• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Water Purification sytem for the home

I have been looking for a filtration system that will remove fluoride from tap water without the use of expensive power. Came across products from Berkey filters. It is made in Britain & is very reasonably priced.

Has anyone had any first hand experience with the product:confused:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_s...=berkey+filter&sprefix=berkey+filter,aps,2352

just buy those drinking water used in office lah.
each person wont drink a lot also.
you can use bath ,flush and wash with our normal tap water

There's lots of info on the dangers of chlorine, fluoride,....etc In Spore you even can have dead bodies in our drinking water :D

I've been looking for something the whole family can use for cooking & drinking. It's just that I haven't found a system that can eliminate fluoride until I found out about the Berkey filtration system. It is also I think a reasonably priced system. The only problem is that it is quite bulky.

I also though it was safe to shower since I'm not drinking the water but watching the video by Mercola I now know this is not true.
Recommend you watch the youtube by Mercola as he discuses the health issues with "municpal" water supplies starting at 1:25 of the video.

[video=youtube;sHBbjtYt9D0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHBbjtYt9D0[/video]

Chlorine can combine with other organic materials to produce DPB's which can cause problems like cancer. I quote if you don't have a filter you i.e. your body becomes the filter.

At 13:10 of the video he discuses about how we absorb the chlorinated water when we shower. We are absorbing it through our skin & by breathing it in. I've also added a shower filter to my shopping list.

These precautions are I think a cheaper alternative to getting ill. Especially in Spore.

There's lots of info on the dangers of chlorine, fluoride,....etc In Spore you even can have dead bodies in our drinking water :D

I've been looking for something the whole family can use for cooking & drinking. It's just that I haven't found a system that can eliminate fluoride until I found out about the Berkey filtration system. It is also I think a reasonably priced system. The only problem is that it is quite bulky.

I also though it was safe to shower since I'm not drinking the water but watching the video by Mercola I now know this is not true.
Recommend you watch the youtube by Mercola as he discuses the health issues with "municpal" water supplies starting at 1:25 of the video.

[video=youtube;sHBbjtYt9D0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHBbjtYt9D0[/video]

Chlorine can combine with other organic materials to produce DPB's which can cause problems like cancer. I quote if you don't have a filter you i.e. your body becomes the filter.

At 13:10 of the video he discuses about how we absorb the chlorinated water when we shower. We are absorbing it through our skin & by breathing it in. I've also added a shower filter to my shopping list.

These precautions are I think a cheaper alternative to getting ill. Especially in Spore.
Like that cannot go swimming liao. Pool is full with chlorinated water.

get the waterwise 8800 deluxe countertop water distiller. it's a workhorse, and you won't look back. mine has been distilling water daily for the last 6 years. the only time i needed to do a thorough cleaning was when the mineral deposit buildup in the boiler-container was so thick it created an insulation and prevented the water from boiling. once the deposit lining is removed every 3 years, it works like a charm. it also tells me the water supply from the tap is full of guck, thus the brownish deposit.

If our tap water is so good, why there are rumour that most of our MP has water filter system in their house?

Like that cannot go swimming liao. Pool is full with chlorinated water.

If you know any regular swimmers you'll notice that their hair has a bleached look. This is exposure to chlorine.

People get health problem because of unhealthy habits. Most of the problems appear later in life after long term exposure to carcinogens:smoking, toxins, ...etc Other risks that swimmers face is skin cancer from all that exposure to the sun.

don't think too much lah...we all die someday.....how to cover ourselves from everything.....might as well live in the mountains

get the waterwise 8800 deluxe countertop water distiller. it's a workhorse, and you won't look back. mine has been distilling water daily for the last 6 years. the only time i needed to do a thorough cleaning was when the mineral deposit buildup in the boiler-container was so thick it created an insulation and prevented the water from boiling. once the deposit lining is removed every 3 years, it works like a charm. it also tells me the water supply from the tap is full of guck, thus the brownish deposit.

The problem with the waterwise 8800 is that it is a distiller.

A distiller requires power to run & power is expensive in Spore. Distilled water might be good for your car but not good for the health because of the higher acidity. For those considering a distiller they should should read about the cons such as listed in the following:
http://www.waterbenefitshealth.com/drinking-distilled-water.html

don't think too much lah...we all die someday.....how to cover ourselves from everything.....might as well live in the mountains

We will all die eventually. However it's a matter of quality of life. If possible I want to avoid being ill in my old age.

With 7 million Spore will be a very unhealthy place to live. Just imagine all the pollution from the cars & also the noise pollution.

i use this at home.

hexagon water filtration system

Singapore_Hexagon_Alkaline_Hydrogen_Water20106251544477.jpg

think it costs around $600-$700 now.

The problem with the waterwise 8800 is that it is a distiller.

A distiller requires power to run & power is expensive in Spore. Distilled water might be good for your car but not good for the health because of the higher acidity.

need to add minerals that is more alkaline back to distilled water before drinking. after drinking, can run like a car. :D

--------deleted--------duplicate post.

i use this at home.

hexagon water filtration system

Singapore_Hexagon_Alkaline_Hydrogen_Water20106251544477.jpg

think it costs around $600-$700 now.

I see it being sold in Spore for $350
http://www.waterbenefitshealth.com/drinking-distilled-water.html

Have you replaced any of the cartridges & what do they cost:confused: I find that Spore's water is pretty clean & I've never had to replace the cartridge in my system.

The main reason I want to upgrade is because I want to filter out fluoride from tap water. This is something that most systems cannot filter out. Another advantage of the Berkey system is that it can use rainwater i.e. the water doesn't have to be potable. These days of "honest mistakes" you never know if the water system will ever break down:(

However it's a matter of quality of life. If possible I want to avoid being ill in my old age.

This I agree......but my point is - we cannot cover all grounds lor else machiam like doomsday preppers damn stupid.......do what we can I suppose....

With 7 million Spore will be a very unhealthy place to live. Just imagine all the pollution from the cars & also the noise pollution.

Not only pollution from cars and noise....TB has made a comeback and we know why it came back.....with 7m people, the garmen will tell you that's another 2m people that did not properly drain water and cause more dengue....

This I agree......but my point is - we cannot cover all grounds lor else machiam like doomsday preppers damn stupid.......do what we can I suppose......

Actually one of the reasons I was looking at upgrading my current filtration system was because I was also looking for something that can be use in Spore as well as in Thailand. The Berkey system fits the requirement very well. They have a smaller unit which is called the Travel Berkey which is only 12 inches tall.

During last years floods the main problem was getting potable water. With a Berkey I don't if I get stuck in LOS:)

I have been looking for a filtration system that will remove fluoride from tap water without the use of expensive power.

NEWater direct from NEWater plant got chloride and fluoride or not? :eek::eek::eek:

just enhance your kidney.
your kidney will filter out waste.
in the stone age,rain fall into the jungle.they just drink the m&d water

Actually one of the reasons I was looking at upgrading my current filtration system was because I was also looking for something that can be use in Spore as well as in Thailand. The Berkey system fits the requirement very well. They have a smaller unit which is called the Travel Berkey which is only 12 inches tall.

During last years floods the main problem was getting potable water. With a Berkey I don't if I get stuck in LOS:)

thanks for posting this... i will check out this filtration system too.. would love to have my water chlorine free and fluorine free too. i am currently using a system which remove chlorine effectively but nothing on fluorine.