• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Were you in NS in Nov 1986?

Nabei.... "move into Johore and secure the water supply..". What kind of F-ed up response plan is that? :rolleyes: Must be some scholar general's plan - BG Lee?

the strategy to move the battle ground to johore is correct at that given era. Singapore is too congested with buildings.
it only take a single bomb to wipe out our hard earned accomplishment.

the strategy to move the battle ground to johore is correct at that given era. Singapore is too congested with buildings.
it only take a single bomb to wipe out our hard earned accomplishment.

with hindsight, i agree...but the strategy is correct as the water catchment area in Johore would also have been secured.

Not really leh...my men were all psyche up and ready...maybe we are Guards Unit.

Not only you lah, all operational units were on standby but i think each unit had different planned scenario given, yes there were lots of different "talk on the ground" like rolling armour out on northern parts of SG in anticipation of insurgent strikes by MAF, closing & securing causeway, MAF was even threathening to shoot down RSAF AWACS etc. But in reality, BG Choo knew it was all war mongering talk on account of Herzog's visit, all he could do was put operational units on standby & it ended up as another episode of Kris Sabre Rattling. In fact if i'm not mistaken, KL was informed about Herzog's visit 4-6 months prior. It was only when news media reported it on both sides that the "flare up" happened. Kena like Kancheong Spider right:D

not sure lah...me only a small fry LTA...ASK ME TO MOVE I MOVE WITH MY MEN .... never thought of big consequences...only 21 then u know...where got think so much...but with hindsight...could have died lor either from men firing at officers or from enemy fire.

you won't die one lah, unless from confined to barracks & PCC till die:D I remember karaoke & chicken business were complaining of low turn out on saturday nights:D

in 1986...where got karaoke? not popular then lah

got lah, but just starting out that time, not as popular like now KTV everywhere. I still remember my encik who frequented a Shanghai GoGo bar type joint in Jln Besar area, one night he invited all of us for his birthday, i never laughed so much in my life, even mid song he can tekan us from stage with his vulgar language.:D

Israeli President Chaim Herzog Visited Singapore
21st November 1986, Friday

The official visit in November 1986 by the Israeli President, Chaim Herzog resulted in violent anti-Singapore demonstrations in Malaysia for five weeks. Malaysian government protested by temporarily withdrawing the Malaysian high commissioner in Singapore to Kuala Lumpur. Malaysia’s Politician Abdul Razak Ahmad laid on the railway track in Johor Baru in an attempt to stop a Singapore-bound train in protest against the visit of then Israeli president Chaim Herzog to Singapore.

--------------------

I was in NS Guards Unit in 1986. I remember the edgy relationship with Malaysia. Malaysia threatened to cut off water supply to Sinkieland. The Cabinet was edgy and the miltary were tasked to think of a response plan. The plan was that if water supply was indeed cut, the Singapore Armed Forces was to move into Johore and secured the water supply.

A lot of SAF units were on standby. Amongst them, 3rd Guards which I was in...We sleep with boots and have live ammo ready at all times....it was frightening....

Alas...nothing happened in the end...

Any forumrunners were in the same shit then in Nov 1986?

Thanks to you, Singapore was saved and our sovereinty intact.

Israeli President Chaim Herzog Visited Singapore
21st November 1986, Friday

The official visit in November 1986 by the Israeli President, Chaim Herzog resulted in violent anti-Singapore demonstrations in Malaysia for five weeks. Malaysian government protested by temporarily withdrawing the Malaysian high commissioner in Singapore to Kuala Lumpur. Malaysia’s Politician Abdul Razak Ahmad laid on the railway track in Johor Baru in an attempt to stop a Singapore-bound train in protest against the visit of then Israeli president Chaim Herzog to Singapore.

--------------------

I was in NS Guards Unit in 1986. I remember the edgy relationship with Malaysia. Malaysia threatened to cut off water supply to Sinkieland. The Cabinet was edgy and the miltary were tasked to think of a response plan. The plan was that if water supply was indeed cut, the Singapore Armed Forces was to move into Johore and secured the water supply.

A lot of SAF units were on standby. Amongst them, 3rd Guards which I was in...We sleep with boots and have live ammo ready at all times....it was frightening....

