• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Uniquely Singaporean Food

jw5! Bloody hell! Why you start a thread like this at this hour??!! Now my saliva drooling liaoz. :)....

Here's some more
-- Duck Noodle Soup
-- Fishball Kway Teow Soup
-- Satay Bee Hoon
-- Salted Vegetable Duck Soup (Giam Chye Ark)
-- Fish Head Curry

walao eh, u are the one who probably has access to the best value food at this hour and u complain? :D

Satay bee hoon is interesting, have not seen it even in Malaysia and certainly not in Taiwan/China/HK.
I'm sure some smartypants from India will lay claim to fish head curry though.

Btw, I having teh tarik with van houten chocolate for football match later. :p

Not sure about indian rojak.
Even for the chinese version of rojak, there was once I went to a KL foodcourt and had a version of the rojak there.
More chinese style with prawn paste, but it tasted very different from the SG version.
Different ingredients too, mainly fruits.

I suppose there aren`t any fixed ways of making rojak. Even for the regular rojak, some have green mangoes or papayas in them. However, I was once told by an Indian Muslim colleague of mine that Indian dishes are almost always a mixed potpourri of stuff and in this sense, Indian rojak with its distinct pieces of squid, potatoes, prawn fritters break that rule. To him, he says this is not in Indian tradition.

I don`t have any other way of checking out what I was told and so came to accept that the Indian Rojak here is probably a Singaporean original.

-- Fried Prawn Mee
-- Hokkien Mee

fried hokkien prawn mee seems to be a local invention in the south east Asian region, the coolie ate fried noodles of sort, and the hawker used various remnant of noodle types to cook up this dish. now morphed into a very unique dish in our region.

can + c-food soup 2 fish soup ...

never c dem in msia ...

Perhaps it's my personal bias, but imo, if those good fish soup stalls branch out not only in SG but also in Malaysia, China, HK, Taiwan, perhaps even in some western countries, the business will be huge.
Only those good stalls like the ones in Market Street, Amoy Street, or GM food centre. Not just any fish soup u find in food courts.
But they seem contented to only have one stall and run it.
If the fish is fresh and the soup cooked well, it can be really delicious, makes a good meal but not too heavy, fairly healthy, fish is eaten in most countries by most people, etc.
Not in Japan though. :o

Yes, soup tulang is from Spore.. Heard from old timers that the dish was created back in the 70s.. The creator of soup tulang is still doin his roaring business in GM hawker Ctr.. Once asked a local Mama taxi driver about the Soup Tulang.. Told me that it was originally mutton soup.. The chap then tried adding few spices and chillies to the soup and it then turned out to be red in colour.. He named it Soup Tulang and tried selling it at his GM hawker ctr stall in the, and it turned out to be a stunning success..
Bro, dont know you ever tried this tuLang staLL at TeLok BLangah Cresent h/c ?..some of the tuLang fans
say they are the best in Sing !; even tour guides wouLd bring ppL there at times.

Bro, bkt u are probably right.
The kwehs could be teochew rather than fujian kweh, hence could be from Chaozhou or somewhere else.
In your second list, zhuzha tang could be interesting. I'm sure u can get it in Thailand these days, but it may have been from SG.
Poh pia I think is originated from China. Even now when u go to China and Taiwan, can get different versions of poh pia, some sweet, some savoury.
Different ingredients, mang guang, meat, peanuts, also got, and this is not even the fried ones.
Sorry, the kuays should be Teochew instead of Hokkien.

The Zhu Zha Tang version in LOS is a not so perfect imitation. It's lacking something somehow. Think it's the pepper seeds.
Poh Piah also quite generic but the SG version is definitely best of all because of the 'Mang Guang' and the dark sweet sauce. As of now, I am willing to pay top money to have a bite at SG Poh Piah.

Here's more. :p
-- Vegetarian Bee Hoon (Zai Mi Fen)
-- Putu Mayam (Indian food)
-- Mui Fan (I suspect this one is a runaway invention by local zhi char using Hor Fan gravy on white rice)
-- Xing Zhou Mi Fen - literally, it means Singapore Bee Hoon

--

Poh Piah also quite generic but the SG version is definitely best of all because of the 'Mang Guang' and the dark sweet sauce. As of now, I am willing to pay top money to have a bite at SG Poh Piah.

Here's more. :p
-- Vegetarian Bee Hoon (Zai Mi Fen)
-- Putu Mayam (Indian food)
-- Mui Fan (I suspect this one is a runaway invention by local zhi char using Hor Fan gravy on white rice)
-- Xing Zhou Mi Fen - literally, it means Singapore Bee Hoon

--

Bro, sorry to inform u but I just had poh pia today, sinkie version. But u also make me hungry many times when I read the Thailand thread. :p

Vegetable mee hoon is interesting, but I wonder whether the vegetarians eat that in China, including the monks.
Sinchiew bee hoon is actually just fried bee hoon, so it's not really unique in nature, only the name.
Mui fan to me is not tasty, don't wish to discuss it further................... :o

local hainanese beef kway tiow serve with dark thick sauce top with some grounded kacang, malaysia style totally different.

mee pok also unique here as cannot be find even across the causeway.

satay bee hoon? i never see this across the causeway too.

prawn mee soup shd also originated from spore. that expensive prawn mee operate near Citibank claimed it start prawn mee soup to cater to the nipponese soldiers during WW2.

