• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TUAS Chk Pt CHAOS - FIRE WKS Lah!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>End traffic chaos at Tuas Checkpoint
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I WRITE out of sheer exasperation at the poor systems and processes at Tuas Checkpoint.
This Chinese New Year, I spent two hours in a car queue leaving Singapore on Saturday morning, then three hours in a return queue on Tuesday night. At one point on Tuesday, traffic was completely stationary on the bridge for 45 minutes. I shudder to think of the discomfort to thousands of people there and the financial and environmental cost of thousands of litres of fuel burnt.
The following are areas in need of overhaul, especially in contrast to immigration and security at Changi Airport, which are efficient and courteous.
Traffic system
The booths are positioned such that one has to hand in immigration documents via the passenger window. This is acceptable when there are passengers in a car but I have had to leave my car and walk around the front. This is a waste of time and raises security issues.
The system of having three lanes lead to each block disadvantages drivers in the outer lanes as they can usually choose only one booth. The recent attempt to improve this by stationing officers to direct traffic has been inconsistent and confusing.
Traffic returning to Singapore is caught in a jam. Legitimate traffic in the second lane from the right is penalised when cars caught in the left-most bus lane try to cut into legitimate car lanes. There should be earlier lane-marking signs or gantries. I also suggest a flexible lane system to allow heavier traffic to squeeze through, and widening the entry point to more than the current two lanes. Manual traffic control is poor.
Slow and sullen passport checking
Officers are usually slow and, almost without fail, sullen. I contrast this with Changi Airport, where even if officers do not greet you, they at least acknowledge you.
Slow and inefficient security checks
Mandatory security checks are insufficient and a waste of time. Officers often do not even look carefully at the contents of a car boot before waving you on. So why must drivers open the boot? If they are looking for stowaways, I suggest clear stop zones with officers stationed behind cars.
One officer rudely required me to have a bag X-rayed, while completely failing to see and check more bags on my front seat. What is the point of all this activity if it yields no measurable security result? I suggest the model of Changi Airport be employed - random spot checks.
The traffic flow in these security check lanes is also bad. When the car in front is stopped for a more thorough search, all those behind are stuck too. The lane system should be revised to allow cars to bypass the ones that are stopped. John Cheong

Without WKS, we will have terrorists lost & running all over Singapore!, and he to ensure that the Home Team gets employment...you won't want, out of work, army personnel, police, etc..won't you?

I love WKS!..he is my guy!

I was there also on Saturday morning at 3 am along the slope about 100 metres from the
booth. In front of me were something like 30 to 40 cars. Took me 1 hr and 40 minutes to pass the checkpoint. Only 3 booths operating. At Malaysian side, it was a breeze through.
I came back on Monday morning at 3 am also. Ths time both sides was a breeze hardly any soul around. Lucky for me I did not return one day later.

I can understand the wish to get out of Spore :smile:

Whenever I step out of Spore soil its like a weight has been removed.

They will of course try to slow down the exodus. So don't expect them to make it easier to leave Spore :biggrin:

DerekLeung

The idea is not to have it too efficient !

So as to reduce and discourage people from spending money in Johor !

Too many stupid poor-farks, brain dead peasants .

Penny pinching, penny-wise and pound foolish pheasants .

Instead of generating productivity and more meaningful pursues . They go embark on fruitless cycles !

shelltox

He should stay in singpore during the festive season, waiting the q for 2/3 hours kpkb, last time when there's only woodlands chkpoint . the q was
at least 4/5 hours long and the q entering singpore stretched to the tebrau highway

NoOnEsAwMe

Without WKS, we will have terrorists lost & running all over Singapore!, and he to ensure that the Home Team gets employment...you won't want, out of work, army personnel, police, etc..won't you?

I love WKS!..he is my guy!

i sense sarcasm, no?

He should stay in singpore during the festive season, waiting the q for 2/3 hours kpkb, last time when there's only woodlands chkpoint . the q was
at least 4/5 hours long and the q entering singpore stretched to the tebrau highway

He is stupid , thinking after midnight all people will sleep liao and less traffic. That what most people think also.
But only few counter will open after midnight and also that night is peak for all Malaysian want to go home and also Singaporean wanted to visit relative for CNY. If he out on Sunday the custom is empty lo.