• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Want to be a bus captain? Think twice. Actually, think thrice.

Johnrambo

I passed out from SMRT training school and started working as a bus captain on 20th October last year. Barely a month into the job I was already contemplating quitting after being paid a pro-rated quantum of my annual wage supplement (AWS). Back then I was assigned service no.965, a route which involved ferrying passengers between Woodlands and Sengkang bus interchanges. Each off-peak hour trip must be completed within 119 min, whilst around 130 min is designated for each peak hour trip. Suffice to say, this frenetic pace of affairs day in day out leaves one extremely exhausted.

Only a 10-minute layover was granted: after passengers have alighted at the interchange and the bus gets parked, it's checking in at the time keeper's office followed by a quick toilet break.....then you gotta tap out once more prior to departure, collect bus keys and commence the next trip shortly. As far as meals were concerned we had to gobble down our food in under 35 minutes.

One thing that severely pissed me off was the $6k joining bonus. The amount awarded to moi suffered a 50% haircut ( yes I collected just $3k!!!!!), on top of this I had to be bonded for 2 years. Reason proferred? Owing to a headcount freeze, LTA wouldn't pay out the remaining $3k. Yet when I signed my appointment letter, SMRT had the gall to continue advertising the $6k joining bonus. Badgered HR personnel, they simply shoved me aside. And then the final confirmation arrived: $3k it was, not a cent more. Fyi, I graduated as part of the 31st batch; folks from the 30th batch had 6000 reasons to smile because they were among the last to be fully compensated. Lucky bastards.

More at https://tinyurI.com/yyzxf4jw

KNN the scarliest thing to be a bus driver is that you cannot park the bus in any place if you need to rush for urgent nature calls KNN

Imagine you're a bus driver driving along a highway (eg. PIE or ECP) during a severe traffic jam, you suddenly kena uncontrollable prolonged diarrhoea AND uncontrollable prolonged vomiting AND uncontrollable prolonged urination (might as well) in the single-deck air-conditioned bus overloaded with passengers (standing-room only, no place for passengers to move back).

Was not aware that LTA dictates headcounts for SMRT. What a rojak system then! Is SMRT a profit or non-profit company?

Call themselves captain but pay like corporal and work like a private....

Tot in First World slaves do enjoy better working conditions from Third World Countries. Imagine, paying the Queen of England's Butler Sgd 2k or what this Driver will be paid in UK.

There's a small bus terminal near a hawker centre, those who know always allow the bus driver to jump queue to buy food, they know they are always in a rush...

Because of $3K he consider quitting!!! WTF!!! This is a good example of a typical Sinkie - not far sighted. Expect easy job with high pay and peaks. It will be better if does not need to work and someone pays him.

There is no such thing as a free lunch. How many of us actually think his job is easy? This is the hard truth, deal with it.

worldiqmap.jpg

Call themselves captain but pay like corporal and work like a private....

The fabricated job title 'captain' is to make them feel good. It's like calling toilet cleaners 'sanitation specialists'.

Just like Security OFFICER. Actually security GUARDS aka jaga.

Bro , donch play play.

Next year they will be called ""Special Forces"".((after graduation)).:::

((maybe also wear Red Beret??)).

Screenshot_2019-07-23-15-46-27-1.png

Seriously la, u want good pay good working conditions, take a piss and do some self reflection too la.

If u can be a lawyer, why be a bus driver right? lol