• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Upper Bt Timah Road Floodgate & Rochor Canal Redirection Works

HTOLAS

Let's look at what has been said so far.

First, Marina Barrage is not at fault because there was no unusual rise in the level of Marina Reservoir. Let's assume this to be true for now.

Second, the areas affected ranged from Orchard Road to Thomson Road to Cambridge Road to Little India to Rochor Canal. This cannot be due to just localised drainage problems in the Orchard area. Indeed, the Presstapo has been very keen to say that Stamford Canal which runs under Orchard Road DID NOT overflow.

Third, it is reported that a floodgate was opened in the Upp Bt Timah Rd area (ST 17 Jun 10, pA6). It does not say when but the chronology of the report suggests it was shortly after 1030h. The sudden rise in Orchard and the other areas occurred soon after, around 1100h. I can vouch for this sudden rise of about 30 cm in a matter of 20 to 30 minutes with no substantial increase in rainfall. Did someone do a North Korea, i.e., open the floodgates which inundated a whole area downstream?

Something similar happened a few years back when some bright spark opened the gates of MacRitchie Reservoir and flooded the nurseries along Thomson Road.

Fourth, if there was no unusual rise in Marina Reservoir's water level, what prevented the water from getting to MR? The one place which the Presstapo has not talked about, and which they seem to want to divert all attention away from is the Rochor Canal redirection works. The place is a mess. Could they have been holding back water to prevent flooding of one of their work areas? I think the PUB should be honest about this.

I propose HTolas to be appointed Chief Public Investigator of the 2010 Great Orchard Road Flood with the power to subpoena Yaboob, or any PUB official to get to the TRUTH !:mad:

Superb analysis!

Goh Meng Seng

First, Marina Barrage is not at fault because there was no unusual rise in the level of Marina Reservoir. Let's assume this to be true for now.

Second, the areas affected ranged from Orchard Road to Thomson Road to Cambridge Road to Little India to Rochor Canal. This cannot be due to just localised drainage problems in the Orchard area. Indeed, the Presstapo has been very keen to say that Stamford Canal which runs under Orchard Road DID NOT overflow.

Third, it is reported that a floodgate was opened in the Upp Bt Timah Rd area (ST 17 Jun 10, pA6). It does not say when but the chronology of the report suggests it was shortly after 1030h. The sudden rise in Orchard and the other areas occurred soon after, around 1100h. I can vouch for this sudden rise of about 30 cm in a matter of 20 to 30 minutes with no substantial increase in rainfall. Did someone do a North Korea, i.e., open the floodgates which inundated a whole area downstream?

Something similar happened a few years back when some bright spark opened the gates of MacRitchie Reservoir and flooded the nurseries along Thomson Road.

Fourth, if there was no unusual rise in Marina Reservoir's water level, what prevented the water from getting to MR? The one place which the Presstapo has not talked about, and which they seem to want to divert all attention away from is the Rochor Canal redirection works. The place is a mess. Could they have been holding back water to prevent flooding of one of their work areas? I think the PUB should be honest about this.

i believe this flooding is due to human error. knowing how dumb civil servants can be, the NEA guys must be following Sop without understanding what they are doing.

This is LUNG CHEOW type of news spin.

Yesterday was LOW TIDE during floods. If high tide, Bukit Timah also tio.

KNN stupid reporter. Next time heavy rain during high tide see if Bukit Timah flood or not.

Stupid PORLUMPARs always open their mouths too soon. Like that once in 50 years thing now already happened 3 times.

FRANKLY, I don't think MB works. It's more for feng sui and BARGAINING with the m&ds up north than anything else. 1st time blame super high tide and superhigh rainfall. 2nd time blame human error. 3rd time reason is because the sky is super high......AIyah their EXCUSES never end one.

ONLY THING THAT CAN END ALL THESE RUBBISH IS TO USE YOUR VOTE WISELY.
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Actually Bukit timah..road also tio but not as severely.

You can almost always feel the saliva & smell the bad breath every time ahleebabasingaporethief opens his mouth & RAVE & RANT ! :(

yeah yeah yeah low tide low tide, you win ...:D

i believe this flooding is due to human error. knowing how dumb civil servants can be, the NEA guys must be following Sop without understanding what they are doing.

I believe that they are trying to avoid the situation of last flood at Bukit Timah (that once in 50 year flood). They changed their SOP and before Bukit Timah is being flooded for too long, they opened that floodgate. However, it created a larger problem down stream when the works at Rochor restricted the capacity of flow of water, resulting in a very damaging flood at Orchard Road.

