Re: Things Have Changed
Those boys in the video at the starting point were playing a game of "ang-kong-chua", which comes with colour pics of Superman, Tarzan, etc.. There was a number at the base. These number was the wager in the game of chance.
These was introduced along the same time with "Kuti-kuti" or "Goondu", which comprised of colourful tiny plastic toys in many forms. The name of the carrom player rounded plastic came from that old word for it was tough. In kuti-kuti, the players will try to mount the one moved forward by the opponent. If you mount that item, you "makan" it. The worst was the pig for it was round and difficult to "mount" (no abuse intended).
Most importantly I missed the Australian Fun fair, Thai Thean Kew Circus, the Royal India Circus (at the empty land on which stands the current Windsor Hotel, Macpherson Road) and the Wally Byam Caraven (stationed in the 60's at the grounds of the former Shell Sports Club next to Pelton Canal off Paya Lebar Road and Jalan Paya. These were caravans from Australia on a one and only stop-over in Singapore.
Those days the schools used to bring us to such places as "Excursion tours". Best of all it was Free of Charge.
Today's, Universal Studios far too expensive for locals lah........ If my grand-son asked me to bring him there, I will pretend NOT to HEAR.
Bo pian liow. Seebay Kohliantye.............