• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Vivian the Bastard Snake - Singapore Citizens, your duty is to Singapore

Cottonmouth

S'pore citizens' duty is to S'pore: Vivian Balakrishnan on whether S'poreans can fight in Ukraine for Ukrainians​

"Instead of choosing sides, we uphold principles," the foreign minister emphasised.
Zhangxin Zheng |
clock.png
February 28, 2022, 01:50 PM
singaporean-fight-ukraine.jpg

Several Members of Parliament (MPs) posed questions regarding the ongoing Russian invasion of Ukraine after Minister for Foreign Affairs Vivian Balakrishnan made his ministerial speech on the conflict on Feb. 28.
Sembawang GRC MP Lim Wee Kiak asked three questions, including whether the Singapore government will object to Singaporeans volunteering to join the foreign legion to fight with Ukrainians against the Russian aggression.
Ukraine president Volodymyr Zelensky put up an appeal to foreign nationals to come to Ukraine to fight against "Russian war criminals", on Feb. 27.
He added that the Ukrainian armed forces were in the process of setting a foreign legion unit for these volunteers, The Guardian reported.

Vivian's response on Singaporeans joining foreign legion in Ukraine​

In response to this question, Vivian reiterated that Singapore does not take sides and will uphold principles. Singapore also does not allow the import of foreign politics into Singapore's domestic environment.
Singapore also cannot support the promotion or organisation of armed groups into other countries, regardless of the justification.
He reminded that Singaporeans' duty is to Singapore, and our national interests.
Here's the full reply from Vivian in Parliament on Feb. 28:

"On your third question about the foreign legion, again, I will have to come back to principle. Singapore does not take sides. Singapore does not allow the import of foreign politics into Singapore's domestic environment.
Similarly, Singapore cannot support the promotion or organisation of armed groups, whatever their justification, into other countries, so our long standing rules and regulatory system must continue to apply.
So, Singapore citizens, your duty is to Singapore. To fight and die if need be, to defend our national interests and to take a long term view of what our national interests are. So I would leave it at that."

Recently, UK's foreign minister Liz Truss said she would support UK citizens who wished to fight for Ukraine, but was criticised as this could be illegal under UK law.

Instead of choosing sides, we uphold principles: Vivian​

Earlier in his ministerial speech on the Russia-Ukraine crisis, Vivian said that it is easy for small countries like Singapore to be caught up in geopolitical games of big powers.
"Small countries must avoid becoming sacrificial pawns, vassal states, or cat's paws to be used by one side against the other," Vivian added.
Therefore, it is important for Singapore to maintain good relations with our neighbouring countries and with big powers.
"When situations arise, our assessments and our actions are based on clearly enunciated and consistently held principles that are in our own long term national interests, instead of choosing sides," Vivian emphasised.
The foreign minister also encouraged people who wish to provide humanitarian assistance to go through proper channels like the Singapore Red Cross, which is working with the Ukrainian Red Cross Society and the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent societies.
They will provide essential relief supplies such as hygiene kits, family kits and household kits for the vulnerable people who have been displaced by the conflict.

He reminded that Singaporeans' duty is to Singapore, and our national interests.
Should be PAP's interests. He can ask his CECA Keling cousins to fight for Sinkapore. I will run road first.

lianbeng

S'pore citizens' duty is to S'pore: Vivian Balakrishnan on whether S'poreans can fight in Ukraine for Ukrainians​

"Instead of choosing sides, we uphold principles," the foreign minister emphasised.
Zhangxin Zheng |
clock.png
February 28, 2022, 01:50 PM
singaporean-fight-ukraine.jpg

Several Members of Parliament (MPs) posed questions regarding the ongoing Russian invasion of Ukraine after Minister for Foreign Affairs Vivian Balakrishnan made his ministerial speech on the conflict on Feb. 28.
Sembawang GRC MP Lim Wee Kiak asked three questions, including whether the Singapore government will object to Singaporeans volunteering to join the foreign legion to fight with Ukrainians against the Russian aggression.
Ukraine president Volodymyr Zelensky put up an appeal to foreign nationals to come to Ukraine to fight against "Russian war criminals", on Feb. 27.
He added that the Ukrainian armed forces were in the process of setting a foreign legion unit for these volunteers, The Guardian reported.

Vivian's response on Singaporeans joining foreign legion in Ukraine​

In response to this question, Vivian reiterated that Singapore does not take sides and will uphold principles. Singapore also does not allow the import of foreign politics into Singapore's domestic environment.
Singapore also cannot support the promotion or organisation of armed groups into other countries, regardless of the justification.
Here's the full reply from Vivian in Parliament on Feb. 28:

Recently, UK's foreign minister Liz Truss said she would support UK citizens who wished to fight for Ukraine, but was criticised as this could be illegal under UK law.

Instead of choosing sides, we uphold principles: Vivian​

Earlier in his ministerial speech on the Russia-Ukraine crisis, Vivian said that it is easy for small countries like Singapore to be caught up in geopolitical games of big powers.
"Small countries must avoid becoming sacrificial pawns, vassal states, or cat's paws to be used by one side against the other," Vivian added.
Therefore, it is important for Singapore to maintain good relations with our neighbouring countries and with big powers.
"When situations arise, our assessments and our actions are based on clearly enunciated and consistently held principles that are in our own long term national interests, instead of choosing sides," Vivian emphasised.
The foreign minister also encouraged people who wish to provide humanitarian assistance to go through proper channels like the Singapore Red Cross, which is working with the Ukrainian Red Cross Society and the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent societies.
They will provide essential relief supplies such as hygiene kits, family kits and household kits for the vulnerable people who have been displaced by the conflict.
lianbeng says he is not scared of Russia lah! lai lah kia lu ah!

millim6868

Of cos if sinkies fight n protect ,its the interest of themselves to protect their wealth n famies,whereas dinkies fight is to protect their debt n pigeon hoke, who stand to gain,lol,I not patriotic in this situation,lol, but there are still 61% kum lang who will fight,lol

borom

"He reminded that Singaporeans' duty is to Singapore, and our national interests."

Does that include allowing millions of foreigners here to steal our jobs, giving thousands of scholarships to foreigners, reserving places in universities for foreigners, exempting 1st gen PR's from NS ,and allowing our covid to reach world record (per100, 000 pop) so foreigners can come in freely ?

parrardee

Still cannot get the 61% out of your head? You poor sod.
Of cos if sinkies fight n protect ,its the interest of themselves to protect their wealth n famies,whereas dinkies fight is to protect their debt n pigeon hoke, who stand to gain,lol,I not patriotic in this situation,lol, but there are still 61% kum lang who will fight,lol

Hypocrite-The

The issue is....if a foreign fighter fights for Ukraine. Is the Ukrainians gahmen enlisting them into the Ukrainian military? If not Any foreign fighter caught will be treated as partisan or terrorist n will not be protected under the Geneva convention. Same for civilians who shoot at the military

I agree with Vivian that Ukraine’s fight is not mine. But neither is Singapore’s fight. I am not taking arms to defend FTs.

blackmondy

Fuck you chap-cheng-neh. Just come clean and say our duty is to protect your fucking party and your fucking imported fake-degree shitskins.

bushtucker

rubbish la. sinkies already have limited movement to overseas countries due to COVID. why on earth would they go to Ukraine to fight someone else's war?