This is a classic example of solving one problem by creating another bigger problem...

Goh Meng Seng

I believe that they are trying to avoid the situation of last flood at Bukit Timah (that once in 50 year flood). They changed their SOP and before Bukit Timah is being flooded for too long, they opened that floodgate. However, it created a larger problem down stream when the works at Rochor restricted the capacity of flow of water, resulting in a very damaging flood at Orchard Road.

This is a classic example of solving one problem by creating another bigger problem...

Goh Meng Seng

Isn't this the People's Affordable Party government are good at?, with their policies? for example..teaching of mother tongue as in Chinese....it gets pushed further & further downstream..since we gain Independence..

:p

Goh Meng Seng

if the flooding area continues to move south the damage will get more expensive.
Imagine Cbd kenna this kind of flood? imagine porshes, audis, mercs, beemers become submarines! :eek:

You can almost always feel the saliva & smell the bad breath every time ahleebabasingaporethief opens his mouth & RAVE & RANT ! :(

yeah yeah yeah low tide low tide, you win ...:D

Yeah elephanto do wait for the 3-D TV and Singapore launch of 3-D .

It only gets better .. :)

I wonder if it is the natural terrain in Singapore that rain water move southwards? We are talking about water from Upper Bukit Timah, doesn't it flow northwards?

Not that we haven't seen this kind of rain before but it is unusual to get flooded so quickly! Or is it because of the Marina Barrage that during the recent reconfiguration of the drainage system, that water are force to flow southwards in order to fill the newly created reservoir?

Yeah elephanto please wait for the 3-D TV and Singapore launch of 3-D .

It only gets better .. :)

3D TV to watch the floods..wah! very high tech lah!..

Am seeing the pictures of the SCDF guys using a very small pump...ha ha ha to pump out such a large body of water...:o

Thanks but I decline the offer. Seriously though, this is serious enough for a Commission of Inquiry. I'd suggest it be headed by ex High Court Judge S Rajendran and should include former senior civil servant Ngiam Tong Dow (for the civil works perspective) and former NTUC Income Chief Tan Kin Lian (for the loss adjustment perspective).

Any other suggestions?

I propose HTolas to be appointed Chief Public Investigator of the 2010 Great Orchard Road Flood with the power to subpoena Yaboob, or any PUB official to get to the TRUTH !:mad:

Somebody shld check whether all the longkangs and storm drains around Oxley Rise and Istana have been blocked off thus forcing the runoff onto the surface and creating Siungei Orchard. As you know, MSK was reported to have used the longkangs and canals to escape the dragnet. So after what happened to the SMRT depot at Changi, it is daft to assume that the longkangs around the Istana and Oxley Rise may not be used by some terrorists to gain entry and give the Istana and Oxley Home a new coat of Nippon paint. Banzai!

3D TV to watch the floods..wah! very high tech lah!..

Am seeing the pictures of the SCDF guys using a very small pump...ha ha ha to pump out such a large body of water...:o

It's meant for the 154th evening news lah!

Thanks but I decline the offer. Seriously though, this is serious enough for a Commission of Inquiry. I'd suggest it be headed by ex High Court Judge S Rajendran and should include former senior civil servant Ngiam Tong Dow (for the civil works perspective) and former NTUC Income Chief Tan Kin Lian (for the loss adjustment perspective).

Any other suggestions?

U forgot to include 6 NSmen with marksmanship badges for the firing squad of the dumb mofo who caused this. By the way, don't bother Rajendran, lah. The poor guy already give up millions of dollars in lost salary at Khattar Wong to be HC judge. Let him lelac lah.

basically PUB will probe & eventually point finger at LTA & URA for the works that cause the flood, then LTA & URA will point fingers at the contractors who're doing the works for failure to redirect the water properly. then NEA & Nparks will joing forces with LTA & URA to gangbang the contracting company, then when the company kena bankrupt, the works are incomplete, and wait for the next cheaper contractor to come in & clean up the mess.

if the same thing repeats itself in the next downpour, they get another chance to gangbang the contractors.

basically PUB will probe & eventually point finger at LTA & URA for the works that cause the flood, then LTA & URA will point fingers at the contractors who're doing the works for failure to redirect the water properly. then NEA & Nparks will joing forces with LTA & URA to gangbang the contracting company, then when the company kena bankrupt, the works are incomplete, and wait for the next cheaper contractor to come in & clean up the mess.

if the same thing repeats itself in the next downpour, they get another chance to gangbang the contractors.

I like it when you talk dirty:p