• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Westerner creates trouble at AMK MRT, luckily old uncle stopped fight

besotted

Home > ST Forum > Story
Sep 19, 2009
PHYSICAL ABUSE IN PUBLIC
Turn a blind eye to violence?

I AM a 53-year-old Australian who has been here for nine months, on a 12-month assignment. Having witnessed the first act of violence in public in Singapore, I am appalled by the lack of feeling displayed by the public.

Between about 5.30pm and 6pm on Tuesday evening, I was leaving Ang Mo Kio MRT station to go to AMK Hub. As I was walking, I saw a young man grab the hair of a young girl as she was about to go down the stairs.

He pulled her quite sharply and, it seemed to me, quite painfully. He continued to pull her hair and to force her into a corner.

To me, it looked as though there would be more physical violence, so I intervened.

I got the man's attention by grabbing him by the shoulder and asked him what he was doing. He turned round and told me to mind my own business.

I am 1.72m tall and he was a few centimetres taller than me and physically bigger. The girl whose hair he had pulled was a petite 1.6m. I had my hands on his chest as I spoke to him and this angered him more.

He told me to take my hands off him, and I did so immediately. He continued to stand over me and asked what I was doing. I replied that no one deserved to be treated the way he was treating this girl. I felt as if he would strike out at me at any time.

There were other witnesses but they did nothing. In fact, rather than getting support for my defence of the girl, I was told to go away, that it was me who was out of line. Two people stopped to take action while quite a few looked on.

One man, who looked older than me, stood between the young man and myself to separate us. He told me to move on. A woman also stopped and basically said the same thing. Both stayed with me for several minutes, trying to defuse the situation.

What they said made me angry. Now, I know it is only a sample of two, but if this is the attitude here towards violence, I am deeply concerned.

The woman told me that if the young girl isn't calling out, you don't interfere. The man said the same thing - you turn a blind eye.

I am indeed sorry if this is the general attitude here. I feel the girl was intimidated by the man and so would not call out.

I was told that in Asia you do not interfere in other people's lives. Neither the man nor the woman would say that this was the right thing to do, but it is accepted as the way things are.

How can Singapore and Singaporeans accept this? Does it mean that, if no one complains about an act of violence, it did not happen?

Singapore recently celebrated Racial Harmony Day. This is a racially tolerant country and everyone should be proud of that. But how about taking a bit more care of each other on a more basic humanitarian level?

Ivan Batterham

nickers9

1-3.jpg

Hey the Sinkies are right, you should mind your own business.

You are my foreign talents, you are my babe, dont get yourself involving in Sinkies business.

Let the Sinkies kill among themselves, then there will be one more Sinkies gone in Singapore. Then I will import more of you foreign talents into Singapore.

I dont give a fcuk to Sinkies, I even squeezed them until they kpkb, but I still dont give a fcuk to them.

Mind your business my foreign talents, procreate if you can, so as to replace all the Sinkies in Singapore, and that is my ultimate goal.

fattychin

Home > ST Forum > Story
Sep 19, 2009
PHYSICAL ABUSE IN PUBLIC

I AM a 53-year-old Australian who has been here for nine months, on a 12-month assignment. Having witnessed the first act of violence in public in Singapore, I am appalled by the lack of feeling displayed by the public.

Between about 5.30pm and 6pm on Tuesday evening, I was leaving Ang Mo Kio MRT station to go to AMK Hub. As I was walking, I saw a young man grab the hair of a young girl as she was about to go down the stairs.

He pulled her quite sharply and, it seemed to me, quite painfully. He continued to pull her hair and to force her into a corner.

To me, it looked as though there would be more physical violence, so I intervened.

I got the man's attention by grabbing him by the shoulder and asked him what he was doing. He turned round and told me to mind my own business.

I am 1.72m tall and he was a few centimetres taller than me and physically bigger. The girl whose hair he had pulled was a petite 1.6m. I had my hands on his chest as I spoke to him and this angered him more.

He told me to take my hands off him, and I did so immediately. He continued to stand over me and asked what I was doing. I replied that no one deserved to be treated the way he was treating this girl. I felt as if he would strike out at me at any time.

There were other witnesses but they did nothing. In fact, rather than getting support for my defence of the girl, I was told to go away, that it was me who was out of line. Two people stopped to take action while quite a few looked on.

One man, who looked older than me, stood between the young man and myself to separate us. He told me to move on. A woman also stopped and basically said the same thing. Both stayed with me for several minutes, trying to defuse the situation.

What they said made me angry. Now, I know it is only a sample of two, but if this is the attitude here towards violence, I am deeply concerned.

The woman told me that if the young girl isn't calling out, you don't interfere. The man said the same thing - you turn a blind eye.

I am indeed sorry if this is the general attitude here. I feel the girl was intimidated by the man and so would not call out.

