• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Traffic Accident Help

Based on the above highlighted in bold and if they're true, both the rider and the pillion will have a strong case to take up a civil suit against the taxi driver. That's because the damages sustained (left side of bike and the right side of rear bumper of taxi) clearly indicated that it was a side-swipe collision, not a front-rear collision.

In my case, even when I had an independent and willing 3rd party witness (being the driver of the vehicle just behind me)

I can't see how you can come to that conclusion with the said damages sustained by the respective vehicles. The same is also true if the bike veered left and hits the taxi's rear bumper.

The most likely factor that won you the case was the independent witness not the damages to the vehicles.

There are a few law firms specialised in motor claims. 2 of the more prominent ones are Hoh Law and Vision Law. But I doubt they would take up this case.

Posting this on behalf of my buddy -

Hi guys, my friend's motorcycle was invovled in an accident with a Taxi today.

The way he told me, the accident went something like this - he was travelling (with a pillion) when a taxi abruptly cut into his lane (in all probability, trying to reach the U Turn Filter lane), he braked and tried to avoid the taxi but unfortunately, the front left side of his bike hit the right rear bumper of the taxi.

The TP and ambulance were contacted and his pillion and him were conveyed to a hospital. They suffered abrasions on their arms and knees plus an ankle sprain.

The front left side of the bike, where the headlights are, is destroyed. The rest of the bike is fine. As for the taxi, the right rear bumper is slightly dislodged and scratched. The rear lights at that area are also broken.

A police report has been made and the TP IO will get in touch with them soon. However, what they would want to know is will they be able to claim damages from the taxi and will the taxi be able to seek compensation? If so, how much?

They are also interested in seeking legal recourse as the dangerous action of the taxi driver has put their lives at risk. (Have you guys had any similar incidents where a taxi suddenly decided to cut into your lane?)

Thank You!

Its his words against the taxi driver not unless third party come out and be witness if not hard to prove it was taxi driver fault. That why car camera now a days so popular no need to dispute so much just watch clip enough liao...

I can't see how you can come to that conclusion with the said damages sustained by the respective vehicles. The same is also true if the bike veered left and hits the taxi's rear bumper.

Would you deliberately veered yourself to collide with another vehicle, especially if yours is a bike against a 4-wheel vehicle? Furthermore, the collision occurred at the front of the bike, not the rear, which may then be beyond the biker's control.

If what the biker said that the taxi had changed lane to attempt a U-turn ahead is true, what else do you have to say? Like I had mentioned in my first post, if what the biker had said is true, then there will be a good case against the taxi driver. If he had lied, then nothing holds, dude.

In all else, if you have never personally experienced such a similar accident encounter in real life, then I think you don't qualify to give a good judgement due to your ignorance.

The most likely factor that won you the case was the independent witness not the damages to the vehicles.

There are a few law firms specialised in motor claims. 2 of the more prominent ones are Hoh Law and Vision Law. But I doubt they would take up this case.

For your information, the Traffic Poodles did not call up any party for an interview during their said "1-year investigation". Taking filthy high civil servants salaries but in fact doing nothing much. I had also called up the witness and he told me that nobody contacted him about this accident, not even the defendant's insurance company. So, how could he be given a chance to give his version?

The accident claim lawyers are not stupid. Judging from your TP report and some verification of what had transpired just before the collision and the pending situation of both accident vehicles, they are experienced enough to decide on the success of the case which they'll be taking up. If they don't feel confident, definitely they will tell you not to pursue this matter further. And if you are still not satisfied, you can seek for another opinion.

1 important aspect of engaging your lawyer is to get one that will give you a commitment in writing that he will not charge you a cent even if you lose the case. This will give you a clear indication of his willingness to fight for your case sincerely. Remember, nobody works for nothing.

no lawyers will take up this case.

thats why he register and come to this

forum. if he got a good case u think he will come

to this coffeeshop ? Huat Ahh !!!

"The TP and ambulance were contacted and his pillion and him were conveyed to a hospital. They suffered abrasions on their arms and knees plus an ankle sprain."

I'm not really defending the biker in this case, but it may be because it's his first accident with the rear of a vehicle and he may think that this could be putting him in a precarious situation.

Even when it happened to me, it was the first time I hit the rear of a vehicle. Previously, it was others colliding with me on my rear. Initially, I also had the impression that I won't win the case because we are all taught that "once you hit someone's rear, you are already at fault". Not until I had met my lawyer and coupled with this experience, have I now changed my mind of such a perception. By the way, eventually I was still responsible for 10% liability for my case, but it was a worthwhile fight. Furthermore, the verdict from the Traffic Poodles attest to this because I was not reprimanded nor given any penalty. But I was deeply aggrieved that the other driver was only given a written warning, not surprising since WW can also get away lightly for getting a scape goat to stand in for his driving misdeeds TWICE.

