouted the gangsters ran for their life, if they were caught, its finished!!

it was a spark in a hot humid afternoon
just like the inferno at the old people's park
what gangsters and fire starters???

it was a spark in a hot humid afternoon
just like the inferno at the old people's park
what gangsters and fire starters???

thank you for confirming a spark.

you are smart to omit by "lightning"

thank you for confirming a spark.

you are smart to omit by "lightning"

it is always easy to blame someone
but the fire is over
and prosperity is all for all to enjoy!!!
good morning Bro BKT!!! TGIF!!!!

but the fire is over

it easy to divert blame from someone like you did about a thread hijack

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?162067-what-cause-the-great-fire-of-kampong-bt-ho-swee/page2

kopiuncle accused post#28, as hijack a thread. but he did in post#23 and #27

hear hear all "friends" of uncle, of his diverting blame. another lie con distort job.

#22 http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?161552-Are-you-very-sure-of-yourself/page2

acc to kopiuncle - of a good, kind and compassionate man of purity, a man of clarity and a very pious man - full of humility.

but that man said this. "One day you will come crawling to me, and I will grind you deeper in the dirt!"

it easy to divert blame from someone like you did about a thread hijack

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?162067-what-cause-the-great-fire-of-kampong-bt-ho-swee/page2

kopiuncle accused post#28, as hijack a thread. but he did in post#23 and #27

hear hear all "friends" of uncle, of his diverting blame. another lie con distort job.

you keep changing your signature
to divert, to lie, to con and to distort
aiyah nevermind lah...do as you please lah
TGIF already!!!!!

you keep changing your signature
to divert, to lie, to con and to distort
aiyah nevermind lah...do as you please lah
TGIF already!!!!!

that was not a signature, it was a post with signature removed to give you a little face.

ok i edit the signature in as you wished

that was not a signature, it was a post with signature removed to give you a little face.

ok i edit the signature in as you wished

same old shit
waste of useful space
aiyah do as you wish lah
me old liao ...do not sweat the small stuff
good morning brudder BKT!!
why the need for such signature

first please go check your eye sight
second please go check your blains
third please go check your mind
after that you should be ok

go check you furry tongue, hahahahhahahahahahaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

but the fire is over
and prosperity is all for all to enjoy!!!
good morning Bro BKT!!! TGIF!!!!

the fire is over but the forgiveness has not come. that must hurt after all these years. make amends before eternal regret sets in.

go check you furry tongue, hahahahhahahahahahaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

you are truly brilliant
you are what the pap needed
smart,young, intelligent, gifted, talented and very furry....

Prof Loh Kah Seng wrote a very good book on the Bukit Ho Swee Fire:

[TABLE="width: 100%"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="class: caption, width: 430, align: left"][h=2]Squatters into Citizens: The 1961 Bukit Ho Swee Fire and the Making of Modern Singapore[/h]Loh Kah Seng
The crowded, bustling, 'squatter' kampongs so familiar across Southeast Asia have long since disappeared from Singapore, leaving few visible traces of their historical influence on the life in the city-state. In one such settlement, located in an area known as Bukit Ho Swee, a great fire in 1961 destroyed the kampong and left 16,000 people homeless, creating a national emergency that led to the first big public housing project of the new Housing and Development Board (HDB). HDB flats now house more than four-fifths of the Singapore population, making the aftermath of the Bukit Ho Swee fire a seminal event in modern Singapore.
Loh Kah Seng grew up in one-room rental flats in the HDB estate built after the fire. Drawing on oral history interviews, official records and media reports, he describes daily life in squatter communities and how people coped with the hazard posed by fires. His examination of the catastrophic events of 25 May 1961 and the steps taken by the new government of the People's Action Party in response to the disaster show the immediate consequences of the fire and how relocation to public housing changed the people's lives. Through a narrative that is both vivid and subtle, the book explores the nature of memory and probes beneath the hard surfaces of modern Singapore to understand the everyday life of the people who live in the city.
«This excellent book - located at the intersection of history, ethnography and sociology - makes a major contribution to our understanding of the social history of post-war/post-colonial Singapore, and more generally to the interdisciplinary field of disaster studies.»
- James Francis Warren, Murdoch University

«…His writing has a passion and immediacy that is atypical of much scholarly analysis. His eye for detail is almost filmic, augmented by the book's inclusion of evocative archival visuals...a resonant text of social history...a much-needed breaking of the silence between generations.»
- Clarissa Oon, Straits Times, June 13, 2013
LOH Kah Seng is Assistant Professor at the Institute of East Asian Studies, Sogang University.
publication year: 2013
330 pages
ISBN: 978-9971-69-645-0 Paperback US$32.00 S$38.00

Our edition is available in Asia, Australia and New Zealand.

[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: caption, align: left"]
Squatters-into-Citizens-Front-Cover.jpg

[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

Prof Loh Kah Seng wrote a very good book on the Bukit Ho Swee Fire:

[TABLE="width: 100%"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="class: caption, width: 430, align: left"][h=2]Squatters into Citizens: The 1961 Bukit Ho Swee Fire and the Making of Modern Singapore[/h]Loh Kah Seng
The crowded, bustling, 'squatter' kampongs so familiar across Southeast Asia have long since

- Clarissa Oon, Straits Times, June 13, 2013[/INDENT]LOH Kah Seng is Assistant Professor at the Institute of East Asian Studies, Sogang University.

[TD="class: caption, align: left"]
Squatters-into-Citizens-Front-Cover.jpg

[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

I doubt that he went too deeply into who started the fires. Otherwise he would have been sued or arrested;)

He quit ISEAS when he was refused permission to do a paper on Op Cold Store. Couldn't find a job here after being blacklisted. He is now an Asst Prof in Sogang University, Korea.

We exile our genuine talent while importing foreign trash by the busloads.

those who really lived in a kampong before would know that many kampongs were mysteriously torched.

reminds me of the Eunos market and the Bedok Reservoir market... both markets had a stall or two catching fire mysteriously before they underwent renovations...