• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

University was a complete waste of time

micromachine

Lieutenant General
I have come to the realization that I have wasted much precious years studying Computer Science in university. Let me explain myself.

Whatever knowledge and skills I have acquired in school seem entirely irrelevant to what the IT industry (which is constantly booming with new technologies in any case) is seeking presently. They are only interested in hiring folks who can code in newer programming languages, or possess a strong foundation as far as the latest frameworks and APIs are concerned. The job advertisements I encountered thus far mostly demand proficiency in ReactNative, Angular, Tomcat, MongoDB etc. A very small handful want experienced hands in basic stuff such as Java, c++, SQL etc.

Yeah, I did thoroughly learn and appreciate the science behind how a computer exactly works in university; everything from hardware integration with low level languages to operating systems and systems development life cycles . Truth is, companies do not give two hoots about all these "junk trivia" , as I discovered from the interviews I attended during this while. People there are only keen in knowing whether you are absolutely articulate in some fashionable programming language, or whether you are able to genuinely add value to their enterprises. Nobody really cares if you are one glorious walking history textbook capable of regurgitating technical facts of the past. Oh fyi they did administer some coding assessments by the way, admittedly I didn't fare well in any of them.

More at

I tell me kids it is just a means to an end. Get the paper is like get ticket to enter the disco.

After that real work begins how to find the pretty gal.

But no ticket no chance at all.

Trouble is sinkies all brainwashed from preschool on importance of good schools good education and all that bullshit.

Nobody tell them go work lah. Learn more about life. All go for tuition. Lol

my uncle say KNN now then you know programming is only for abnn to snake and amdk to do real work. he say KNN asian can never compete with them seng ki lai. he say asian can only do the kpkb proj mgr work and stress yourself to get most 6k job. he also say only you suck dick then can go on top executive which don't need to know programming at all KNN.

Yes. The mobile phone change computer jobs.

These coding jobs are for UI front end developer jobs.

Recent change in UI created jobs required knowledge of 3 codings.

1. Html5
2. CSS
3. JavaScript.

Recent requirement for React and Angular JS coders are created by Facebook and Google.

U know basic hardcore JS easy to pick up ReactJS and Angular4.

Shitskin angmoh like Facebook think adding of new objects and component to script help improve JS. Bullshit.

Google started AngularJS and got into mess. Angular2 fixed up the mess and Angular4 not much better.

ReactJS are created by Facebook developers think they can do better but end up crap soon.

It end up hardore native JS developers win. Just bang in basic JS coding and move on....

Computer has reached its peak and is returning to electronc like turn on a light switch or motors.

Yr mobile phone is yr control panel. The next copiers will not come with a panel. Use yr phone to start print copy.

The trend is now back to electronics and Arduino projects are in demand.

Back to C++ coding is enough to switch on/off 5V or 3.3V in ardunio board to turn on/off sensors or relays etc.

Can use Skillsfuture funds to learn coding?

If u a new to coding JS is good start to learn. It has clean coding with no structural coding unlike Java.

Java coders find it hard to cross over to JS becos JS has no structure. Just bang and go and move on.

i'd think that the objective of university education is to teach you how to think, that's why you have Phd courses to do research work.
overseas education is very important as you need cultural exchange with pple from all over the world to widen your horizon and exposure.
work experience is important as it teaches you how to see thru pple when there is office politicking.
just my 2 cents worthy...

University is setup for the retard who felt they needed something in life.

Reactions: jw5
my uncle say only specialised profession needs university training. especially healthcare and certain techky jobs, nasa, agriculture, weather . others including top management, mps, pm and even president so long you have the heart and basic knowledge and communication skills can be done by anyone. he say all these jobs study university is a complete waste of time and resource.

if you already have basic in programming, changing to new programming language should be easy.or may take a few days or weeks to get used to.surely.

I have come to the realization that I have wasted much precious years studying Computer Science in university. Let me explain myself.

Whatever knowledge and skills I have acquired in school seem entirely irrelevant to what the IT industry (which is constantly booming with new technologies in any case) is seeking presently. They are only interested in hiring folks who can code in newer programming languages, or possess a strong foundation as far as the latest frameworks and APIs are concerned. The job advertisements I encountered thus far mostly demand proficiency in ReactNative, Angular, Tomcat, MongoDB etc. A very small handful want experienced hands in basic stuff such as Java, c++, SQL etc.

Yeah, I did thoroughly learn and appreciate the science behind how a computer exactly works in university; everything from hardware integration with low level languages to operating systems and systems development life cycles . Truth is, companies do not give two hoots about all these "junk trivia" , as I discovered from the interviews I attended during this while. People there are only keen in knowing whether you are absolutely articulate in some fashionable programming language, or whether you are able to genuinely add value to their enterprises. Nobody really cares if you are one glorious walking history textbook capable of regurgitating technical facts of the past. Oh fyi they did administer some coding assessments by the way, admittedly I didn't fare well in any of them.

More at

No degree, no talk.

Next!

Computational thinking would be useful for kids these days. Prof Andrew Ng would know better.

University education is just a delayed entrance to the job market. If you wish to attend university, then go to a party school. Where there are lots of wild parties, concerts, road trips, and spend the weekends trying to get laid. After graduation, no more parties.

You forgot smoking pot!

You SME or MNC? Pay can rival Sake sushi dish washer of 3K per month boh?