Would you deliberately veered yourself to collide with another vehicle, especially if yours is a bike against a 4-wheel vehicle? Furthermore, the collision occurred at the front of the bike, not the rear, which may then be beyond the biker's control.

Where did I say he did it “deliberately”? He could have lost control of the bike and "veered" left! Accident can happen in many ways.

If what the biker said that the taxi had changed lane to attempt a U-turn ahead is true, what else do you have to say? Like I had mentioned in my first post, if what the biker had said is true, then there will be a good case against the taxi driver. If he had lied, then nothing holds, dude.

So what even if what the biker said is true? The taxi driver can say he was going straight, and the bike somehow hit its rear left bumper. How do you prove the taxi is lying? Similarly, how do you prove the biker is not lying? In the absence of independent witness or photographic evidence, its one party’s words against the other. It goes back to my point, that you cannot apportion liability based just on the damage to the vehicles. It is not that straightforward.

In all else, if you have never personally experienced such a similar accident encounter in real life, then I think you don't qualify to give a good judgement due to your ignorance.

Why get so upset? Can’t we engage in a proper discussion?
In any case, you are basing your argument on one personal case. But how do you know I have no experience in such matters?

I'm not really defending the biker in this case, but it may be because it's his first accident with the rear of a vehicle and he may think that this could be putting him in a precarious situation.

Even when it happened to me, it was the first time I hit the rear of a vehicle. Previously, it was others colliding with me on my rear. Initially, I also had the impression that I won't win the case because we are all taught that "once you hit someone's rear, you are already at fault". Not until I had met my lawyer and coupled with this experience, have I now changed my mind of such a perception. By the way, eventually I was still responsible for 10% liability for my case, but it was a worthwhile fight. Furthermore, the verdict from the Traffic Poodles attest to this because I was not reprimanded nor given any penalty. But I was deeply aggrieved that the other driver was only given a written warning, not surprising since WW can also get away lightly for getting a scape goat to stand in for his driving misdeeds TWICE.

You see, when a claims officer is deliberating on whether to settle a case, they have to consider various aspects.
Some important issues are whether there is independent witness and of cause, cost. It is always favourable to your case if you have a witness.

As for cost, the claims for injuries to you and your pillion were only about 8K, which is peanuts compared to what many others claim for very minor injuries. I estimate the total third party claims - injuries + bike repair + lawyer fees - to be around 15K or less in your case. The insurers would happily settle it rather than going to court considering that you have a witness.

I must say here that your lawyer has been fair. There are buayas out there that make claims for 100K for whiplash injuries which is difficult to prove. No visible injuries, not even abrasions, contusions, blue-black, nothing.

hi iluvu , funny u can get negative 50 pts , how u do it :)

I kanna "saboed" by chowka and its clones (which include so many of them, namely youtalkcock, Elite Killer, Cass888, nonsense, talkincock, etc)

Of all his clones, only youtalkcock has Infraction power. So, when chowka and clones zap me, but still cannot stop me from posting, youtalkcock will abuse his power to infract me. But infraction only kicks in if it's 10 pts and above, then ban for 24 hours. But first infraction only 3 pts, so cannot ban. Only boss can ban outright on first strike. :)

So, chowka and its clones failed miserably, as you can see, I still can post. No damage at all.

If fact, being in negative pts is good. Chowka and clones wait for my post to appear, while I go do my own stuff after posting. It's not the chatroom, no need interactive response. He waits for my posts, not the other way round. Keep him in suspense all the time. LOL!!

Also, once my posts passed through moderation and get posted, it should mean the post passed TOS, so no one with infraction power should infract the post, or else it's definitely abuse and misuse of his infraction power.

Beauty of negative rep pts and infraction system. I discovered this Achilles heel of the rep system and infraction system. Remember, you heard it from me here.

So, fire away, just post, no need so scared of negative pts or getting infracted. It's actually a good thing. :D

Where did I say he did it “deliberately”? He could have lost control of the bike and "veered" left! Accident can happen in many ways.

For goodness sake, don't put words in my mouth. I never did say you had mentioned the word "deliberately", so why are you being so defensive, unless you had meant it yourself and then try to accuse others of doing so.

So what even if what the biker said is true? The taxi driver can say he was going straight, and the bike somehow hit its rear left bumper. How do you prove the taxi is lying? Similarly, how do you prove the biker is not lying? In the absence of independent witness or photographic evidence, its one party’s words against the other. It goes back to my point, that you cannot apportion liability based just on the damage to the vehicles. It is not that straightforward.