Bro, dont know you ever tried this tuLang staLL at TeLok BLangah Cresent h/c ?..some of the tuLang fans
say they are the best in Sing !; even tour guides wouLd bring ppL there at times.

Wah didn't there's a good Tulang stall at Telok Blangah..

Used to know this Malaysian chap at Paramount Katong back then who would fly to to Spore once a month just to eat Tulang.. Told me that those copycat stalls back in Malaysia selling tulang can't be compared to the original ones in Spore.. I remembered following him to GM hawker ctr once for a tulang meal before his flight back to KL.. He ordered another 4 packets of Tulang to bring back home with him to KL..:eek: Told me that his father and his brothers back home also yearning to eat Spore's Tulang..

Kway Chup.

Indian Puto ma hiam ( rice vermicelli with brownsugar and cocnut)

Fun Shi Tan, (sweet potato with brown sugar and coconut)

Mee Rebus, with lot of chilli siok

Yam kwa ( salted Chicken)

Chwee cha pow

Ong Chye yau Yee

Bo Bo Cha Cha

Pork porridge with egg, 30cent only

century egg with lean meat porridge, 30 cent only

Mee Siam, 15 cent only

Not forgetting Teochew porridge.....:):):)

Roti Prata

iWIXO5bsr4ms.jpg

How about roti prata ? I heard roti prata is not found in India. Must ask prata man.

Re: Roti Prata

What about our Chinese rojak?

Very hard to find a truly sinkie dish.
Almost every dish will have a neighboring cousin and origins not from Singapore though it might have evolved to local version.

Chicken rice from hainan island though it's very different from the original 文昌鸡 from hainan.
Lor Mee originated from putian and original version is white gravy.
Bak kut teh taste different from Malaysian version as with laksa and prawn noodles.
Yong Tau Hoo is fish filling instead if meat (pork).

I have a few ambiguous ones...maybe can claim as local.

Hainan curry rice (din see in hainan island).
Hainan curry chicken noodles (ditto).
Spicy frog legs porridge.
小碗面 with the solid fuel mini 'steamboat' (was popular for a period of time).
虾酱鸡 this one confirm local invented by Chinatown zhi char.
Salted baked chicken

http://www.bloomberg.com/image/iWIXO5bsr4ms.jpg[/IMG

[COLOR="blue"]How about roti prata ? I heard roti prata is not found in India. Must ask prata man.[/COLOR][/QUOTE]Malaysia known as roti canai....same thing but no crispy version ala jalan kayu.
Thailand as well but modified versions.

Golden mile is the original.
The first stall at the corner of basement once you enter by central staircase.
A few stalls there are related to the original stall as well...all relatives.

Wah didn't there's a good Tulang stall at Telok Blangah..

Used to know this Malaysian chap at Paramount Katong back then who would fly to to Spore once a month just to eat Tulang.. Told me that those copycat stalls back in Malaysia selling tulang can't be compared to the original ones in Spore.. I remembered following him to GM hawker ctr once for a tulang meal before his flight back to KL.. He ordered another 4 packets of Tulang to bring back home with him to KL..:eek: Told me that his father and his brothers back home also yearning to eat Spore's Tulang..

local hainanese beef kway tiow serve with dark thick sauce top with some grounded kacang, malaysia style totally different.
prawn mee soup shd also originated from spore. that expensive prawn mee operate near Citibank claimed it start prawn mee soup to cater to the nipponese soldiers during WW2.

beef kway teow sg style is probably unique, malaysia style different, taiwan style also different.

prawn mee soup is probably from malaysia, including penang style, I think any of the hokkien mee, soup, fried or black, all difficult to claim.

What about our Chinese rojak?

I had a version of it at a foodcourt in KL once. Tasted totally different
Ingredients different, they seemed to use prawn paste also, but tasted worse than SG version.

Hainan curry rice (din see in hainan island).
Hainan curry chicken noodles (ditto).
Spicy frog legs porridge.
小碗面 with the solid fuel mini 'steamboat' (was popular for a period of time).
虾酱鸡 this one confirm local invented by Chinatown zhi char.
Salted baked chicken

tks for the lor mee info..............................
hainan curry chicken noodles Malaysia will lay claim as their curry noodles, probably from Penang.
The rest seem to be SG creations.

Golden mile is the original.
The first stall at the corner of basement once you enter by central staircase.
A few stalls there are related to the original stall as well...all relatives.

Yes.. If not mistaken they also have their own coffeshop in front of the Jalan Sultan textile centre..

I had a version of it at a foodcourt in KL once. Tasted totally different
Ingredients different, they seemed to use prawn paste also, but tasted worse than SG version.

Had one before in Penang.. Slightly sweeter in their taste and the paste quite thick.. Not really to my liking.. Still prefer the Spore version..