• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

US Presidential Election System

zack123

Although Obama has garnered a higher number of electoral votes, the actual number of people voting for McCain is not far behind him. Is this a fair system considering that the 48% who voted for McCain(as of 1200 hrs +08:00 GMT) would have no say taking into account the Democrats would be ruling the Senate and House?

pia

Not true lah.. the Senate and House also undergo their separate elections what. Still people's choice at repective levels.

zack123

Democrats already win the Senate and House already mah. Like dat everything also will be Democrat policies.

Is this a fair system considering that the 48% who voted for McCain(as of 1200 hrs +08:00 GMT) would have no say taking into account the Democrats would be ruling the Senate and House?

Bush Jr stole his first election.

US system is not the perfect system but it allowed the first black president to be elected. This probably only possible because of Bush Jr did such a poor job :rolleyes:

pia

Democrats already win the Senate and House already mah. Like dat everything also will be Democrat policies.

Well, Republicans have themselves to blame for screwing up. But the Senate and House are 2-year terms. Historically, Americans will vote the other way to the Pres to maintain checks and balances. I believe when Bush first became Pres, it was a Republican-controlled Senate and House. The scenario quickly changed after that.

zack123

Bush Jr stole his first election.

US system is not the perfect system but it allowed the first black president to be elected. This probably only possible because of Bush Jr did such a poor job :rolleyes:

Spore got Prataman even before Obama came to the scene. Are we more advanced?:biggrin:

zack123

Well, Republicans have themselves to blame for screwing up. But the Senate and House are 2-year terms. Historically, Americans will vote the other way to the Pres to maintain checks and balances. I believe when Bush first became Pres, it was a Republican-controlled Senate and House. The scenario quickly changed after that.

2 years is long in these troubled times.

zack123

Sometimes troubled times need clear and swift action. With a divided Presidency, Senate and House, this can be very much negated to non-action.

Careful about this - fast decision not necessarily means good decision

pia

Careful about this - fast decision not necessarily means good decision

True, wisdom and prudence must rule during troubled times. If Obama can keep his word and reach across party lines, it'll be ideal. Let's see.

the senate has a 6-year term while the house of representatives has a 2-year term.

lolabunny

Sure or not? Can Obama make prata egg with onion and teh tarik? Dun look down on the Prataman ok.

What is so nice about prata? Might as well ask the chef to make bryani.

Prata prata prata. That's all sinkies know about indian food. :smile::smile::cool::cool::cool:

Looking at the way pratamen dig their nails into the dough when
kneading, do you really want to eat if you know they don't wash
their hands? Is that why the prata tastes so good?

Although Obama has garnered a higher number of electoral votes, the actual number of people voting for McCain is not far behind him. Is this a fair system considering that the 48% who voted for McCain(as of 1200 hrs +08:00 GMT) would have no say taking into account the Democrats would be ruling the Senate and House?

as long as they dun redraw their boundaries, it is fair

zack123

What is so nice about prata? Might as well ask the chef to make bryani.

Prata prata prata. That's all sinkies know about indian food. :smile::smile::cool::cool::cool:

Looking at the way pratamen dig their nails into the dough when
kneading, do you really want to eat if you know they don't wash
their hands? Is that why the prata tastes so good?

I love to eat prata esp hot ones. Somehow I tend to ignore how it had been prepared but anyway we live only once so no point to think about too many things.

Briyani is also good at Dunlop Street. Their meat is cooked together with the rice to infuse the taste.

However nothing can beat Pratanathan's