• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Two Canadians' views about Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter moneyfacepap
  • Start date Start date
nude_protesters_13.jpg

As long as it's not current affairs , it's double bullshit !

Hooray, 3 cheers to Mr. Wing. *Clap* *Clap* *Clap*. He's right. If the Canadian feels so strongly about Singapore, he should give up his Canadian citizenshipand take up a pink IC, otherwise, he should stop making a fool of himself.

So Mr. Brooks, before you further make a fool of yourself in Singapore, be grateful to Canada and not complain because of a temporary disruption in garbage collection in Toronto. Be thankful of the good healthcare system
and the generous old age pension. If you truly like Singapore you should be a citizen. There are lots of Singaporeans who are willing to trade your citizenship if it is possible.

I second that.

On this national day, it is not a day for celebration.

Rather it is a day of reflection, reflection of what it means to be a singaporean.

I had a conversation with an acquaintance. He told me that he had just completed his 4-year degree and masters. Free of charge. Plus a monthly allowance. Just do a six year bond. No repayment.

As far as conversation goes, there is no way to verify the truth of this. So just take it as a conversation piece.

Yet I remember another conversation. This guy was from the local U and he was complaining about the projected education cost increase. He studied, paid for his studies himself by holding a part-time commission-based job.

One is a non-Singaporean. He enjoyed free education. The other is a Singaporean. He pays for his own education.

Yes, there will always be foreigners wanting to become Singaporeans.

I am not certain if Singapore is a permanent stop for them. If they are of Jet Li's wealth, i would say 'yes'. To the wealthy businessmen, filmstars and politicians, Singapore is a good place because they pay no estate duty which ensures greater privacy for their assets and a safe haven for their wealth.

But for others, I am reasonably certain that there will be an exodus of these foreign-born "Singaporeans" to a better land, possibly Canada, once their bond is up.

Thus National Day is not neccessarily a day of celebration.

It can also be a day of reflection. Of the path that Singapore is taking and what it means to us. Not as Singaporeans because that has become a multi-layered word. But as people living on this piece of land which carries the name, "Singapore".

How much of what Singaporeans believe about Western social benefits is based on hearsay, rather than reality?

[(1) added]Rather than listening to coffee-shop gossip or reading the press statements of foreign governments, Singaporeans should compare Singapore's ground-level social conditions to those in the West.

[(2) added] Ultimately, actually seeing the street-level socioeconomic conditions of Western countries puts Singapore's Government in a very good light indeed.

Cross-ref to the same numbering above:

(1) But the person who rebutted Mr Brooks is a Singaporean who lived in Singapore and is now living in Canada.

Surely he is in a better position to assess than Mr Brooks who has yet to take the step of Singapore citizenship.

Mr Brooks, we welcome you to be a Singapore citizen and give up your Canadian citizenship.

(2) This is a fallacy which many derived because they see Singapore's progress as one undifferentiated chain of leadership.

The CPF goes a long way to alleviating poverty in Singapore. That is to the credit of PM Lee Kuan Yew. This is a comparison of history - what the governments did in the past and reap in the present.

Today, foreigners are praising Singapore whilst born-and-bred Singaporeans considers the erosion to their identity and privileges.

I believe this *Eric J Brooks* thingy is just a pseudonym, one of those papsmear prostitute masquerading as a canadian.:oIo:

Mr Brooks can identify with Vampire Lee our founding Traitor of Singapore.

Because he himself is a traitor for degrading Canada against SG.

Straits Times published wat the Canadian in Singapore wrote but did not publish the reply.

F u c k the straits times!

So much about the 'Rights of Reply'

Didn't the Far Eastern Economic Review get into trouble(gazetted?) because the PAP gov't accused them of not publishing their response to some article critical of Spore :confused:

Time & time again the ST is doing the same & worse. With so many Sporeans travelling & studying overseas, these deliberate distortions of the "truth" isn't going to work :)

Thus National Day is not neccessarily a day of celebration.

It can also be a day of reflection. Of the path that Singapore is taking and what it means to us. Not as Singaporeans because that has become a multi-layered word. But as people living on this piece of land which carries the name, "Singapore".

hmm, a day for reflection ... and im very worried ...

1) a small island nation with no natural resources and no hinterland ... such that staying economically viable is always a problem ...

2) overcrowding and worsening quality of life ...

3) HDB-living getting unbearable and residents shoved even closer together leading to more problems like noise pollution, waste pollution, air pollution ...

4) a government that doesnt care and runs the country like a profit-making business ... and this is a govt that cannot be voted out as we have no alternative ...

5) money-no-enough and oldies have to go find work and compete with younger people both local & foreign ...

6) terrible traffic congestion so that we spend long hours on the road, have to allocate much time to travel else will be late for appointments/work ...

