• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Truth About RWS & MBS Job Creation

Recently, I have a friend who went for interview, almost took up a croupier job but didn't as she found a better job elsewhere. The job pays about S$1,200 at training month and about S$1,500 upon confirmation, increment and promotion based on subsequent performance.

A minimum of 8 hours per day is required, resting time and meal time excluded. All croupiers are required to rest 10 minutes per hour, that adds 60 minutes per day (not counting meal hour and last hour), but meal hour is also not counted as working time, so that's 120 minutes or 2 hours unpaid time extra.

Now you know why only PRs with nothing to lose, a backup home country to go back to to and meanwhile nothing in focus except to work and make makey could afford to work there. Even if you're willing to accept it but are NS reservist liable, good luck! Job creation? For whom?

Recently, I have a friend who went for interview, almost took up a croupier job but didn't as she found a better job elsewhere. The job pays about S$1,200 at training month and about S$1,500 upon confirmation, increment and promotion based on subsequent performance.

Many of the frontline staff are not really caring about the low salary because we can be getting more in tips. :)
I don't know how much tipping the croupiers is getting but my monthly tips is more than my salary and my job is only serving food and drinks in the VIP rooms. But sometimes if the butler department is shorthanded then we are asked to be helping there.

A minimum of 8 hours per day is required, resting time and meal time excluded. All croupiers are required to rest 10 minutes per hour, that adds 60 minutes per day (not counting meal hour and last hour), but meal hour is also not counted as working time, so that's 120 minutes or 2 hours unpaid time extra.

Although we have duty roster and following shift but not all the staff will be following the timings. Many are volunteering to staying back after their shift ending especially if the guest they have been serving is known to be a generous tipper. Sometimes just one tip from them can cover the whole month's salary. :D

Now you know why only PRs with nothing to lose, a backup home country to go back to to and meanwhile nothing in focus except to work and make makey could afford to work there. Even if you're willing to accept it but are NS reservist liable, good luck! Job creation? For whom?

The IRs create wealth for Singapore by bringing in foreign revenue. It's up to Singaporeans to grab the opportunities as they come along so they get a slice of the expanding economic pie.

Don't view the IRs as JOB creators. View them as OPPORTUNITY creators.

Reminded of the story about the Sultan of Brunei. All the hotel staff turn up for duty even when on MC, Holiday etc. It does help and that may explain why service staff in NY, Vegas etc tend to stick on.
Although we have duty roster and following shift but not all the staff will be following the timings. Many are volunteering to staying back after their shift ending especially if the guest they have been serving is known to be a generous tipper. Sometimes just one tip from them can cover the whole month's salary. :D

$1,500 a month excluding tips and complain

Singaporeans are so soft, luckily we employers can hire hardworking PRCs and courteous Pinoys

Soon market will adjust and when they all run out of mommy and daddy's money they will lan lan take the job

Looks like NS hasn't done any good for the younger generation, bunch of softies

Many of the frontline staff are not really caring about the low salary because we can be getting more in tips. :)
I don't know how much tipping the croupiers is getting but my monthly tips is more than my salary and my job is only serving food and drinks in the VIP rooms. But sometimes if the butler department is shorthanded then we are asked to be helping there.

ARe u a male or female?

Pardon me for asking in such a manner but i kind of assume that usually females get big tips, but from your nick you should be a male.

PS that's a very good nick.

The IRs create wealth for Singapore by bringing in foreign revenue. It's up to Singaporeans to grab the opportunities as they come along so they get a slice of the expanding economic pie.

I do not garee.

Ansd I support 200% PAP's top civil servant Ngiam Tong Dow

"The other policy of which Mr Ngiam has been a long-time critic is the move to allow integrated resorts (IRs) that include casinos. 'By going in for IRs, Singapore has taken the low road,' he says. 'Casinos undermine our moral fibre.'

He does not believe the gaming industry has fundamentally changed from the 1960s, when Singapore shunned it. 'It's the same. It only has more lights and glitter.'

Nor is he impressed by the argument that the IRs will create 30,000 jobs. 'Such jobs don't have much of a multiplier effect,' he suggests. 'It's different from creating 30,000 jobs in rig building or pharmaceuticals.'

Whether they agree with him or not - and people sometimes do not - nobody denies that Mr Ngiam has always had Singapore's best interests at heart when crafting policy; his pragmatism has been not only strategic, as he likes to say, but also compassionate.

As a policymaker, he has shepherded the Singapore economy through its transition from third world to first. I ask him what should come next, after material prosperity.

'We should become a highly educated society and keep adding to our knowledge,' he says. 'We should also be a humane society where people have respect for each other. Then we can survive. That's the Singapore I would want for my grandchildren."

'Casinos undermine our moral fibre.'

Singapore never had any "moral fibre" to begin with so casinos change nothing.

Every industry has a multiplier effect. The guy's talking through his ass. Thank goodness he stuck to being a civil servant. He could have done some real damage had he been allowed to do a real job.

Singapore never had any "moral fibre" to begin with so casinos change nothing.

Every industry has a multiplier effect. The guy's talking through his ass. Thank goodness he stuck to being a civil servant. He could have done some real damage had he been allowed to do a real job.
I was very impressed by Ngiam when he fought against his own boss the late Dr Goh K S to support the transport minister the late Ong Teng Chong for the building of MRT.
The most self-assured guy in the world that time,MM LKY had no opinion.

One point I agree with u thanks God he stayed as civil servant,he is not cut out for the "dog eat dog" world.He is blessed.

The IRs are just creating a lot of low level jobs. If more Singaporeans join their workforce, then more Singaporeans are just going to be chambermaids and porters. In other words, servants.

You see some uncles and aunties cleaning the toilets and serving drinks...all long faces with chins touching the grounds!!! Sometimes, I tip them...but they seem not to appreciate at all.I don't know why they'r so unhappy!!!

Compared to the young PRCs, when they get a tip, they are so grateful and so appreciative- thank heaven and earth.

Same with the croupiers.Very few tips. But when I have a good run of strikes, I tip them.All of them are very appreciative and the supervisor quickly change the croupiers who have been losing at the tables!!!

Anyway, it's a good feeling to tip them. Sometimes,I even tip the buggy driver who fetched me to my car!!! Most of them are retired uncles who speak very fluent English! They too are very appreciative!

There're so many unhappy people around in the casino. I wonder why!!! The losers of course are unhappy lah...but the workers!!! Not happy don't work lor!!! I think those young pretty Filipinos serving drinks and coffee are the best! They are always smiling,polite and very courteous.Tipping them makes them so radiantly happy!!!

What sort of opportunity?

For someone with just O levels, you always fail to see the point.

1.8K is a lot for a useless diploma holder that works in a Casino. Please lah, these types of jobs are easily replaceable and how much you want to pay????

Foreigners have to pay RENT to stay in Singapore
Guess who are profiteering from their stay????

The IRs are just creating a lot of low level jobs. If more Singaporeans join their workforce, then more Singaporeans are just going to be chambermaids and porters. In other words, servants.

Those Sinkies with diplomas should consider these jobs.
However, they clamor for other jobs in IT, banking, engineering despite their lowly qualifications and poor cognitive ability.

When a financial crisis hits Sinkapore, these useless Sinkies are the first to go because they suck in the first place. And guess what, they are also the first to cry foul and moan over their retrenchment.

You can see them all over the place. For example, those 30-40s who are retrenched recently and driving cabs now

For someone with just O levels, you always fail to see the point.

1.8K is a lot for a useless diploma holder that works in a Casino. Please lah, these types of jobs are easily replaceable and how much you want to pay????

Foreigners have to pay RENT to stay in Singapore
Guess who are profiteering from their stay????

I just comment, and see what are other comments and feelings. It doesn't matter to me in a personal sense, hope you understand. I can spend few thousands a day without earning a few thousands a month. But again, that doesn't matter. Not everybody's like me. There're people struggling and being exploited. Look at corporate profit figures reported. I'm not fighting for whatsoever employees. It's not my job. They can starve and crave for tips for all I care, since I don't care at all as I don't know them.

What sort of opportunity?

The guy who owns this company has made tons of money and NZ's casino scene is pathetic.

http://www.gmtech.co.nz

Surely similar opportunities are there for the taking in SG. Casinos are on the go 24 hours a day and there are many niche markets created to keep everything up and running whenever a huge entity like Marina Bay Sands comes to town. You'll see things breaking, wearing out, getting dirty and fixing and cleaning alone will spawn a mini industry of its own.

My advice is to spend a couple of days at the Casinos and watch what goes on. That's what we did when the disk drive industry arrived on the scene in the mid 80s. There are many millionaires out there today who made their pile on the back of Seagate, Micropolis, Conner and Maxtor. When Ho Jinx gave away $500 million of Taxpayer money buying Micropolis, it didn't all go offshore. It fed many Singaporeans too and some of them got very fat in the process.

The guy who owns this company has made tons of money and NZ's casino scene is pathetic.

http://www.gmtech.co.nz

Surely similar opportunities are there for the taking in SG. Casinos are on the go 24 hours a day and there are many niche markets created to keep everything up and running whenever a huge entity like Marina Bay Sands comes to town. You'll see things breaking, wearing out, getting dirty and fixing and cleaning alone will spawn a mini industry of its own.

My advice is to spend a couple of days at the Casinos and watch what goes on. That's what we did when the disk drive industry arrived on the scene in the mid 80s. There are many millionaires out there today who made their pile on the back of Seagate, Micropolis, Conner and Maxtor. When Ho Jinx gave away $500 million of Taxpayer money buying Micropolis, it didn't all go offshore. It fed many Singaporeans too and some of them got very fat in the process.

Honestly I must say this is quite true in today's society. :o

>

Hong Kong sets controversial minimum wage

Posted: 10 November 2010 1900 hrs

HONG KONG - Hong Kong on Wednesday set the city's first minimum wage at 3.60 US dollars an hour, prompting anger from labour groups which criticised the amount as unreasonable amid a growing income gap.

The government is aiming to usher in a base wage of 28 Hong Kong dollars (US$3.60) from May next year - lower than the 33 Hong Kong dollars which labour activists have been demanding.

The controversial issue has divided business and labour groups for more than a decade, with business groups warning it would lead to widespread job losses among poor workers.

Concern about Hong Kong's growing income gap - which the UN Development Programme last year pegged as the world's biggest among wealthy economies - prompted the government to introduce a wage floor.

The city's labour department said the new wage would benefit almost 315,000 workers in the southern Chinese city, boosting their pay by 16.9 per cent on average.

"This is a new and noble thing for Hong Kong," Matthew Cheung, secretary for labour and welfare, told a news conference.

"I appreciate it will take time for the community to adjust to it. The aim is to protect grassroot workers in Hong Kong - employees are the most valuable asset to enterprises," he added.

A bill will be tabled to Hong Kong's legislature next week for official endorsement. The law was passed in July, but Wednesday's announcement was the first time officials unveiled the new wage figure.

Lee Cheuk-yan, a unionist legislator and secretary of the Confederation of Trade Unions, criticised the pay floor as "unreasonable".

"We want the government to review this minimum wage as soon as possible so it will represent a fairer wage," Lee said, according to local Cable TV.

Unions have warned that anything less than 33 Hong Kong dollars an hour would fail to cover basic living expenses, which have been rising sharply.

Many countries already have minimum wage legislation in place, with hourly rates in New York and London set between 7.25 and 8.80 US dollars.

But Teresa Cheng, chairwoman of the government committee tasked to fix the minimum wage, said a 33 Hong Kong dollar wage would hurt many small-to-medium sized enterprises.

"We have to balance the interest of workers and ensure businesses can continue to operate," she told the news conference.

- AFP/al

>