• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Want to be successful? Avoid toxic co-workers and culture

Take Lee Hsien Loong and Chan Chun Sing as examples.

Loong born into a educated, successful Prime Minister family. Chan, born into a peasant single parent family, always trying to make ends meet.

Loong, no matter how fuckup you may think he is, speaks proper English, clear diction, and clarity. Chan, after all these years, still fumbling in his speeches after tons of money spent on his scholarship and training.

However, both have accumulative advantages.

Loong, by virtue of his good family background, early coaching by his parents and opportunities; Chan, picking up his accumulative advantages from his later presidential scholarships and connections along the way through his time in PAP.

My simple point is ACCUMULATIVE ADVANTAGES plays a large part in your success, whether you are born in the right family (Loong) or you are lucky, and pick up along the way like Chan.

Similarly, had Ching not married Loong, she would not have those ACCUMULATIVE ADVANTAGES that she has today. She wouldn't be what she is today. No?
KNN CCS case is a different type of 天时地利人和 KNN is the forced out type to carry the right balls KNN

he can meet not everyone can meet mah

That's true too. That explains why a lot of old people rotting and la kopi at kopi shop everyday. Nothing sarcastic, but it's fate and life. At their age, it's virtually impossible to accumulate any more ACCUMULATIVE ADVANTAGES.

The only way for them is TOTO 8m. :D

KNN CCS case is a different type of 天时地利人和 KNN is the forced out type to carry the right balls KNN
His Accumulative Advantage is he join the right party at the right time, meeting his 贵人. Otherwise, with his speech limitations, I doubt he will ever make it in politics.

Take Lee Hsien Loong and Chan Chun Sing as examples.

Loong born into a educated, successful Prime Minister family. Chan, born into a peasant single parent family, always trying to make ends meet.

Loong, no matter how fuckup you may think he is, speaks proper English, clear diction, and clarity. Chan, after all these years, still fumbling in his speeches after tons of money spent on his scholarship and training.

However, both have accumulative advantages.

Loong, by virtue of his good family background, early coaching by his parents and opportunities; Chan, picking up his accumulative advantages from his later presidential scholarships and connections along the way through his time in PAP.

My simple point is ACCUMULATIVE ADVANTAGES plays a large part in your success, whether you are born in the right family (Loong) or you are lucky, and pick up along the way like Chan.

Similarly, had Ching not married Loong, she would not have those ACCUMULATIVE ADVANTAGES that she has today. She wouldn't be what she is today. No?

i look at pple's heart more. many sinkies don't understand or refuse to see that pap ministars have a good heart, not all but i dare say majority.

many times, even in my personal and work life back in sg, i had encountered many green eye sore losers.

the things that they say and do are downright despicable and really unbelievable. *spit*

one was even from the s'pore police force, he harbour intention of wanting to be CEO of ST or even MP but too bad, i have already spread a highly suspicious piece of his own writing as evidence to my own circle. his father was also from the force, really unthinkable father and son from the police force, the way they behave. too bad for me... my life not as good cos' i don't have a father to guide me.

i look at pple's heart more. many sinkies don't understand or refuse to see that pap ministars have a good heart, not all but i dare say majority.

many times, even in my personal and work life back in sg, i had encountered many green eye sore losers.

the things that they say and do are downright despicable and really unbelievable. *spit*

one was even from the s'pore police force, he harbour intention of wanting to be CEO of ST or even MP but too bad, i have already spread a highly suspicious piece of his own writing as evidence to my own circle.
Whether a person has a good heart or not is subjective. There's no standard measurement. If your boss is nice to X and nasty to Y, X will say Boss is caring and have a good heart. Y will inevitably FUCK THAT MOTHER CCB BOSS. :D.

To me, it's all relative, having experienced being X and Y in my long career.

Whether a person has a good heart or not is subjective. There's no standard measurement. If your boss is nice to X and nasty to Y, X will say Boss is caring and have a good heart. Y will inevitably FUCK THAT MOTHER CCB BOSS. :biggrin:.

To me, it's all relative, having experienced being X and Y in my long career.

a good heart is needed in all aspects, mind can be trained.

21 billionaires who grew up poor

Áine Cain, Rachel Gillett, Business Insider US
August 28, 2018
5aa3134dbe412090078b46ab.png
Oprah Winfrey grew up in poverty and started off her career by becoming the first African American TV correspondent in Nashville. Lucy Nicholson/Reuters

Billionaires don’t always come from moneyed backgrounds.
• In fact, many famous billionaires actually grew up poor.
• From George Soros to Larry Ellison to Oprah Winfrey, here’s a look at how some of the wealthiest people on the planet came up from nothing.

Billionaires aren’t all born with silver spoons in their mouths.

In fact, many came from nothing at all.
The “rags-to-riches” trope may be a cliché, but it’s one that’s definitely grounded in reality for some famous billionaires.
Through extraordinary grit and perseverance, individuals across the globe have beat the odds and achieved their own rags-to-riches stories.
Here are 21 people who started off life poor and went on to become billionaires:

Montpellier rugby club president and Entrepreneur of the Year Mohed Altrad survived on one meal a day when he moved to France.
5aa310130696ea19008b4695.png

Alliance Internationale/Flickr
Net worth: $2.6 billion

Born into a nomadic tribe in the Syrian dessert to a poor mother who was raped by his fatherand died when he was young, Altrad was raised by his grandmother. She banned him from attending school in Raqqa, the city that is now capital of ISIS. Altrad attended school anyway, and when he moved to France to attend university, he knew no French and lived off of one meal a day.

Still, he earned a PhD in computer science, worked for some leading French companies, and eventually bought a failing scaffolding company, which he transformed into one of the world’s leading manufacturers of scaffolding and cement mixers, Altrad Group.

He has previously been named French Entrepreneur of the Year and World Entrepreneur of the Year.

Starbucks founder Howard Schultz grew up in a housing complex for the poor.
5aa30e62c6e98094068b4671.png

Stephen Brashear/Getty
Net worth:$2.9 billion

In an interview with the Mirror, Schultz said: “Growing up I always felt like I was living on the other side of the tracks. I knew the people on the other side had more resources, more money, happier families. And for some reason, I don’t know why or how, I wanted to climb over that fence and achieve something beyond what people were saying was possible. I may have a suit and tie on now but I know where I’m from and I know what it’s like.”

Schultz ended up winning a football scholarship to the University of Northern Michigan and went to work for Xerox after graduation. Shortly after, he took over a coffee shop called Starbucks, which at the time had only 60 shops. Schultz became the company’s CEO in 1987 and grew the coffee chain to more than 16,000 outlets worldwide.

He’s since stepped down from his role as the coffee giant’s CEO, and also resigned as executive chairman in 2018.

Forever 21 founder Do Won Chang worked as a janitor, gas station attendant, and in a coffee shop when he first moved to America.
5aa30f16a4f4ac1c008b46ce.png

Joshua Blanchard / Stringer / Getty Images
Net worth:$3.3 billion

The husband-and-wife team – Do Won Chang and Jin Sook – behind Forever 21 didn’t always have it so easy. After moving to America from Korea in 1981, Do Won had to work three jobsat the same time to make ends meet. They opened their first clothing store in 1984.

Forever 21 is now an international, 790-store empire.

At one time, businessman Shahid Khan washed dishes for $1.20 an hour.
5aa30ed0be412030008b46d3.png

Sam Greenwood/Getty Images
Net worth:$7 billion

He’s now one of the richest people in the world, but when Khan came to the US from Pakistan, he worked as a dishwasher while attending the University of Illinois. Khan now owns Flex-N-Gate, one of the largest private companies in the US, the NFL’s Jacksonville Jaguars, and the soccer club Fulham.

Ralph Lauren was once a clerk at Brooks Brothers dreaming of men’s ties.
5aa2b1f9b2a7d3332a8b461e.png

Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images
Net worth:$7.2 billion

Lauren graduated high school in the Bronx, New York, but later dropped out of college to join the Army. It was while working as a clerk at Brooks Brothers that Lauren questioned whether men were ready for wider and brighter designs in ties. The year he decided to make his dream a reality, 1967, Lauren sold $500,000 worth of ties. He started Polo the next year.

WhatsApp founder Jan Koum emigrated to the US.
5aa3195da4f4ac31058b46f3.png

Reuters
Net worth:$9.1 billion

Koum was born in Kyiv, Ukraine. At the age of 16, he accompanied his mother to California, where they secured an apartment through government assistance. In order to survive, he swept floors at a local store.

According to the Independent, Koum taught himself computer skills. In 2009, he cofounded the world’s largest mobile messaging service WhatsApp, which was purchased by Facebook for $22 billion in 2014.

Luxury goods mogul Francois Pinault quit high school in 1974 after being bullied for being poor.
5aa2b23a00792e1e008b46df.png

Charles Platiau/Reuters
Net worth:$32.7 billion

Pinault is now the honorary chairman of fashion conglomerate Kering (formerly PPR), but at one time, he had to quit high school because he was teased so harshly for beingpoor.

As a businessman, Pinault is known for his “predator” tactic, which includes buying smaller firms for a fraction of the cost when the market crashes. He eventually started PPR, which owns high-end fashion houses including Gucci, Stella McCartney, Alexander McQueen, and Yves Saint Laurent.

Today, he owns Christie’s, the world’s top art business.

... My simple point is ACCUMULATIVE ADVANTAGES plays a large part in your success, whether you are born in the right family (Loong) or you are lucky, and pick up along the way like Chan.

basically, u r saying either b a big deal skolar or join ah loonz gang ...
Nope, I ain't saying that because at the end the day, it's your own FATE that determines your path whether you meet the right people (whether you are borned high ses or low ses). You may want to join PAP, but PAP might not want you no matter how talented you are.

Everyone of us would have accumulated some ACCUMULATIVE ADVANTAGES along the way, some accumulated more, others accumulated less. To me, accumulating ACCUMULATIVE ADVANTAGES is akin to Fate. I link it to the Taoist concept of WuWei 无为, which I happen to believe (though I am not a Taoist).

I shall post about WuWei later and perhaps, you may want to think about how WuWei relates to the western concept of accumulative advantage. :biggrin:

End of day if you are richie rich and successful, you konglanjiaowei, people still come and listen.:biggrin:
Then you will come up with your biography about your successful stories...yet all say must be hardworking passion commitment
Knn imply then other population all sit 1 corner shake balls:biggrin:

End of day if you are richie rich and successful, you konglanjiaowei, people still come and listen.:biggrin:
Then you will come up with your biography about your successful stories...yet all say must be hardworking passion commitment
Knn imply then other population all sit 1 corner shake balls:biggrin:
True. Absolutely. Advantage begets Advantage. Matthew Effect.