7) public places are frustratingly crowded, and stupid ST reporters who write things like 's'poreans lurve to queue'! the public reads this and actually comes to believe its a national foible ??! truth is, no, we hate to queue ! singaporeans have NO CHOICE BUT TO STAND IN QUEUE DUE TO OVERCROWDING AND OVERDEMAND FOR SIMPLE SERVICES, thats what !

8) overcrowding can lead to virus and infections speading quickly thru the population - see how fast H1N1 spreads in s'pore and how slowly in m'sia ...

many of us are 3rd generation or 4th generation singaporeans ... by now, which is the 44th year of this nation's (i won't write OUR nation 'cos no emotional attachment to this place) independence, we should be masters of the land ...

instead, what is happening ?

many of us locals are PUSHED to far flung housing estates located around the edges of the island - senkang, punggol, jurong, sembawang, marsiling, pasir ris ... while the centrally located areas are priced out of our reach - into the hands of the rich from foreign lands ... the central areas, once the heartlands of the locals - places like redhill, queenstown, sentosa, orchard - are now the playground of the global rich & famous ...

at the far flung estates, it is no wonder we encounter transport problems which are until today - unresolved despite all the talk abt wanting to improve ...

shouldnt the so-called 'sons of the soil' be the ones to own sentosa cove properties and district 9 bungalows ? and not foreign tycoons like jet li ? and all tose indian russian tycoons ? instead the local-born are plagued with much financial problems including loan-shark harassment, and lack o opportunity for good education & good jobs ...

... yes ... national day is a time to reflect ... fellow singaporeans, for once stop being so shallow thinking abt your char kway teow and reflect on how far we have arrived, or not arrived becuase of barriers to justice & equality ... our happiness is ranked low on the list of global nations, and what happened to prosperity & progress ? living in a far flung estate and re-training to become a cleaner is prosperity & rpogress ? i think not !

Looks like the PAPpee spin doctors and gahmen propaganda machine is at work again, since it is close to the National Day.

Wonder how much these "Canadians" were payed, or were they "encouraged" to write glowingly about Sinkapore, in order to fool the peasants.

All real Sinkie peasants know that the little red dot is a sham democracy ruled by the dictator Lee dynasty, who have only their self-interest in mind. If the peasants are in trouble or die, it is always our problem. We are only resources like cattle to be harvested when needed, and to do NS, while jobs are meant for FT trash.

Just curious, if Wing's letter is not published, how did you get hold it? And how did the Brook guy read his letter? And if a reader does not get to read Wing's letter, how do they know what Brook's second letter is all about? I just want to get the source right.

154th refused to publish Wing's rebuttal, but allowed BROKE at a second shot at stupidity! 1 cuntry, 2 systems indeed! FCUK PAPEE!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD>
icon1.gif
154th Refused to Publish Wing Lee Cheong's Reply, But Added More Brooks' BS!
<HR style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #989898; COLOR: #989898" SIZE=1>

ST online forum;)
Just curious, if Wing's letter is not published, how did you get hold it? And how did the Brook guy read his letter? And if a reader does not get to read Wing's letter, how do they know what Brook's second letter is all about? I just want to get the source right.

CSI this mr Brooks out.....maybe his business had some dealings with the gahmen....thatz why must Paul Lampard.

:o :( :o

I am another person who has worked, lived and travelled abroad in many countries, and I agree completely with what Wing has written.

The Canadian was probably paid by the PAPpies to write his "praises" of the little red dot.
Its the usual gahmen propaganda by our world's highest paid fascist dictatorship, masquerading as a sham democracy; very similar to the rubbish that is published by the N Korean gahmen.

the reason we pay peanuts for rubbish collection

because pap dogs paid them peanuts

not only that, these poor 3rd world country people have to borrow money from family and friends to bribe the middle man to get to singapore.
part of the money goes to pap dogs again

i feel like wearing the red mittens and shove it into his arse.

i forgot to add that

canada is paying living wages for their own country men to work as rubbish collectors.

if canada want to do what pap are doing now to it's people, i am sure the rubbish collection will improve in canada.

canada is paying living wages for their own country men to work as rubbish collectors.

The rubbish collectors in Canada have a strong union that looks after their interests.

In Spore unions are illegal. NTUC is not a union, nor does it represent the interest of all workers.

Me too. :)

This is for the Angmoh....:oIo:

yeah this Brooks guy must be north american jew ... they love to run down western countries and feel restless/itchy backside living among the real whites ... and love to mingle with asians, blacks, hispanics whatever just to get back @ the real whites ...

sucks to eric brookman or brookberg or whatever his real ashkenazi name is ...

... or Bruch (anglicised to 'brooks') ... :mad: