• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat We can weather the US-China trade war: DPM Heng

bobby

NP_20190529_DAWAR29_4874148.jpg

Singapore is prepared for the negative consequences of the Sino-US trade war, but it must transform its economy at an "even faster pace" if it is to deal with the fallout, Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat said yesterday.

Speaking to Singapore reporters in Shenzhen as he wrapped up his visit to China, Mr Heng said the trade war would have a very negative impact on both the regional and global economies, and though Singapore could weather the storm, it was "not an issue that can be resolved immediately".

"The main thing that we must do is to ensure that we transform our economy at an even faster pace, because besides the trade war, we are also going to be faced with very rapid changes in technology," he said.

"This is of utmost importance, and we must focus our minds and our energies on this. I hope that corporate leaders will take this very seriously - this is also an opportunity to turn adversity into strength."

His comments come as the Singapore economy feels the effects of escalating trade tensions between China and the United States.

Singapore's first-quarter growth was slower than forecast, prompting the Ministry of Trade and Industry to revise its full-year growth forecast downwards.

Mr Heng's eight-day visit, which ended yesterday, was his first to China since becoming Deputy Prime Minister earlier this month.

He met top Chinese leaders in Beijing, Shanghai and Guangdong province, including Premier Li Keqiang and Vice-Premier Han Zheng.

Mr Heng said one thing that struck him from his meetings with the Chinese leaders was that they take a long-term view, focusing on key areas and priorities.

He also had discussions on how to take the bilateral relationship forward in the next five to 10 years, he added.

Chinese leaders expressed appreciation for the bilateral cooperation that had taken place over the years, he said, noting that "at every stage, we have been able to look at projects which are beneficial to both sides".

Mr Heng is scheduled to fly to Tokyo today to attend the 25th Nikkei Conference.

He sure talking cock.

This small dot can withstand the big trade war when our economy relies solely on trade?

He sure talking cock.

This small dot can withstand the big trade war when our economy relies solely on trade?
Trade between US and China, must detour through Singapore meh? American soybean pass through SG will taste sweeter har? :rolleyes:

can lah. so long as makan and kopi are below $6.9 combined, sinkies can tahan any trade war between two biggest economies.

If US and China trade war hit SG! no problem! our Ah Long san will increase taxes

and GST to over come the economic down turn~!! That's what they have said!! Suck you peasants high and dry !!

Like salted fish ! Giam Her!!