• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Useless insurance

NTUC Income explains why policyholder's claim was denied

The Straits Times
Friday, Sep 06, 2013

SINGAPORE - Ms Wendy Tan said she was unable to make a claim under her Dependants' Protection Scheme policy following an accident that left her disabled from the waist down ("Disabled from waist down but insurance claim denied"; Tuesday).

The Dependants' Protection Scheme is an affordable national scheme intended to provide basic insurance in the event of the policyholder's death or permanent incapacity, which is defined as being physically or mentally incapacitated from ever continuing in any employment, including self-employment.

Conversely, if a person is able to perform simple or sedentary forms of work, she is not considered to be permanently incapacitated.

According to Ms Tan's attending specialist, she is able to perform jobs that allow her to sit.

We explained to her that because of this, we were not able to accept her claim.

Even as we empathise with her situation, we have to be fair to all our policyholders and make payouts according to the letter and intent of the policy.

We also informed Ms Tan that we will review her claim if her doctor subsequently certifies that she is unable to continue in any form of employment.

We extend our best wishes to Ms Tan.

Pui Phusangmook

Senior Vice-President & General Manager

Group & Health Division

NTUC Income

She is disabled. To have the requirement that the individual is unable to do any work is simply ridiculous. She has a loss of income as she will never be able to earn as much if she was not disabled.

Opt-out of this waste of money insurance.

Denied by NTUC Income to make a claim on my Dependants' Protection Scheme CPF policy.

5 Sep 2013, 7.26PM

I had an accident in February last year that left me disabled from the waist down.

The doctor's diagnosis was that I had suffered a spinal cord injury known medically as cauda equina syndrome.

I cannot feel my legs. I lie in bed most of the time as sitting for long periods puts immense pressure on my lower spine and causes a shooting pain in the lower back.

I held a job in the banking industry for 12 years before the accident but am unable to work now.

Two months ago, I contacted my insurer NTUC Income to make a claim on my Dependants' Protection Scheme policy. The coverage was up to $46,000, which is not substantial but would be useful for an unemployed person.

The policy said there would be a payout only upon death or permanent incapacity. But I was told that my medical condition did not qualify me for that as I could still perform sedentary work.

To be clear, the doctor's medical report said my injury was permanent but I could still perform work that did not require the use of my legs.

Had the insurer written to my doctor to clarify my condition, it would know that I am unable to sit for long hours, thus making me unable to do "sedentary work".

I hope NTUC Income can display more empathy and flexibility when dealing with cases like mine.

Wendy Tan (Ms)

Even as we empathise with her situation, we have to be fair to all our policyholders and make payouts according to the letter and intent of the policy.

The usual FUCKED excuse.

from CPF website:
Q: What is Dependants' Protection Scheme (DPS)?
A:
The Dependants’ Protection Scheme (DPS) is an affordable term insurance scheme that provides insured members and their families with some money to get through the first few years, should the insured members become permanently incapacitated or pass away.

Currently, DPS is administered by two insurers, Great Eastern Life and NTUC Income. The scheme is automatically extended to CPF members who are Singapore citizens or Permanent Residents, between age 21 and 60, when they make their first CPF contribution.

DPS is an optional term insurance which covers CPF members for a maximum sum assured of $46,000 up to age 60. The coverage is worldwide. The DPS benefit will be paid out if the insured member passes away or becomes permanently incapacitated such that he or she can no longer work.
For general information on the scheme, please click here. In addition, you can view our webcast for more information relating to DPS.

Note that it covers pple under 60 when you are less likely to suffer stroke, dementia etc.

These insurance terms is ridiculous for something called Dependent Protection....because it is marketed as an insurance that gives something to dependents when you lose the ability to hold down a job.....in this case as long as you can si down and hold a fork, there is no pay out....which is ridiculous. To hold a job in Singapore you need to take public transport and so on...

The premium is also a ripoff something like 150-200 per annum for a payout of 40K. maybe out of 5000 people one person can claim eaxh year means insurance company makes a few hundred thousand for each $40K claim...

The finances of this scheme should be published. MAS should require the payout to premium ratio to be published ...hiding the ac curial computation and statistics can result in layman purchasers of insurance being vulnerable to cheating

the racist ran away NTUC marketing lady, Malaysia, this Pui Phusangmook is a Thai..

NTUC 吃碗面,翻碗低! PUI ! (pun intended)

Ditto Eldershield.

I have opted out of that, the minute I received the information...this one, is one big CON JOB!....it is more like you are just one step to dying to make a claim & you need a panel of doctors to certify you that you meet the requirements. To make a DPS claim, a doctor report, cost $160, include 7% = $171.20. To make claim for Eldershield, imagine the cost of a getting DOCTOR's CERTIFICATION?, provided after getting whatever is required the Insurer's pay!!

I have explained to Mr Chonbohlan about the difference between the Cauda Equina Syndrome and the disabling and progressively permanent disability of ALS ( a very severe form of motor neuron disease.) As long as the doctor did not certify that a patient is suffering from a terminal or permanent disability, the Insurance Company will not pay.This is in the terms and conditions of the agreement.

Let us not be too emotional about this.All insurance companies are like this.

I bought the 10 or 15 disease coverage insurance for several years only to discard the coverage later when my friend explained to me that you only get paid upon the diagnosis of ADVANCED CANCER OR TERMINAL CONDITION!!!!!!!!! My neighbor had surgery done, radiotherapy and chemotherapy done fro her breast cancer. But she filed a claim which was REJECTED!!! Her breast cancer was NOT ADVANCED and she did not suffer Terminal Stage 4 cancer!!! Sorry no pay out!!! She was fuming mad!!!!!

Okay, the Dependent's Protection insurance covers until you are 60 years only!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And all those healthy years of premiums went to waste. When you reach 60, you are more likely to suffer from chronic illnesses and cancer!!!! But sorry, you are no longer covered!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So this is the truth about the insurance companies . The best insurance is TO LOOK AFTER YOUR OWN HEALTH AND SAVE FOR YOUR OWN HEALTH....

How to opt out. I also want to opt out, makes me feel buaysong and that it is inequitable to feed irresponsible blood suckers with the premium.

The way they make it like as long as a paralyzed lady can get employed as a prostitute by legal whore house, offering to get fucked in the missionary position, that insurance still don't pay. Because the disability does not prevent her from being gainfully employed.

I have explained to Mr Chonbohlan about the difference between the Cauda Equina Syndrome and the disabling and progressively permanent disability of ALS ( a very severe form of motor neuron disease.) As long as the doctor did not certify that a patient is suffering from a terminal or permanent disability, the Insurance Company will not pay.This is in the terms and conditions of the agreement.

I bought the 10 or 15 disease coverage insurance for several years only to discard the coverage later when my friend explained to me that you only get paid upon the diagnosis of ADVANCED CANCER OR TERMINAL CONDITION!!!!!!!!! My neighbor had surgery done, radiotherapy and chemotherapy done fro her breast cancer. But she filed a claim which was REJECTED!!! Her breast cancer was NOT ADVANCED and she did not suffer Terminal Stage 4 cancer!!! Sorry no pay out!!! She was fuming mad!!!!!

Okay, the Dependent's Protection insurance covers until you are 60 years only!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And all those healthy years of premiums went to waste. When you reach 60, you are more likely to suffer from chronic illnesses and cancer!!!! But sorry, you are no longer covered!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So this is the truth about the insurance companies . The best insurance is TO LOOK AFTER YOUR OWN HEALTH AND SAVE FOR YOUR OWN HEALTH....

U know how much commission the agent and mgt gets from u?? Enough to go for all expenses paid holiday to Europe every 3 months and drive BM 5 or 7 series!!

The point is that the conditions are written in the fine prints and how many sinkees read that? Someone should have made this clear to sinkees ...again, I hold the PAP responsible for this. Looks like they introduce this to help NTUC Income and Great Eastern make more money. How is GE associated with the PAP?

In the developed countries, the government is compelling insurance companies to drop jargon and provide simple language so that the client can understand the policy.

I have opted out of that, the minute I received the information...this one, is one big CON JOB!....it is more like you are just one step to dying to make a claim & you need a panel of doctors to certify you that you meet the requirements. To make a DPS claim, a doctor report, cost $160, include 7% = $171.20. To make claim for Eldershield, imagine the cost of a getting DOCTOR's CERTIFICATION?, provided after getting whatever is required the Insurer's pay!!

Alot of sinkies thought tat since is deductable fm CPF, nevermind lah. Afterall doubt we can see our $$ anyway. Tats why not many sinkies kpkb. But i really pity ourselves. Always taken for a ride!

Denied by NTUC Income to make a claim on my Dependants' Protection Scheme CPF policy.

5 Sep 2013, 7.26PM

I had an accident in February last year that left me disabled from the waist down.

The doctor's diagnosis was that I had suffered a spinal cord injury known medically as cauda equina syndrome.

I cannot feel my legs. I lie in bed most of the time as sitting for long periods puts immense pressure on my lower spine and causes a shooting pain in the lower back.

I held a job in the banking industry for 12 years before the accident but am unable to work now.

Two months ago, I contacted my insurer NTUC Income to make a claim on my Dependants' Protection Scheme policy. The coverage was up to $46,000, which is not substantial but would be useful for an unemployed person.

The policy said there would be a payout only upon death or permanent incapacity. But I was told that my medical condition did not qualify me for that as I could still perform sedentary work.

To be clear, the doctor's medical report said my injury was permanent but I could still perform work that did not require the use of my legs.

Had the insurer written to my doctor to clarify my condition, it would know that I am unable to sit for long hours, thus making me unable to do "sedentary work".

I hope NTUC Income can display more empathy and flexibility when dealing with cases like mine.

Wendy Tan (Ms)

1. ms tan, on one hand I do sympathize with your mishap and disability.
2. what did you last vote for?

Balls to you understand?!! Lan cheow lee kar. KNN. Pui!

I've explained to you very clearly and very gingerly. If you insist to place your thick head under the toilet flash
and relishing those floating turdsw there,I cannot stop you.

Take care hor. Next time you buy any insurance, please read the terms and conditions very carefully. Don't come here
and tell everyone you got cheated.Okay Mr ChoBohLan...thank you and have a wonderful weekend! Cheers:)

NTUC Income explains why policyholder's claim was denied

The Straits Times
Friday, Sep 06, 2013

SINGAPORE - Ms Wendy Tan said she was unable to make a claim under her Dependants' Protection Scheme policy following an accident that left her disabled from the waist down ("Disabled from waist down but insurance claim denied"; Tuesday).

The Dependants' Protection Scheme is an affordable national scheme intended to provide basic insurance in the event of the policyholder's death or permanent incapacity, which is defined as being physically or mentally incapacitated from ever continuing in any employment, including self-employment.

Conversely, if a person is able to perform simple or sedentary forms of work, she is not considered to be permanently incapacitated.

According to Ms Tan's attending specialist, she is able to perform jobs that allow her to sit.

We explained to her that because of this, we were not able to accept her claim.

We also informed Ms Tan that we will review her claim if her doctor subsequently certifies that she is unable to continue in any form of employment.

We extend our best wishes to Ms Tan.

Pui Phusangmook

Senior Vice-President & General Manager

Group & Health Division

NTUC Income

those who agree CUNT should be its rightful name, kee chiu!