Whats make u think your great grandfathers time was good worthy of yr embraced than u hv live today to see the change in China....
Did China went through 1 century of humilation by the BE and their allies.. and wasnt one of yr forefathers lived through this harassement.....
What was yr thought about being mainlander Chinese or as a diaspora Chinese the seeds that thrown by the way side..
one of my university courses was Chinese civilization and my professor was this guy :
https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=yEPcwfEAAAAJ&hl=en. With this link, you can learn a whole bunch of stuff about old China.
I have not met a more knowledgeable scholar on Chinese cultural history or someone who knows more about the complete (complete!!) history of China. I as nominally sinkie Chinese thought I knew what it was to be Chinese. How could some stupid chow ang moh teach me about my own people, my own history and my own culture? After some talks with him, I was left feeling embarrased at my arrogance, humbled at my ignorance and awestruck by the sheer depth of his knowledge about China past and present. It is fair to say that I learnt more about China from this guy than all the farking shit I have heard in my life than from EVERYONE else. I still have a book that he recommended to me about the magnificence and glory of ancient China and how many farking light years it was ahead of any other civilization in the world at it's time.
We never talked about it and I never thought to ask it, but years later, I started thinking about why the Chinese civilization declined to the state that it is 100 years ago where it was humiliated not just by BE, but all the Europeans as the sick man of the East. But as a philosophy enthusiast, I started thinking about it. My personal answer is Confucius and nepotism. It started a rot within the imperial dynastic system that set the stage for the downfall of Chinese rule of China. My thoughts on Confucius and nepotism are long and I don't want to write another paper rite now, but because of these two farking things, the farking Mongolians set up in China with Kubilai and company. They brought Islam, Arabs, Persians and all foreigner shit into China to dilute the power of Han Chinese. After the Yuan farkers who set up Beijing/Cambulac/Dadu as the capital of China left, the Ming copycatted the farking Mongolians and their barbaric brutalism. This farking Beijing is a fucking 2 horse Mongolian town back 500 years ago. Even the Beijing 鸭 is not from Beijing but from a chef who travelled from another part of China. It is telling that all the ducks came from Nanjing. But now with Confucius, nepotism, you can add the Mongolian barbarism which set China up for it's downfall to the semi-Mongolian Qing dynasty. Nurhaci of the Aisin Gioro Jurchen tribe. These people were not Han Chinese.
Fark! think of this farker ruling China with mandate of heaven when he's not even Han Chinese! Fark!!!
By my great-grandfather's time China already dying long death. The simple truth is like elsewhere I posted in this forum about life after death about ants attacking a weak and old chicken. China already was sick because of Confucianism and nepotism. The BE and other angmoh just capitalized on a carcass dying from bad internal policy. They were not the 1st. The mongolians were the 1st, the Jurchens the 2nd, then finally your angmohs. In truth, if Confucianism and nepotism didn't defeat China, it would still be the leading civilization in the world today.
If you look at earlier movies made in HongKong, the evil foreigners were not angmohs but Qing jurchens.
I don't disagree with being subject to harassment, but to be honest, my family prospered very much because of angmohs. That doesn't mean we weren't subject to harassment by angmohs. I certainly was. But my ancestors did much better than they would have under Communist China in the 60's. This is yet another full or multi-page paper in itself. I will save it for another time because this post is getting too long and my fingers are falling off.
As for mainlander Chinese. I have to admit to feeling both pity and envy. Envy because they are in a new position to do so much, but more pity because they are being misguided and controlled and lost their true heritage.
As for being diaspora Chinese being cast aside like unwanted seeds. OMG. That's also another long paper. Ok. I will say this much. We are cast aside. But we should be proud of who our ancestors were. Not our great-grandfather's, but those who existed before the the 1st foreign farking mongolian barbarian Yuan owned China. The Tang dynasty or the height of Chinese civilization. Anybody who knows anything about Chinese history will agree that it's the zenith or pinnacle of China. I'm sure you heard the phrase T'ng lang? T'ng sua? Well. those phrases are related to the fact that we are Tang people who came from Tang mountains. As a humourous aside, I often joke about how Mongolian horses can't climb mountains because their legs are too short. Which is why the last refuge of the old Han Chinese was in the South East. Mainly in Fukkien and part of canton. Which is why I will happily speak Hokkien, Teochew, and shitty Cantonese rather than Mandarin which is some fucking made up language based on Beijing/Cambulac/Dadu dialect. For fuck's sake, they had to redraw the map to include this non-existent Mongolian shithole. So just in case why you wonder the capital of China not in the centre, but in some remote NE corner so they can escape back to their home in fucking Mongolia in case of uprising from true Chinese.
And yes in Taiwan. In fact, I will point you to history where at three different times in Chinese history where Imperial/ruling class of China fled to Taiwan as a last resort. To me, they have a good claim to be the authentic China. But if they did, it will be the same shit all over again. Present day Taiwan looks somewhat like Tang culture with the same old disastrous ideals. The nepotism and Confucianism that brought the downfall of Han Chinese are still in place. So putting them in charge will just bring more cockroaches to the same old dying carcass with parasites during the century of humiliation. Honestly and realistically, it was 5 centuries of humiliation. It's only when the angmoh came in it became OBVIOUS humiliation.
In fact, I think a long of people who suck up to MAGA trump in this forum (not me!) are looking to be proud of themselves, but find communist/Maoist China unpalatable. So the next most appealing alternative is ang moh masters who made sinkieland the way it is. I don't agree with this either.
Super long story short : China is no longer our homeland. If it was lost if not 500 years ago, it was for sure by 1960 or thereabouts with Mao and the great leap forward. If you know anything about that shit era, all that made us Chinese was destroyed and instead replaced with the ideals of a self-serving reject Jew who Judaism doesn't even embrace. China today as a mainlander is living under the shite of some fucked up Russian German Jew who is not even accepted under his own people.
Be proud of yourself for being Chinese, but a pure Chinese. Not the half-fucked bastard Chinese that exist in China today with no clear idea and no clear vision on what it means to be Chinese. Fark! Our Chinese traditions and traditional practices stronger in SE Asia than China! In some parts of China a large part of the population are descendants of Genghis Khan. I am somewhat embarrased to say that it was the angmohs who taught me that I have to be proud to be part of the people who invented silk, paper, gunpowder, the compass, rocketry, paper currency, corrective optics for vision. fark I don't even know where to end on this list. All this happened before 500 years ago and the Mongolians whose language we now try to speak. farking Beijing dialect.
ok wrote too much already. happy to answer questions if you have them.