Alas...nothing happened in the end...

Any forumrunners were in the same shit then in Nov 1986?

I was tend in Singapore and was in the PAP Youth Wing .... the first few to join them as young professionals. Yes, I heard of those army mobilization and even read of the biggest JOKE of my life: "LKY said that he did NOT know of the President Herzog's visit only till he read it in the Shitty Times".

Thanks to this Herzog' incident.....it helped me to make up my mind to immigrate....in 1991 I took my whole family to Canada.......very happy. We have a son born in Canada long after I gave up the SillyPOOR Citizsnship thus my son is not liable for the National Slavery!

SAF is no match lah ...got hardware, but the troops has low morale. The commanders fear for their lives, knowing that a substantial segment of the troops will take the opportunity to end the 'leadership' of the imbeciles. Whereas commanders elsewhere earn respect, our 'scholars' feel entitled. And they behaved as such.

The current strategy of defending sinkapore is a losing one; NS is primarily used for brain-washing. But even the brain-washers are not committed to their work.

It was still BANNED in 1986. Patrons weren't allowed to sing anywhere. It was against the licensing laws. VB wasn't even around at the time.

TS

We did not go into high alert during the Herzog's visit. It might be a few gung-ho commanders who excited and went overboard. They probably were on low level alert.

The high alert and mobilisation was circa July 1998 over CIQ. The TV mobilisation went berserk and we had to fly our gold out of the country and it took many lorries and guarded by Gurkhas with massive escorts and screaming sirens that went on and on along Robsinson Rd.

The Second incident was recent over joint Malaysia and Indonesia exercise in Johor with Singapore calling the other side with a threat of pre-emptive strike.

Tun Mahathir had to use President Herzog's visit to S'pore as a ploy to create a diversion because he was on the verge of being overthrown by Musa and Razaleigh.

If not for Daim's last minute mastermind stroke for buying over Najib to switch camp on the eve of 1987 UMNO Annual General Assembly Party election, Tun Mahathir would have been history.

I was tend in Singapore and was in the PAP Youth Wing .... the first few to join them as young professionals. Yes, I heard of those army mobilization and even read of the biggest JOKE of my life: "LKY said that he did NOT know of the President Herzog's visit only till he read it in the Shitty Times".

Thanks to this Herzog' incident.....it helped me to make up my mind to immigrate....in 1991 I took my whole family to Canada.......very happy. We have a son born in Canada long after I gave up the SillyPOOR Citizsnship thus my son is not liable for the National Slavery!

emigrate to Canada = to leave SG to seek residence in Canada

whereas say, Filipinos immigrate to SG = Filipinos leaving the Philippines for SG

SAF is no match lah ...got hardware, but the troops has low morale. The commanders fear for their lives, knowing that a substantial segment of the troops will take the opportunity to end the 'leadership' of the imbeciles. Whereas commanders elsewhere earn respect, our 'scholars' feel entitled. And they behaved as such.

The current strategy of defending sinkapore is a losing one; NS is primarily used for brain-washing. But even the brain-washers are not committed to their work.

Perhaps, we should hold our criticism until we give them , or there is a chance for them to prove their ability and determination.

TS

We did not go into high alert during the Herzog's visit. It might be a few gung-ho commanders who excited and went overboard. They probably were on low level alert.

The high alert and mobilisation was circa July 1998 over CIQ. The TV mobilisation went berserk and we had to fly our gold out of the country and it took many lorries and guarded by Gurkhas with massive escorts and screaming sirens that went on and on along Robsinson Rd.

The Second incident was recent over joint Malaysia and Indonesia exercise in Johor with Singapore calling the other side with a threat of pre-emptive strike.

Pardon me, what is CIQ?

And when was the recent joint Malaysia Indonesia exercise?

Thank you.

i think all of u will be killed before crossing the causeway. police angchia also on high alert for protest to march across the causeway. i think they were standing by fully equipped, hiding somewhere near causeway and out of public view. Golden Dragon got any stories on this?

One of those rare occasion whereby both intel agencies were kept busy. MINDEF, MHA and MFA were all seepay bo eng too.