Did I ever say that the biker is 100% right? You always like to take what others have said and assumed them to mean to your own interpretation. This is very incorrect dude. I'd only say that he has a strong case to fight if what had been posted by the thread starter is true. And by the way, it's the REAR RIGHT BUMPER, NOT REAR LEFT BUMPER. You can't even get it correct and yet try to outsmart others.

Why get so upset? Can’t we engage in a proper discussion?
In any case, you are basing your argument on one personal case. But how do you know I have no experience in such matters?

At least I had a first-hand experience. As for you, you can say whatever you like. After all, your interpretation is always to your own liking only. I cannot change what you want to think and do.

We don't need to delve into this matter further between you and me as we are not the victims. I'm only trying to offer what I have experienced and its outcome to a fellow biker who had encountered a similar situation as what I had went through before (if what the thread starter had posted in the first post is true).

As for cost, the claims for injuries to you and your pillion were only about 8K, which is peanuts compared to what many others claim for very minor injuries. I estimate the total third party claims - injuries + bike repair + lawyer fees - to be around 15K or less in your case. The insurers would happily settle it rather than going to court considering that you have a witness.

Are you nuts or what? There was no breakage of limbs for my case, but only superficial injuries and multiple abrasions. The pain suffered was unbearable during the initial week though. I could even continue to ride my bike with my pillion to the hospital myself after the accident, despite that the ambulance staff was also present on-site. You don't even know the extent of the damage and injuries, but yet, you can blindly conclude that S$8k is peanuts. What nuts are you talking about? You always like to "assume" and then to make an "ASS out of U & ME". Nobody will respect the way you post if you are going to continue with such an attitude. Period.

On a side note, most taxi drivers are fucking bastards. I'd even encountered an accident with a taxi several years ago whilst riding a bicycle. The taxi had just picked up its fare and had already moved about 20 meters when suddenly, the left rear door swung open with the passenger trying to alight again without first waiting for the taxi to come to a complete stop.

My right shoulder then smashed onto the door's window frame and caused it to bend out of shape. I myself suffered bruises and immediate swelling on my right shoulder, but no damage to my bicycle. I then called the Traffic Poodles, but was told that it was the peak hours and will have to wait for a few hours for a Poodle to arrive on-site. Otherwise, if there's no injuries, then to settle it by ourselves on-site. This is what you get from the fucking civil service when in need after paying your taxes in Sinkie Land.

I asked the passenger why he was alighting again just shortly after boarding the taxi. He told me that the taxi driver was changing shift and he didn't want to go to his destination. Initially, the taxi driver and passenger pleaded with me not to make a TP report. The latter even paid for my medical fees at a nearby GP clinic. All three of us were in the GP clinic until after I've completed my treatment. We had also exchanged our particulars amongst the 3 of us.

The next day, I've decided to make a TP report at a Neighborhood Poodles Post. And how right was I to have made that decision. That's because just about a week later, I received a letter complete with photos of the taxi damages from SMRT to claim over S$2k from me for compensation to the repair of the taxi, loss of rental income by SMRT and the driver's loss of income for the period when the taxi was in the workshop. Obviously, I'm not stupid and had totally ignored their letter of demand. I was even contemplating to mail some of those 7th month HELL NOTES to SMRT instead. Trying to "extort" money from me when there's not even an official verdict on who's at fault.

Some 3 months later, I received the reply from the IO and was told that both the taxi driver and passenger were fined S$200 each. That is why I said that most taxi drivers are bastards. On-site they will plead with you for mercy and act pitiful. But once they return to base, they'll change their story and try to absolve their fault as much as possible. In addition, in a TP report, the facts, details and its presentation (chronological order of events occurred) furnished are very important and will play a critical role towards the final verdict of the investigation.

Has your friend contacted the insurance company yet? Can settle or not, this case?

Are you nuts or what? There was no breakage of limbs for my case, but only superficial injuries and multiple abrasions. The pain suffered was unbearable during the initial week though. I could even continue to ride my bike with my pillion to the hospital myself after the accident, despite that the ambulance staff was also present on-site. You don't even know the extent of the damage and injuries, but yet, you can blindly conclude that S$8k is peanuts. What nuts are you talking about? You always like to "assume" and then to make an "ASS out of U & ME". Nobody will respect the way you post if you are going to continue with such an attitude. Period.

Looks like you have too huge an ego to want to win the argument that you are unable to engage in a decent discussed. Your one case of "personal" experience has made you an expert in motor accident claims. Good for you!

I shall keep my mouth shut and let you indulge in your own delusional glory!

Oh yes, having seen your posts here and judging by your behaviour thus far, I am sure you will want to have the final say. Go on. Cheers.