• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wats the point of upgrading hawker centre but no FW to clean the table

This sort of job should be done by Foreigners anyway. Even if up to 2K locals also wont do. Might as well hire foreigners on work permits for a few years. after that send them home than replace with younger workers who can tahan the 12 hr shift. That is what i am advocating..low class jobs is to be done by foreigners, PMET and executive jobs to be done by locals.

By keeping the wages down for this sector, in ensures locals benefit from a low cost of living. Cheaper hawker food etc. These benefits the foreigner as well as when they go home, they earn more than in their own home countries,..do both sides benefit.

PAP has screw things up by allowing incompetent foreigners to take PMET jobs and given free scholarships to foreigners and ignoring the locals..in a true democracy,,PAP would never have been allowed to go that far..PAP should be thrown out during the next election,,,thanks 60%
In times like this, 2K sure can get many Sinkees to take on this job. Remember, there are many locals that do not qualify for PMET jobs. So what do you expect them to work as? Sell tissue paper?

This sort of job should be done by Foreigners anyway. Even if up to 2K locals also wont do. Might as well hire foreigners on work permits for a few years. after that send them home than replace with younger workers who can tahan the 12 hr shift. That is what i am advocating..low class jobs is to be done by foreigners, PMET and executive jobs to be done by locals.

By keeping the wages down for this sector, in ensures locals benefit from a low cost of living. Cheaper hawker food etc. These benefits the foreigner as well as when they go home, they earn more than in their own home countries,..do both sides benefit.

PAP has screw things up by allowing incompetent foreigners to take PMET jobs and given free scholarships to foreigners and ignoring the locals..in a true democracy,,PAP would never have been allowed to go that far..PAP should be thrown out during the next election,,,thanks 60%

Let do the Math.
FT worker cleaner pay min is $20/8hr job. 12hr would be min $30.
Plus levy is about $450/month that $15/days.
Plus the dormitory $250/month that $8/day.
So total price for FT cleaner 12 shift is $30 x 30 days= $900 salary per month.
$900 + $450 levy + $250 dormitory= $1600min/month not included medical check up,deposit,air ticket, insurance.
If all included the FT cleaner will also cost about $1800~$2000/month. But local cleaner company try to take advantage of old people paying half the amount of the FT cleaner.
PAP go eat shit. FT pay higher than local.

Where got ask strangers clean up your shits one?

You should clean up your own shits mah!

Lazy Singaporeans can't even clear their own tables?

Do you leave all your plates and dishes on the dinning tables after you finished your meals at your own home?

Or you expect your maids to do everything?

Next time bring your maids to hawker centers lah!

Singaporeans gracious and civilized? Look at the tables so yucky!!

No resemblance to First world Civilized angmo Countries!

I am disgraced to be Singaporean!

In a hawker centre, it would be more appropriate for the stall owners to assign someone to collect the stall's plates, bowls and cutlery. First of all, the diners may not necessarily be seated near the stall. Secondly, unlike a food court, every stall uses different plates, bowls, cups and cutlery, so you can't put them all at the same location.

Also, if you don't need to clear your own table at a restaurant or food court or coffee shop, why should you do it at a hawker centre? At what point does clearing the table become 'self-service'? Where is the line drawn? Price? Ambience? Food quality?

Lastly, as fellow Sinkie conscripts know: we resent being reminded of school canteens and SAF cookhouses. Some other unpleasant rituals, such as reserved seating for teachers/officers, should also NOT be brought to the outside civilian world.

The solution is obvious but SGreans are unwilling to face the truth and the government has been complicit in pandering to the people in order to stay in power. Consider yourself cooking a meal for yourself in your own home. You will need to pay for the ingredients, cutlery, power, water, detergent and your labour. How much will you be charging for such a meal? I will bet it will be much more than the $3 you pay at the hawker centre and I have not taken into account, rental. In a high-cost economy, there is no way to escape paying high wages. The only way is to import labour willing to work for lower wages. The problem is that SGreans are not willing to accept paying more for a meal at the hawker centre. They always feel that some jobs are not worth paying so much for. If that is the case, then they should do the job themselves to save on paying others. They will then be singing a different tune. SGreans should not be complaining that people doing these "lowly' but worthy jobs should get low wages, they should be fighting to get higher wages for themselves if they want to have more spending power.

