• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tiong Facebook Employee Commit Suicide at Company’s Headquarters

Reaction score

Bryan Ke
·September 24, 2019·4 min read

Facebook Employee Dies of Apparent Suicide at Company’s Headquarters

djfgjdjdjdjd-770x413.jpg

A Facebook employee jumped off the building of the company’s headquarters in Menlo Park, California in an apparent suicide last Thursday.

The employee who committed suicide was identified as 38-year-old Qin Chen, a resident of San Mateo, according to the San Mateo County Coroner’s Office, CNET reported.

Authorities responded to a call around 11:30 a.m. on Friday about a man who jumped off a building on 100 block of Jefferson Drive. Upon arriving, police found an unresponsive man. Police and the Menlo Park Fire Protection District tried to revive Chen, but he was pronounced dead at the scene.

According to the police, there was no foul play involved in their preliminary investigation.

“We’re cooperating with police in their investigation and providing support to employees,” a spokesperson from Facebook said in a statement. “While the family is being notified, we have no information to share.”

Shyu, a former software employee for Facebook who now runs the YouTube channel TechLead, allegedly caught wind of the incident from Facebook Blind, an internal anonymous chat app. Shyu revealed in a recent vlog that many on the internal chat app suspect the suicide was a “cover-up.”

In a video posted on Monday, Shyu revealed many details about Chen leading up to his suicide that he pulled from the internal chat but maintains they are unverified allegations. Shyu says Chen used to work for Facebook’s advertising group, which the YouTuber describes as “a very high-stress group,” and where a small technical issue can cause millions of dollars in revenue loss, Shyu said.

Chen’s performance rating allegedly started to suffer which resulted in him being put on the Performance Improvement Plan (PIP). Shyu explains in the video that the PIP is “essentially the path to you getting fired.”

Chen then allegedly requested to be transferred to a different team before he was put on PIP.

He was allegedly successful in finding another team, but Chen was put on hold for his transfer when his manager “convinced him to stay on his team until the end of the quarter,” promising a good performance rating.

However, after the rating season ended, his manager allegedly gave him a rating that blocked his opportunity to move to another team.

Shyu says the final straw was when Chen was assigned to do a Severe Site Event (SEV) review. The employee tried to push the review back and delay the process, but an internal script prevented him from doing so.

The employee allegedly committed suicide an hour before the review.

In the video, Shyu shared a screenshot of a Blind app poll where 61.8% answered they feel stressed out. Some employees said they “never had depression before, but here they did have it,” Shyu said.

1jkduhsflihajskdgamwbda.jpg
Screenshot via YouTube / TechLead

If you or someone you know is struggling with depression or has thoughts of harming themselves, you can reach out to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255.

Featured Image via YouTube

Rest in peace. It isn't too bad actually. At least you had the courage to do it.

This shows that Chinese cannot take the stress of modern living. They should go back to being coolies, pig farmers and opium addicts.

he should have simply quit and work for another of the fang firms. except for apple, once you are beyond 36.9 years old you're considered a liability, and performance reviews will mysteriously go south. he was most likely at the end of his h1-b after 6.9 years with faecesbook and couldn't secure a green card. tough to change job and company at that point.

KNN it is depressing and demotivating to work in a thumbs up logo company with thumbs down performance KNN it is better to resign then to put in pip program resulting with rip KNN

Not really leh, I have put sinkies in PIP before and they actually make effort to change and improve. Tiong (and some Sinkie chink) culture probably cannot handle honest feedback. Too much self pride and feels humiliated.

Think there are 2 types of acceptance KNN if the workers were always recognised in other companies prior to being put on pip the worker will likely feel humiliated whereas a worker who has always been a gengster and lazy will have a better acceptance KNN

True. But I find that non chink handles such PIP status better than chinks.

But then again, I know lots of fucking chibuy line managers who actually had no sincerity in helping their subordinate to improve. They used this PIP to "force" a resignation, to avoid paying redundancy payments, or simply getting rid of people they don't like.

Maybe Trump is clamping down on green cards and work visas. :biggrin: