• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Trade union against expelling foreign workers to protect local jobs

Lee Hsien Tau

Home > Breaking News > Asia > Story

July 15, 2009
Mauritius to expel workers

PORT LOUIS - MAURITIUS is to send home thousands of Bangladeshi workers by the end of 2009 in a move to protect local jobs in the downturn-hit textile sector, trade unions backing the migrant workers said.

Some 6,000 male Bangladeshi workers, 4,000 of whom work in clothing factories, have been ordered to leave within six months, according to union leaders on the palm-fringed island of 1.3 million people.

'Following the economic crisis, the textile sector is suffering and some companies need to sack workers in order to survive. So the government has decided to repatriate the Bangladeshis,' Reaz Chuttoo, President of the Confederation for Private Sector Workers, told Reuters late on Tuesday.

Senior trade union officials said the government hoped to safeguard Mauritian jobs in a sector shaken over the last 12 months by record high oil prices, a strong local unit and the global economic downturn.

Unemployment in Mauritius rose to 8.0 per cent during the first quarter of 2009 from 6.2 per cent in the previous quarter, despite a US$320 million stimulus package in December to bolster jobs.

'If this decision was meant to encourage local firms to employ Mauritians and reduce the unemployment rate I would have understood,' Fayzal Ally Beegun, Chairman of the Textile Manufacturing and Allied Industries Workers Union, told Reuters.

'But local people are not interested in the textile sector after labour market reforms made it easier to hire and fire.' Manufacturing clothing is a traditional pillar of the island's US$9-billion economy. It contributes 6.5 per cent of gross domestic product and accounts for 11 percent of employment, according to the Central Statistics Office.

Trade union officials said the Bangladeshi labourers would fight for compensation.

Government officials declined to explain why they were expelling the Bangladeshis.

'It is a government decision. We are going to ensure that they receive all their dues before leaving", Labour Minister Jean Francois Chaumiere told Reuters. -- THOMSON REUTERS

Char_Azn

If we expel all the Bangala here, SG will come to a standstill. I wonder who is going to sweep our roads, build our houses and clean our dishes.

cleareyes

So pray tell, which industry do you think that Singapore should apply the same policy on and do we have enough manpower and know how to cover that?

If we expel all the Bangala here, SG will come to a standstill. I wonder who is going to sweep our roads, build our houses and clean our dishes.

Curious to know how Spore ever survived all these years before importing so many cheap foreigners :confused:

Char_Azn

I think the main difference back then was our parent generation doesnt mind doing low level jobs. Right now the majority of the population have progress to higher educated middle class hence are unwilling to take up low level jobs. Heck even restaurant waiters and sales rep in malls are viewed as lower level jobs. I think we've become way too dependant on FTs

jim007jimmyboy

lanjiao our Union will expel local to protect FTrash jobs!

No wonder Khaw wants to expel sinkies to JB...phua cheebye:oIo:

mscitw

In Peasantpore, we have lackeys proclaiming cheaper FTs retain jobs!

Shame shame shame, peasantpore, the lackeys are taking peasants for a ride!

cooleo

Don't be naive. Sinkapore is slowly becoming like a small province of China. Slowly but surely, everyone can notice that the signs are coming.

- Singapore table tennis team now virtually all from China!
- Breadtalk's cashiers and staff almost all from China too.
- If you are from Engineering sector, u will know there are growing number of PRC engineers. Their pay is probably slightly lower than Sinkaporean engineers, and i can tell u they are even more cunning and greedy than the blackies.
- They are setting up businesses. Hawker stalls, small shops etc.
- They use our resources. Just go library any time of the day. They will hog all the seats, occupy all the power outlets for their cheap net books and basically treat the country as their own.

No wonder ppl say Sinkaporeans are guillible! Alamak.... i also Sinkaporean! :(

I think the main difference back then was our parent generation doesnt mind doing low level jobs. Right now the majority of the population have progress to higher educated middle class hence are unwilling to take up low level jobs. Heck even restaurant waiters and sales rep in malls are viewed as lower level jobs. I think we've become way too dependant on FTs

The main difference was that Spore was a country & now its Spore Inc. The familee & Co. has a new generation of wannabe millionaires :mad:

How do you expect Sporeans to pay world class gov't, housing, car, electricity, water, public transport,... :confused: Sporeans have become money minded but can you blame them as they are a product of the PAP regime :confused:

shelltox

bcos all the while during the 60s, 70s and the 80s , it was our old uneducated uncles and aunties who were sweeping the roads and cleaning the canals. Now, when their children are all grown up, living in condo, hdb or eat wind house , they think it is malu to let their parents sweep the floor and clean the toilet

Do you know why there are so many poorly educated aunties & uncles?

You can thank the PAP because they fast track the primary & secondary educated into the various factories that appeared in the 70's & 80's.

This is the same fate awaiting anyone who is a lesser mortal living in Spore.

With the importation of cheap foreign labor those in their 40's will find it harder to find a decent paying job. Especially since the PAP monopolies are constantly pushing the cost of living in Spore.

shelltox

You whiners, whining , whining don't blame everything on the PAP (Although they are no totally blameless). History shall witness whether the policies of the PAP is right or wrong (the stop at 2 policy was wrong, the priority of the higher educated children entering primary school was wrong ).
During the 60s , Singapore was given independence suddenly, she had to solved the employment problem and the best solution was to invite massive FDI and create environment favourable to FDI.
We have created a nation of smart managers and supervisors working for the MNC just like those parasite fishes you see living of the sharks. The sharks dont eat them because the parasite fishes are cleaning the sharks of other parasites but these fishes would never grow as big as the shark.
We are like those grafted durian trees (D24 grated to the wild durian tress(山芭榴莲) we get to eat durians in 3/4 years instead of the 7 to 10 years but when thunder storms strike, we are the first to break.

You whiners, whining , whining don't blame everything on the PAP (Although they are no totally blameless). History shall witness whether the policies of the PAP is right or wrong (the stop at 2 policy was wrong, the priority of the higher educated children entering primary school was wrong ).

So you think the citizens are whiners for wanting accountability from the gov't of LKY :confused: .

Whats sad is there are selfish Sporeans out there who are willing to overlook the mistakes of the PAP. Many start grumbling only when they start getting into trouble because of the Spore system.

Its only a matter of time when you join these ranks. Don't forget Spore is still in recession & you can't take any of your CPF out or expect any help from the gov't. Even if you survive this recession there's going to be another "honest mistake". Or maybe you'll be replaced by cheap FT..

There are Sporeans who can't wait for "history". they have to feed their families, some even have highly educated children without jobs. If you look around there are many jobless managers, executives,...., .

With the messes that LKY & family & Co. has created I doubt the familee will be around much longer.