I was told that in Asia you do not interfere in other people's lives. Neither the man nor the woman would say that this was the right thing to do, but it is accepted as the way things are.

How can Singapore and Singaporeans accept this? Does it mean that, if no one complains about an act of violence, it did not happen?

Singapore recently celebrated Racial Harmony Day. This is a racially tolerant country and everyone should be proud of that. But how about taking a bit more care of each other on a more basic humanitarian level?

Ivan Batterham
You Aussies are really busy body. SIngaporeans know when to get involved and when not to. From what you describe seems like a couple problem which is best left alone to sort out. You Aussies are so kepo that even in your own country you cannot leave the Indians alone but have to find trouble with them.

Meltdown

ang moh not used to the way chinks treat one another...

I agree with you 110%! Ang mohs aren't used to "you die your own business" way of life.

Chinks treat one another with "you die your own business" attitude. In majority Chinks societies like Peesai, HK, Taiwan, & PRC, that's the way it is.

Here's a real life story that was mentioned in Bo Yang's book "The Ugly Chinaman": There was a man who collapsed inside a cinema in Taipei. The moviegoers didn't give a damn about what happened. The staffs at the cinema saw it and carried the man out of the cinema. Bo Yang assumed that the staffs brought the man to a hospital. Instead, Bo Yang was shocked to see the collapsed man lying on the sidewalk outside the cinema after he watched the movie. The staffs didn't want the man to die inside the cinema, instead, they brought him outside to let him die on the sidewalk.

Only Chinks will let their fellow Chinks die in public without wanting to help save the lives of their fellow beings. That's what Bo Yang called it Chinks being uncivilized which I agreed with him 110%!

hairylee

Ang Moh hoped to impress the girl and get a fuck later. Otherwise why would he want to interfere with others private affair.

takcheksian

filthy ang moh, you probably have bad intentions. you knights in 'shining armour' are actually cheats, liars, near-psychopaths and psychopaths.

You Aussies are really busy body. SIngaporeans know when to get involved and when not to. From what you describe seems like a couple problem which is best left alone to sort out. You Aussies are so kepo that even in your own country you cannot leave the Indians alone but have to find trouble with them.

Maverick01

this ang moh 1.72 m only sia....

Home > ST Forum > Story
Sep 19, 2009
PHYSICAL ABUSE IN PUBLIC

Ivan Batterham

Royalblood

Ehhh.... This angmo from aussie he should be used to seeing violence in their CBD late at night.....can always see rowdy bunch of rednecks disturbing people and fighting...... I wonder if he does interfere in one those fights happening back in his home country.... if not ah, then like abit double standard, or he try play hero thinking that he might stand a chance to bed that SPG!?

i_am_belle

Here's a real life story that was mentioned in Bo Yang's book ... "The Ugly Chinaman": being uncivilized which I agreed with him 110%!

for chinese esp southern chinese ... the CLAN or extended family or gongsi is very important ... anyone outside this circle is considered invisible ...

which is why chinese walk the way they walk (block others without caring) ... and drive the way they drive (won't give way) ...

everytime those western expats kpkb abt lack of graciousness in s'pore, i will tell them its a 'culture thing' ... at least they would have to accept it, shut up & sit down ... :biggrin: :wink:

but i notice quite a number of middle-aged chinese ppl who seem to care abt strangers who are elderly - they are the ones to give up seats in public transport for these elderly strangers ... maybe they can visualise that one day, they'd also grow old ... so they identify with these elderly strangers and are kind to them ...

TeeKee

[I saw a young man grab the hair of a young girl as she was about to go down the stairs.]

which sane minds would treat their gf this way?

myo539

Only Chinks will let their fellow Chinks die in public without wanting to help save the lives of their fellow beings. That's what Bo Yang called it Chinks being uncivilized which I agreed with him 110%!

There was no mention of race. I thought in all our minds that it was an Indian couple. I know Indian men like to slap their wives or girlfriend?? They even throw them down from HDB flats?

This angmoh got fed up because he saw so many of them in his country and wtf he came here and saw even more of them. That's why he interfered.

It's good when shit skins die. Btw they are invading oz like they are invading singapore.

angry_one

This fake knight was probably lusting after the girl's pussy. Could not play hero successfully and now kpkb in the papers. The level of street violence is worse in many western cities - will he speak up against that?? I'd like to see him confront a gun-toting nigger gang in The Bronx....... :biggrin:

SamuelStalin

Home > ST Forum > Story
Sep 19, 2009
PHYSICAL ABUSE IN PUBLIC

Ivan Batterham

This filthy foreigner and his bloody Western values should mind his own business literally. He should consider himself lucky your locals only told him off and did not shout at or attack him. Did he seriously think the locals are actually afraid to engage him just because they didn't choose fight him? He should try your people again - he probably wouldn't be so lucky and may have to write on his lamedick rubbish sequel in the comforts of the hospital.

Go home and shut the hell up!