SGreans are basically cowards. They pick on the most vulnerable to benefit themselves instead of recognising that everyone has an equal right to a minimum living standard and basic working conditions and taking on those stronger than themselves. It is the same with foreigners. If you are worried about the mass influx, you don't sit back and simply complain to the government. The government is only too happy to have the workers fighting among themselves so that they will not start scrutinising the government.

The tray is most hygienically suspect. A cursory wipe and reused again. I'd always say take-away even when I intend to eat-in. They'll pack my order in a fresh clean paper bag and I'd be still be entitled to eat-in. It'd also be easily to pack up after eating and dump it in the bin.

That's for fast food. Customers cleaning up tables in hawker centres with full meals of plates, bowls, bones etc.? I don't think so. Why don't you think in the reverse way? If new customers find a vacant table but cluttered, the new customers who volunteer to clean it up get the table?

My wife is much more picky about this hygiene thing than I am, when ordering milo or other warm beverage from drink stall, she normally asks for take-away styrofoam cup because she distrusts their washing (which she calls rinsing) methods.

Customers already holding to their trays of food, no hands free to clean up the clutter, but if they do, agree they get the tables.

My wife is much more picky about this hygiene thing than I am, when ordering milo or other warm beverage from drink stall, she normally asks for take-away styrofoam cup because she distrusts their washing (which she calls rinsing) methods.......

I also worry about hygiene but as a local my body's anti-bodies have developed a resistance to the local bugs.

Using 'cheap' styrofoam can pose a long term hazard to one's health. Styrofoam cups may leach toxic chemicals especially when you use it with hot liquids.

Let do the Math.
FT worker cleaner pay min is $20/8hr job. 12hr would be min $30.
Plus levy is about $450/month that $15/days.
Plus the dormitory $250/month that $8/day.
So total price for FT cleaner 12 shift is $30 x 30 days= $900 salary per month.
$900 + $450 levy + $250 dormitory= $1600min/month not included medical check up,deposit,air ticket, insurance.
If all included the FT cleaner will also cost about $1800~$2000/month. But local cleaner company try to take advantage of old people paying half the amount of the FT cleaner.
PAP go eat shit. FT pay higher than local.

Well if it cost 2K for a foreign trash to do the job,,than that same amount should be offered to a local to do it. The cleaning company needs to be taken to account on short changing locals,,in other countries such companies kenna fine from the gahmen,,but in sinkieland the govt aids and promotes such discrimination,,fuck PAP

I also worry about hygiene but as a local my body's anti-bodies have developed a resistance to the local bugs.

Using 'cheap' styrofoam can pose a long term hazard to one's health. Styrofoam cups may leach toxic chemicals especially when you use it with hot liquids.

Me missus and me both grew up in Sg, but for some reason, her body is more sensitive than mine to bugs and stuff. I go to Indonesia sometimes and so far (touch wood) have not had the shits yet.

Until the drink stalls switch to paper cups, styrofoam is the only choice she has.

My grandpa (on maternal side) was a coffeeshop assistant. In the old days, used cups and spoons were double rinsed. First through the common tap water wash, then through a traditional (now extinct) mini-but-long drain-shaped container of hot boiled water before being used to serve again. For those who eat bakkutteh will know, the teacups are served with a basin of hot boiled water to double rinse it for hygiene. The trouble is nowadays it's only traditional and ritual after the introduction of plastic utensils. What's the point of having your teacups cleaned when your hot bakkutteh is served in plastic bowls? Therefore, always look for bakkutteh stalls serving with claypot or porcelain only. With the high temperature of bakkutteh (and other soups), you'd be consuming lots of pastic "vitamins." :eek: